Ding, 57

Killing in Broodlands

I moved two of my characters from my 2nd EQ1 account over to my main account. This included my 80 enchanter Kameeko, and my 56 beastlord, Tikia. My main reason behind this was that I no longer want to keep both accounts active, and I didn’t want to just forget about the characters either. Kameeko is my crafter, and I’ve worked really hard on obtaining her levels. The beastlord isn’t exactly something amazing, but it was still 56 levels that I didn’t want to start over with.

I spent most of the evening organizing hotkeys, cleaning out banks (setting up a new trader for the bazaar because my previous one was level 1 and deleted in the mass wipe that came) and then decided to attempt to gain a level on the beastlord. She’s not exactly the best geared character, sporting defiant stuff for the most part, but she’s not half bad. I picked up a healer mercenary and spoke with the npc outside in PoK to figure out what the hot zones were for my level.

Level 50 was broodlands, 55 was bloodfields. I didn’t think my beastlord would be able to tank bloodfields very well by herself, so I went to zam.com to search for how to get to broodlands, because it’s been forever. I remembered the zone vaguely from my adventures not that long ago, but still wanted to confirm the location.

Turns out Broodlands: PoK -> Neriak Stone -> Nektulos Forest -> Lavastorm -> Broodlands

Not too complicated. I have maps installed, and made my way there. Even with the recent server merges I was the only person in the zone. I’m guessing a lot of people are already 80+ since the level cap didn’t go up last expansion, and that a lot of them are doing (what I believe are) monster missions because I constantly see people looking for mm. Or being requested for a ‘task add’ and the like.

I popped my lesson of the devoted (bonus experience for an hour) found a comfortable wall to pull to, and then hung out with my mercenary and proceeded to take part in a good old fashioned level grind. Ah, how I had missed them. General channel was pretty busy considering it was 2am (EST) on a Wednesday night, and I had a great time. Before too long I found that my little beastlord had reached level 57, and a message popped up saying I had gotten mail. Every level or so Sony sends characters who have leveled a little message with a suggestion on ‘where to level next’ – for a minute or two I contemplated doing a weekly article about these zone suggestions and attempting to level my character through them – however – I also realized what a huge disadvantage I’d be at. Basically with the inclusion of hot zones it makes all other zones of less value to level in (unless you’re trying to quest, or looking for a particular piece of gear). Hot zones were added to push players together into a local area, to make grouping easier. Sadly, aside from soloists and those who have static groups a lot of ‘regular’ zones now go unused until they’ve got the lucky chance to become a hot zone.

It was still a really fun night, and I remembered all of the reasons why I love EQ. The game has changed, but none of the reasons on why I love it have. I started talking to a friend about all of the things we used to do in game together and I was just hit by wave after wave of nostalgia. No game I have played has ever come close to the feeling I get when I’m playing EQ (be it 7 years ago, or today for that matter).

I’m looking forward to seeing what other trouble I can get into. If you happen to be on the Drinal server let me know – my characters are:

  • Ellithia – 81 necromancer
  • Pumpkiins – 73 Druid
  • Invis – 73 Rogue
  • Seduisant – 61 Cleric
  • Lysthia – 31 Monk
  • Tikia – 57 Beastlord
  • Silverstep – 47 Shadowknight
  • Kameeko – 80 Enchanter

Happy gaming, no matter where you find yourself!

About Stargrace

Just another female gamer with too much time on her hands.

Posted on June 30, 2010, in EQ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

