Experiencing the Pew-Pew side of EVE

Flying the Dominix

As most know, I run two EVE accounts. One I use for invention (crafting of sorts) and mining. The other is dedicated towards PvE and blowing things up. I find it very useful to run two accounts, and I have a lot of fun with it. There’s so much to do in EVE that with both I can train skills down each branch at the same time, as opposed to having to wait for certain skills to complete in order to experience more of the game. Plus it prevents me from becoming too bored doing the same things over and over while I wait for skills to train. For example, my main account (mining) is training her final skill to be able to fly a hulk. There are 11 days left on my training, out of 23. I am incredibly excited even though at this point in time I do not actually OWN a hulk yet. I keep trying to invent the blueprint for one and failing (I’ve made five attempts so far). I’ll keep trying until I eventually pull one off.

In the mean time that account runs missions for CreoDron, which also happens to be the corp of my R&D agent. I’m stock piling LP (loyalty points) and look forward to a time when I can work with L3 agents. It’s not that far away.

The second account has been a lot of fun for me because it experiences a side of the game that I don’t generally deal with on a day to day basis. That account I use for hauling (I’ve trained an Iteron V which is fantastic), and then I decided to go the rout of PvE. I just finished training to fly a Dominix which is a huge (to me at least, there are larger) heavy battlecruiser. She (yes, all of my ships are she’s) not fit quite properly yet, but I’m getting there. I was starting to grow bored with L1 missions which is all I had the rank to obtain on the 2nd account, and lets just say the Dominix is SLIGHTLY over powered at that level of mission. Needless to say next on my list of things to train was connections, so that I could at least work with a higher level agent.

That didn’t mean I couldn’t have some fun though. My main account runs L2 missions, and even though I have an agent who is not supposed to give “kill” missions, on a rare occasion I will get one some how. I don’t enjoy declining these, so for fun I decided to try tanking it with the Dominix, while my Celestis (cruiser) fired with missiles and did the dps. I have dual monitors now and put an account on each to box them.

It was a LOT of fun, and I knew I was instantly addicted. Even though the Dominix is not fit as well as I’d like right now (sporting Light Neutron Blaster II’s instead of the 350mm compressed coil guns I’m currently working towards) nor do I have the training to fly the drones I’d like (let me tell you, those light ones get blown up way too easily), it was still a blast. Literally. The Dominix is a GREAT tanking ship, I sent my drones out to do the work, my Celestis to do more work, and the Dominix just sat there and tanked everything that flew my way. I had a MASSIVE amount of clean up to do afterward, at least 30 ship wrecks, but the Dominix is also fit with a tractor beam and a salvager (and the celestis has a salvager as well) so it wasn’t too much work. I came back with a lot of salvage material for crafting, a good amount of cash from bounties, and the knowledge that the Dominix could hold her own when it came to L2 missions despite me having never actually tanked one before (my Celestis can not tank them at all, I typically have to ask Kasul to help me out when I get the rare kill mission).

Today I’ll be able to put those new guns on, and now that I’ve got connections trained I can run L2 missions. Excited? You betcha. Of course I’ll write about all my adventures here. For now, fly safe!

About Stargrace

Just another female gamer with too much time on her hands.

Posted on May 8, 2010, in EVE Online. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I did level 2 missions in a cruiser. Guess this happens if you level up while playing not too much! πŸ™‚

    Still, you should start an Amarr char. They have the finest women and the most beautiful ships that shoot beams of cleansing light. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh I know they’re able to be done easily in a cruiser – my main account has not trained to fit a cruiser properly, that’s the issue, not that they can’t do it! I’m trained to mine, and have trained to reprocess, and other things in that nature. Not to pew pew!

    I am a woman, what use do I have with those finer then myself?! πŸ˜€ I think two characters is more then enough for me *grins*

  3. My offer to drag you along on some level 4’s still stands. I can be to Scheenins in a jiffy. . . . .

Leave a Reply

