Learning to Probe (Hey, Not like THAT)

I’m now 1 day 12 hours away from flying my first mining barge, a retriever. For someone who has been so very against any type of sci-fi game play, I find myself playing EVE more then any single other game out there right now and I can’t really pin point the reason WHY. I just know I’m absolutely loving it. Coming up with my own goals and not having to worry about ‘catching up’ to a level cap has been an amazing gift of freedom. Especially because EVERY single other MMO I play, requires those things. I spent a good portion of this weekend completing the beginner tutorials for every other ‘branch’ of EVE, so that I had a feeling for what was available. It’s difficult to come up with goals for myself if I’m not sure what I can actually do in game.

One of these things happened to be probing. Basically searching the skies for cosmic anomalies and then honing in on them with probes sent out into space. There are all kinds of them, and they each contain hidden treasures for those who have the patience to locate them. Patience being the key word. I finished the tutorial fairly easily, they send you out with a probe launcher and some little probes to send out. Kasul sent me a link to a youtube video that explained how all this worked fairly easily. I learned why it was best to use 5 probes, how to arrange them and move them as one unit, decreasing or increasing their probe area to narrow down my scanning field. I grew frustrated as I managed to lock down on an anomaly with a 99.99% rating, but in order to warp to the location you need 100% – as the day wore on I completed the tutorial, but finding these anomalies in space is a different matter.No longer interested with the tutorial areas, I headed out to open space to see if I couldn’t find one on my own. These anomalies happen (typically) around planets, so that’s where I began my search. I found one and completely failed to hone in on it. No matter what I did I couldn’t get any closer then the 12% rating that I managed. After fiddling around with the probes for a while I decided to move on, instead of getting frustrated with myself.

Even though I’m not a huge fan of probing – I did learn that I LOVE salvaging. I now have three ships (most are given to you as you do tutorials) and the newest to join my little personal fleet is the imicus. I’ve fitted this ship out to be my probe / salvage ship (keep in mind I’m still new, and these are just my baby ships as I work towards other things). The navitas is fitted out for mining, and my iteron (used for hauling) is so slow, well. I just use it for hauling when the time comes. I used it to bring the little imicus back to my station for example. It’s also one of the ships Kasul uses to help my navitas out with mining because it has incredible cargo room.

Once I had given up on probing for the evening I decided to search asteroid belts for rats, and salvage. I was in a pretty high sec area and didn’t find anything exceptionally useful per say, but it was still a refreshing change of pace from mining, and I did get to see some neat sights. I spent some time doing tutorials for hacking, which I expect I’ll get into a bit more as days go by, but I’m simply astounded at how much there is to do, and how much I enjoy all of it (minus the probing). Who would have thought that me, someone who has still yet to see Star Wars or Star Trek or enjoy any form of sci-fi culture, would be spending 90% of her game time in EVE, of all games.

About Stargrace

Just another female gamer with too much time on her hands.

Posted on February 8, 2010, in EVE Online. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I wasn’t interested in EVE so far, but maybe I should check it out. You certainly seem to have a lot of fun ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Ah, sounds like you’ve discovered the joy of a sandbox game. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I does make a great change of pace from the more standard MMOs, doesn’t it. Glad to see you’re enjoying yourself so much.

  3. Hey, cool! Glad you’re liking it. Maybe I’ll give probing a try… never have before.

Leave a Reply

