Spring Cleaning – Geek Style

Spring Cleaning

It’s that time of year again! After an incredibly mild winter here in Canada, the weather is starting to warm up. Buds are showing themselves on the trees, and with it comes fresh crisp air, and a desire to suddenly get everything nice and clean in preparation for summer.

I have to admit, I don’t know a whole lot about computers. What I do know has typically been taught to me by my other half in the past, and bits and pieces I’ve picked up along the way. I try to keep up with it all and make sure I’m doing good by my machine, but it doesn’t always work out that way.

I happened to take a glance at my desktop and realized there were (I kid you not) 35 MMO titles on there. I may be good at multi tasking but I’m not THAT good, and some titles I hadn’t played in a very long time. When I first picked up my terabyte drive I was all excited that I’d never have to worry about space and deleting a game again. I had a little less then 500 gigs left on it, with an enormous collection of games – both multiplayer and single person RPG.

I decided this morning that it was well past time I got rid of those older titles. The ones I was never going to find myself playing again. There were a lot of them. I managed to free up 100 gigs of space on the drive and of course afterward I decided a disk defrag was probably a good idea. See, I’m thinking in the best interest of my computer this morning! That’s a pretty good thing for me. I didn’t stop there. I typically have a few furry critters wandering around that like to shed, so I made sure to open up the case, and clean out all of the dust (there may as well have been an entire cat living in there) that had collected. I have a bad habit of leaving my case on the floor, which I hear is not good for it, so I raise it up a little. I cleaned my desk, tucking papers and notes into proper homes, and putting books back on their shelves. Dusted the monitor, cleaned off the cat prints that scuttled across the desk. Dusted off my sub-woofer and those speakers that I neglect. Then I did the same thing for my laptop which sits right beside the PC on the left little portion of my desk. I’m typically using it for twitter, IM, EVEmon and Outlook while I’m working on the PC, or I’ll use it to play EVE while I’m playing EQ2 (which are my two ‘main’ games right now). The laptop sits on a tray with fans (and USB which I adore) and I took the care to clean it all out properly.

It felt good, I have to admit. It’s important to do this stuff more often then I do, in order to make sure that you get the most out of your electronics. I don’t think there’s anything I can do right now to preserve the 6 year old mouse that I just refuse to replace, but I try to make sure it’s not absolutely disgusting at least. I’m pretty particular about my keyboards and mice, so replacing them isn’t something I do that often. I suppose now that the electronics are taken care of, it’s time to move on to the rest of the house.

Anyone else doing some spring cleaning of their own?

About Stargrace

Just another female gamer with too much time on her hands.

Posted on April 12, 2010, in General. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I deleted a bunch of games, and decided to defrag also. It literally took my computer 18 hours to defrag.

  2. awesome pic. xD

    I would have trouble to name 35 contemporary MMOs, and I am quite a nerd in this matter.

    You must be an advanced MMO gaming lifeform from another, far more advanced galaxy cluster. And obviously female (multitasking). 😉

  3. Ive been prepping our house for sale the last month. It’s felt like an extreme version of spring cleaning. Somehow in the process I have managed to totally neglect my computer and its need for a cleaning. This was a nice reminder haha. Worried what type of animal remains I’ll find in my case ;D

  4. Usually when I do what you described, it’s because I’m procrastinating, but occasionally it’s because I can’t stand to live in filth any longer. So were you trying to put something off? 🙂

  5. @Bluekae – Naw, I actually love cleaning, one of my quirks, hehe. Cleaning and cooking.

  6. Thanks for the reminder 🙂
    I have been meaning to get rid of a lot of unused games/programs on my computer! Hopefully this weekend…

Leave a Reply

