Steam Sales, and What I Bought

King's Bounty - The Legend

For those who are used to purchasing games online, you’re probably familiar with two specific sites. One is direct2drive, and the other is Steam. Both are fairly well reputed sites and I haven’t had any issues purchasing games from either of them. Around Christmas time Steam had some incredible sales and they’ve returned this summer. I already own a lot of the MMO titles, but from time to time I like to stray towards something different. It may not happen that often, but it does happen. I have the Sims3 which I’m pretty dedicated to, and then a handful of other games sit on my pc for when I’m in the mood.

I recently picked up a bundle for “King’s Bounty” which included King’s Bounty: The Legend, and King’s Bounty: Armored Princess. I have never played this game before, but it looked neat and I had heard a few good things from friends. It’s a tactical game but also involves other elements like exploration. I haven’t played very far into it yet, but I’m having a lot of fun (even though a few encounters have absolutely wooped me). Basically you control one ‘leader’ type character, who is in charge of an army. You scour the map looking for things to defeat, and places to explore (and other things like that) and every so often you’ll ‘run into’ a mob. This opens up a game board where your army will be laid out, as well as the army of your enemies (pictured above). From there it moves to turn based attacks, of course the last one standing wins. You can pick up scrolls, wear armor, pick up leadership points and there are other bits and pieces to the game that I haven’t figured out quite yet (remember I’ve barely sunk an hour in so far). It’s still fun, and well worth the $10 I paid for the two games.

Along that same line I also picked up a Gothic bundle, Gothic II: Gold Edition and Gothic 3 for $1.99 – another game I had heard very little to nothing about (I haven’t been a gamer all my life) but it looked interesting and I had heard some ok reviews about it. I’m already aware that controls are a bit wonky, but other then that I haven’t even loaded up the game yet to check it out. For the price, I really couldn’t go wrong.

What about everyone else, have you been sucked in by the steam summer sales? What did you purchase? Let me know in comments!

About Stargrace

Just another female gamer with too much time on her hands.

Posted on July 1, 2010, in General, PC, RPG and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Bought The Witcher: Enhanced Edition for $6.49 or something like that.

    Now thinking of buying SWG for five dollars. 🙂

  2. I bought the King’s Bounty bundle for 8.49€ on Sunday and have been playing The Legend since then. And I absolutely love it. Steam says, that I played nearly 25 hours already. My estimate would have been much lower but this is just one of those games where time flies by without me noticing.
    It’s one of those “Oh, I just take a look what’s in here real quick and then I go to bed! But .. ah, this is the last army I fight, then I .. wait! Is that a secret entrance right there? Could be full of treasures!”- games. Only bad thing so far is the vast amount of riding around the lands to get somewhere just to be sent back to your original starting point.
    I also bought The Void yesterday. I just played for like 45 minutes today and I really don’t know what to think. Part of me finds it really fascinating and the other part thinks: “What IS this? That’s just so weird!”

    If you’ll excuse me now, I still have a dwarven kingdom to save tonight!

  3. When I get home I’ll buy SWG. This will be my 4th time trying it. I hope Fallen Earth goes on sale and I’m debating Global Agenda. If APB was $5 I might think about it

  4. Steam gets me every time. The good news is I’m running out of things on sale that I’m interested in since I’ve bought it already. The bad news is they keep having new sales.

    Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena
    Zeno Clash
    Ghostbusters: The Videogame
    Avencast
    Overlord Complete Pack
    The Deus Ex Collection
    Mirror’s Edge
    Crysis Complete (NA)
    Oblivion Game of the Year Delux

    All bought recently.

  5. Nice call on the Kings Bounty. I had gotten it over Christmas it is a good game

    Avoid APB trust me.

    I also grabbed Arma II and the Arma II expansion for just 50 bucks for both.

    Other than that I didn’t take any titles since I bought most of them during that holiday run

  6. I bought the Square Enix Eidos Clollectors Pack and the THQ Complete Pack.
    I also bought C&C Red Alert 3 Uprising and Battlefield Bad Company 2.

    And that’s just in the last two weeks….

  7. I have bought more games than I can shake a stick atm and I don’t regret it one bit!

  8. I picked up Gothic 3 as well, and on advice from friends, I downloaded the latest community patch for it. (If you look in the Gothic bboards on steam, there’s a post which explains how to do that.)

    I do really like that steam includes bboards for each game, so that players can discuss this sort of thing.

    I was tempted by The Witcher too …

Leave a Reply

