No Such Thing as a Bad Game

That’s right. I said it.

I don’t believe in bad games. I don’t think there’s any such thing. A pretty bold statement I know, but not really surprising coming from me. Let me explain my thought process.

There are lots of things I don’t enjoy in video games. I’ve played a huge selection of MMOs over the last few years, and I know what I like and what I don’t like. In all of that time, I’ve NEVER felt that a game was ‘bad’ – I’ve thought that it’s bad for me. It’s really important to add that ‘for me’ at the end of the sentence. Just because a game is a bad choice for me, does NOT mean it’s a bad game!

It could be bad for a whole slew of people, a whole country – the whole world – and yet that still doesn’t make it a bad game. The person who designed and worked on that game may even think it’s a bad game, but I can guarantee you that SOMEONE out there likes it. It doesn’t matter who.

Games may be unrefined, they may lack polish, they may be grindy, filled with bugs, and you may personally hate every little aspect of it but that’s still a personal opinion and guess what, it’s not the same as what every other person out there thinks.

Why am I even bothering to post this?

Every so often (ok, more frequently then not) I hear on various channels that “game X was a HORRIBLE game!” and then one or two other people speak up voicing why they thought that particular game was actually quite good, and then it turns into some huge debate about how one person must suck because they actually enjoyed that ‘bad’ game.

Guess what! It’s OK to have a difference in opinion! It’s ok to like a game that everyone else hates, or to hate a game that everyone else likes. That is actually one of the main reasons I love my job. I get to interact with people who have such vivid differences but one thing they all have is passion. Passion about the games they like, passion about the games they don’t like. I’ve come across games that I don’t personally enjoy and still managed to speak positively about them because I can see what aspects others may enjoy. We’re so very different from one person to the next, there’s no way to judge what someone may or may not like.

Give a game a chance, and if you don’t like it, fine, move on. That still doesn’t make it a bad game. It’s just a bad game for you.

About Stargrace

Just another female gamer with too much time on her hands.

Posted on January 21, 2010, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. AMEN! I am 100% in agreement with you! I even wrote about this exact same sentiment (although with a lot more use of the word “suck”)

    http://www.cedarstreet.net/2009/08/use-of-term-suck.html

    XD

  2. That’s pretty much how I live my game life. They are supposed to be for fun šŸ™‚

  3. victorstillwater

    I don’t agree completely, but I understand the sentiment. I think bad games do exist, but we just haven’t made a game that appeals to absolutely no one yet.

    Even a game like Rogue Warrior, which had abysmal review scores, has someone playing it.

    It takes a special brand of human being to create a video game that no one will even want to play.

    Of course… if we are calling a game “bad,” the very bare minimum we can do about that situation is to be diplomatic about our wording of the pros and cons of that game or our rebuttals to the original poster. šŸ™‚

  4. Stalin Vs Martians

    There ya go

  5. I disagree with this post and most commenters. I think that more games should be taken to task for how bad they are. We need to push developers harder and make them create games that suit us. We shouldn’t just take what they give us and deal with it.

    If there are enough people that think Game X sucks because of the exact same reasons, that’s one of two things: a list of changes for the current game developer, or a target market for a new game developer. Sounds like complaining could be a huge win for everyone.

    The current game developer fixes your complaints and you get a game you enjoy more. A new game developer comes along and creates a game taking your complaints to heart, and again, you have a game that you’ll enjoy more.

    We only have so much time on this earth, so no one should be stuck playing games they don’t like. Complain loudly, complain often, but don’t just whine. Be specific, find others that agree with you, and if you are in the minority, move on, and find ways to let both big game companies and independent developers know what you are looking for.

  6. If only more people understood this, the internet would be a much better place. Well said.

  7. No, no, Superman 64 was a bad game, period. It can’t be defended, liked or tolerated, and this is a universal fact. If you make an allowance for this title, then everything else falls.

Leave a Reply

