Mining, Jumping, and (always) Learning

I’ve been spending a lot of time in EVE lately, which is very un-nomadic of me, but since I’m not sure how long things euphoric journey will last, I’ll continue to write about it here. I’m starting to get a little more comfortable with the basics, which is good. Last night marked my 4th play session, and it was a lot of fun. Before I start talking about that – earlier on in the day I wanted to see if I could figure out the very basic idea of getting from point A to point B. I looked up my mining guide and picked a random location that was suggested for “safe beginner mining”. I happened to pick Rens, which I later found out was 22 “jumps” away. Opening the map and being faced with a billion little dots was daunting to say the least. Thankfully, there’s a search command that makes that so much easier. With a little guidance from Kasul I managed to track down Rens on the map, and set myself to autopilot. In the mean time I learned about the dangers of autopilot, how traveling through a dangerous sec could mean I’d get caught by people. Especially since when you’re on autopilot your ship slows down 10,000 away from the stargate and then crawls through. Thankfully the path to Rens is a safe one, and I had no issues. My next ‘goal’ was to see if I could make it back to where I was, which is Clellinon VI – Moon 11, and more specifically the station associated with that. I learned things like all of your items are in the assets tab and you can easily set a path to get back to them (how on earth did I accumulate stuff in four different stations?! All tutorial stuff from previous attempts to learn the game).

Feeling fairly confident in my ability to travel, I decided it was time to learn the ‘next’ thing – making my drone work. Kasul and I headed to a nearby asteroid belt, and he warned me to make sure that I called my drone back BEFORE I warped off to the station. Not 5 minutes later I was headed back to the station with a full cargo hold – and without my drone.

Doh.

Then came the fun part of trying to remember WHICH asteroid belt I had been in (because I’ve never been one to notice those details before, I typically just fly off) and make my way back. Scooped up the drone back to my bay, and headed back to my station so I could unload all my cargo. Of course I got distracted chatting on the way, forgot why I had flown to the station, turned around and went back to an asteroid belt only to remember MY CARGO WAS STILL FULL. Oops.

Finally, after my 6th attempt the cargo was empty and I was on my way back – where I promptly forgot to put my drone back in the bay AGAIN. That was my night. It was actually a LOT of fun, and I’m still learning. I expect that I’ll be learning for the next few years at this rate. Kasul decided to show me a little more to mining, he flew to the asteroid belt with me in his Iteron Mark III which is a very pretty ship, with a lot more storage space then my little Navitas (although my Navitas does mine very fast). He showed me how I could set up a floating cargo, warned me about how someone could steal from it, and while I worked on mining and filling it, he emptied it into his Iteran to take back to the station. We were in a safe sec, but we did see a rat! I got to launch my drone, and it set out after the rat (since I have no guns fitted onto my ship currently, just mining ones) where it destroyed it so I could continue mining in peace.

Exciting.

I love mining. I’m sure it will get boring to me after time, but I made my first 1,000,000 ISK (of my own means, though friends have donated ISK to me to help me get by) and I felt really proud about it. I’m excited about working towards bigger ships, better fittings, and exploring. I’m looking forward to learning other aspects of the game – and I love that I can do it all on my own time, and not have to constantly worry that I’m going to get left behind or not level fast enough or some of the other silly things we worry about in a ‘typical’ MMO. It’s been great so far, and I’m really looking forward to more adventures in EVE. As always, you can find me there as Ellithia, add me to your address books!

About Stargrace

Just another female gamer with too much time on her hands.

Posted on January 28, 2010, in EVE Online. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I always thought that you, a woman of high standards, education and beauty would rather play an Amarr than fly around in a Minnie trashcan. Oh well…

    I tell you, nothing better in EVE than flying the golden Amarr ships. Some of them are even extra golden. 🙂

    I don’t think EVE is too well suited to a nomadic play style. At least I played it a lot or not at all, travel times alone were not suited for short play sessions.

  2. P.S.: Rens… Gallente ships are just more streamlined trashcans, without the jagged edges of the Minnies. 🙂

  3. I actually didn’t know anything at all about the ships when I created my Gallente Intaki. I picked it based on the descriptions of the race I was given and what I felt most suited me – how odd is that, eh?! 😀

    Don’t dis my trashcans though. I tend to like them. Neener!
    I don’t have short play sessions, so it hasn’t been an issue for me, I just tend to bounce from game to game and play a week or two straight of one game, and then move on to another. Then bounce back. I think it may actually work out in this game where I’m not concerned about levels, and am able to move at my own pace. Maybe more so then any other game I’ve played.

  4. Iteron 😉

    Sounds like things are going good. I hope to help you by hauling or protecting you from rats at some point. It is always more fun to play with people you know.

  5. Every one knows that Gallente are far superior to Amarr, and that the Intaki are the best of the Gallente.

    Rest assured, Stargrace you picked the right faction. 🙂

    Was good chatting with you yesterday, that’s the most time I’ve spent in EVE in months.

  6. I just jumped back on the EVE bandwagon, myself. I’m looking forward to seeing you and Kasul in-game!

Leave a Reply

