In Which I Make Eurogamer Review Look Extensive

So back on June 2nd, I found out that Darkfall had finally opened up a free trial.  I’ve liked the screenshots I’ve seen, and since Syncaine seems to like it so much, I’ve been wanting to try it for some time, but I wasn’t willing to buy without trying and a paid trial isn’t really a trial, IMO.

So, I downloaded it.  Installed it.  Made a character.  And in the 1st tutorial window (or maybe it was the 2nd) I was told that yeah, they know their control scheme isn’t very intuitive, but that after a couple of hours I should get used to it.  I ran around the newbie area experimenting with it, learning how to keep the windows I wanted open, etc, then ran out in to the wilds to see what kind of trouble I could get into.

I found some goblins pretty quickly.  Killed one, but the 2nd one ran once his health got low and found a friend.  I almost killed the friend, but ended up dying.  Not a big deal really, but enough to make me realize that the game was a bit more action oriented than I wanted, and since I’m already trying to divide my time between 3 other MMO’s and am feeling that 2 are getting shortchanged. . . .

Darkfall was uninstalled from my computer less than an hour after it was installed.  Perhaps someday if I get bored of my other 3 games, but then perhaps not.  I didn’t notice anything “wrong” with the game, and actually quite liked that that goblin ran once it looked like he was going to die.  The graphics were nice, and I’m sure I could get used to the controls given enough time.  It just didn’t appeal to me with how my life is currently.

Posted on June 7, 2010, in Darkfall. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

