The Final Step to Flying My Hulk

Hulk Invention

8th attempt is the charm, right? When I went to check on my invention run yesterday I didn’t hold much hope of it actually succeeding, I wasn’t as excited as the first few times I had made the attempt, waiting with baited breath and crossing all fingers (as well as toes). When I finished the job and was left with a shiny new blueprint in my inventory it suddenly dawned on me that I had (for once) SUCCEEDED with my invention, and that it would only be a matter of hours before I would be flying my brand new hulk.

Let me say a few words of thanks here before I get on to the juicy details. First of all a huge thank you to Kasul (writer of Shattered and fellow blogger here on NomadicGamer) who donated one of the two types of datacores I needed for each attempt. I worked on one type while he worked on the other. He also listened to my whining each time I failed an attempt. Another big thank you to David, a close friend of mine from high school who just also happens to play EVE and be in the same corp as me. He provided all of the materials to manufacture the hulk, and I couldn’t be more thankful for that.While I do enjoy EVE for what it offers as a game on a very basic level, it’s always my friends who make each game more like a ‘home’ and I love that feature more then any other.

My manufacturing job will be completed 4 hours from the time of this post, and then 3 hours after THAT I’ll be able to fly it. Why have I been going on and on about this particular ship? It’s pretty easy to understand when you look at a few things. First of all, I’ve been training to fly this ship for the past three months. My final skill (mining barge V) took 28 days just for that one skill. It’s probably the best mining barge I can get, and the way I look at it is much like a piece of gear in any other traditional MMO. You spend months learning an encounter and attempting to kill it. Loot drops, but it’s not the piece you want. Then finally, when you least expect it the mob falls and you get the item you’ve been wanting forever. In EVE this is a little easier to accomplish because you don’t need a 24 person raid to obtain this uber ship.

Was it worth it for me to invent a blueprint (and go through the disappointment when I failed) and then manufacture a ship myself instead of simply purchasing one? Of course. Blueprints are 60 mill ISK and upwards. I’d guess that between assembly lines, and covetor blueprints (which are used to create the hulk ones) only a few mill if that was spent. I’m not exactly sure what David spent collecting all of the parts for me to build the ship, but a full hulk goes for 150 mill ISK and upwards – and some how I doubt he spent nearly that amount (not to mention he got extra supplies, which are in our corp hangar now).

Then there’s also the satisfaction of knowing that I built something that I will use as my ‘main’ ship for a long time. Maybe for as long as I play the game. It’s an incredible feeling, and I’ve been smiling about it for hours now. Of course, now I have to decide what to do next, now that I have free time in my skill queue. I haven’t seen that for so long on my main account.

About Stargrace

Just another female gamer with too much time on her hands.

Posted on May 19, 2010, in EVE Online. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on the successful invention!!!!!!

  2. Congrats! That’s great. I can’t wait to see you fly it.

Leave a Reply

