EVE Blog Banter #18 — My EVE story

I’m not an official EVE blogger or anything, but I’ve always liked the idea of the “blog banter” and there’s a new one out this week, so I’m tossing my hat in the ring as well.

Welcome to the eighteenth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by none other than me, CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

On May 6th 2010, EVE Online celebrated its 7th Anniversary. Quite a milestone in MMO history, especially considering that it is one of the few virtual worlds out there to see its population continually grow year after year. For some of you who’ve been here since the very beginning, EVE has evolved quite a lot since its creation. With the expansion rolling out roughly twice a year, New Eden gets renewed and improved regularly. But, how about you the player? How has you gaming style evolved through the years or months since you’ve started playing? Have you always been a carebear, or roleplayer? Have you only focused on PvP or have you given other aspects of the game a chance – say manufacturing. Let’s hear your story!

So here we go. . . .

I heard some rumblings back in the day about a sci-fi MMO game coming out, but at the time was a pretty dedicated solo/offline RPG player, so didn’t think too much of it.  I never got in to EverQuest because I didn’t want to pay a monthly subscription to play a game.  Add to my “anti-sub bias” that I heard that EVE was more or less just mining rocks in space to sell in order to make money and not a whole lot else — “Pretty But Boring” was the general summation — and I didn’t try to follow it or anything.

Fast forward a few years and I’m now a dedicated MMO player.  I had 2 accounts in my 1st MMO, and then eventually moved over to SOE’s Station Pass and stayed with it even once it went up in price to effectively being 2 accounts again.  A few friends started talking about EVE and how “awesome” it was, but I couldn’t make a whole lot of sense about their talk of “bumping skills.”  Still and all, I was only playing fantasy MMO’s at the time and wanted a sci-fi fix, so I started up in to EVE.

In my prior games I’d found that a “fighter type” character was easiest to learn the ropes on, so I thought I’d start with a warrior type and then make my “real” character once I knew what was going on.  In reading the racial descriptions, Caldari sounded most military and “Special Operations” as a specialty sounded militant enough, so that’s what I started as.  I had no idea what the attributes did, but figured that with th numbers being as low as they were that it must be something like Fallout’s system, so I bumped the INT score, thinking it would get me more skill points to use when I leveled.  Yeah, I know NOW how silly that sounds, but I was a complete greenhorn and didn’t realize just how different EVE was from all the other MMO’s I’d played up until then.

So anyway, character created and I’m in to the tutorial.  I don’t remember much about it other than that I was immediately being shot at and couldn’t target the thing by clicking on it becuz it was too darn small and too darn fast.  Oh wait, what’s this overview thing?  And then they gave me this module but I couldn’t fit it for a whole 15 minutes while I waited for a skill to train.  And then what’s this?  This next skill needs 4 hours?  I actually logged out at that point and came back 4 hours later.  I hated the thought of skill training being time based then, but I’ve gotten used to it and kinda prefer it anymore, thought I’ll admit that waiting a month for a skill to finish can be a little off putting.  I never did train that 2nd character I thought I would.  By the time I’d “learned the ropes” as it were, I had what I thought was a lot of SP trained on this character and didn’t want to “lose” that time investment by starting over on a new one.

The friends I mentioned earlier invited me in to their corp, one of them built a Caracal cruiser for me, while another spotted me 4 million ISK for initial fittings and such.  As a Caldari Spec Ops guy I had some decent-ish missile skills to start, so I quickly found the Kestrel frigate and used it to run L1 missions while I skilled for Cruisers so that I could use the Caracal.

Now here I am 42 million skill points and a bit over 2 years later and what do I have to show for it?  Well… I can fly a lot of ships due to generalizing a bit in my racial choices for flying them.  I have a good tank on any ship, whether armor or shield.  Perfect capacitor skills.  “Advanced” navigation skills.  Drone skills aren’t stellar, but aren’t completely sucky.  Beleive it or not, I’m only now really starting to work on my weapon skills in earnest.  I’ve been a hisec carebear from the beginning and as such getting weapon skills to 4 and not worrying about T2 was “good enough” for a long time.  I have made forays in to lowsec, and I lost a Kestrel in a static plex in a 0.2 system once.  I saw the guy coming on the directional scanner but tried to blow up 1 more building and. . . .he got me before I finished blowing it up.  That’s been my total sum of pvp experience.  My corp’s made some lowsec roams on occasion looking for trouble/pvp, but we’ve never found it.

Thing is, I’m largely dissatisfied with my EVE experience anymore.  I want to be out in 0.0 or wormhole space, not in Empire, but because I also play EQ2 and DDO and I’ve got a full regular life as well, I don’t feel like I’d have much to offer a 0.0 corp/alliance, as I don’t think my attendance could be counted on.  Of course, if I was in a good 0.0 corp, then I might actually log on more as well.  Who can say?  Chicken or egg?

Anyway, with Planetary Interaction having just been released, I’ve been throwing myself in to that.  It’s complex sounding at 1st, but once you really look at it, there’s not *that* much to it, so I’ve been enjoying learning the nuances and subtleties of it now, as you may have noticed from my prior posts on PI.

And that’s my EVE journey so far.

Posted on June 16, 2010, in EVE Online. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

