First Game

Do you remember the first game you ever saw?  The one that made you go, ‘Wow, I want to play!’  I think it’s like first love; it’s not something you forget.

My first was King’s Quest.  I was a kid, and my neighbor’s older brother had a computer, and one summer day we came in from the heat and went by his room, and he was playing King’s Quest.  Maybe you’re not familiar with this game, so I’ll give you a brief rundown.

King’s Quest is fantasy game about a knight who has to (forgive me if I get my story wrong, it’s been years) find an elixer to heal a dying king.  It was a pre-cursor to MMOs for looks: over the shoulder of the character, and you could go almost anywhere (rather than side-scroll).  The major difference between the King’s Quest games (there were seven or eight) and everything else I’ve ever played is that you didn’t win by killing anything; most fights or difficulties you got into had ways to get out of by being smart.

Anyway, my neighbor’s brother was stuck on a spiral staircase, and needing to get past a dragon at the top.  He tried over and over and over, everything he could think of.  I knew what to do.  I told him what to do.  He ignored me because I’m just a kid.  But I knew, and I knew if I wanted to play because figuring out the puzzle, looking at the horrible graphics that looked so cool, the midi music.. it all looked like fun.

We left before I got to see if he ever tried what I suggested, but I know he eventually beat the game.  And when, years later, I bought a collectors edition of all the King’s Quest games, I was happy to see that spiral staircase again, and to find out for myself that I was right about what needed to be done.

About Rouac

Just a guy living in the Northwest, writing and gaming and going about his day.

Posted on March 14, 2010, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I remember it clear as day. Well, technically the first computer game I saw was ascii text on a printout. But the first ‘video game’ I saw…

    I was walking down Job’s Lane in Southampton, NY and was passing by a store window; it may have been a video rental store. This was back when you’d rent BOTH the VCR and the movies since both were so expensive. Anyway there it was, playing on a small tv:

    Star Raiders

    OMG I stood there transfixed. I know I *had* to have that game and that system. And a few months later, an Atari 400 complete with cassette tape “storage unit” and a Star Raiders cartridge was mine!

    Haven’t looked back since. 🙂

  2. The first game I remember really spending tons of time on is Dungeon Master. It’s probably where I got my love of roguelikes and dungeon crawls. I had a friend whos parents had a computer and along with that he also had a few other gems.

    The first game I owned myself was Pitfall! on the Atari 2600. Playing those games that go on forever now I wonder how I ever got so much enjoyment out of them back then. It wasn’t my favorite game on that system, that’s a spot reserved for Solaris… a game that actually could end.

  3. I don’t know what the name of the game was. My father bought the Atari2600 and one of the very few games we had was some kind of labyrinth game. You were in control of a square shaped sprite and another square shaped sprite was chasing you through the maze.
    It was a very simple game, but I was blown away and kept playing it whenever my parents allowed me to play.
    That was more than 25 years ago and I’m a gamer ever since that first experience.

  4. I remember the 2600… I don’t really remember it except for the joystick and the way the main piece looked like the stereo cabinet my dad had at the time.

Leave a Reply

