The Importance of Connections

New Little CelestisMonday, I will be able to make my first hulk blueprint attempt. Just one step in a very long process of invention. Whether I will succeed or not is yet to be determined, but my excitement is at an all time high. Even if I fail at least I’ll know what to expect and the process for a second attempt will be much quicker then the first.

Along the way I’ve learned quite a bit more about the game, and I am still learning something new every day. One exceptionally valuable lesson involved learning the importance of social skills. I’ve been working on raising my standing for Creodron. This allows me to 1. Obtain an R&D agent who will give me a good amount of RP (more RP means I can purchase datacores faster for invention) and 2. Make more money from doing said missions. Last week I hovered around 1,24 standing with the corporation, which is about where I wanted to be in order to move on to the new agent. What I learned is that by training a skill called ‘connections’ I could have it raise my standings by a certain amount each rank. I trained it to II and that 1,24 standing became 1,95 – just shy of 2,00 and giving me the ability to work with a LOT more agents, and obtaining my datacores at an even faster rate. My new goal is to get enough standing to go well beyond that, and while it WILL take me some time, I’m excited.

I’ve moved on to a L2 agent as well, which has really helped things along. There’s a few more things on my list of skills I want to train, the top is mechanical engineering, and gallentean starship engineering. The higher skill you have in the datacore type you want to purchase, the more RP your agent will give you daily. Right now my skills are at II and I respectively, I’d like to get them each at III.

I’m also only 24d away from flying a hulk, which seems to me like an incredibly short amount of time. I’m really looking forward to this, even if I won’t be able to fit it the way I’d like quite yet. The second account is currently working towards flying a Dominix, as that is my PvE mission account. Once that is completed I want to get her started towards an Orca. There is never an end to the list of things I want to train, or the amount of time it takes to get there. Excited? Oh yes. VERY.

I’ll be sure to post more details about my invention attempts and progress in game as things go on. Until then, fly safe!

About Stargrace

Just another female gamer with too much time on her hands.

Posted on April 11, 2010, in EVE Online. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds great! I spent a small amount of time in EVE and wish I had the time to play it more. The training process is a little slow but that makes it so much more rewarding when you finally get to your goals.

    Let us know how your blueprint attempt turns out.

  2. Doing all this in EVE and have 4 to 90 in EQ2 also. You amaze me, m’lady.

Leave a Reply

