POS Bashing in Cloud Ring

Yesterday I logged in to EVE to start my main character training again after doing a week of stuff on my same-account alt to help with my corp’s research projects (main does ME, alt does PE), and saw an email saying that the DC (Deklein Coalition — subset of the Northern Coalition using just the alliances in the Deklein region, see?) was having an operation against EV0KE in the Cloud Ring, and that my alliance was making it a “mandatory CTA.”  It was scheduled to start at 10:45 pm my time — a bit late, but not terribly so.  Details were sketchy, but it sounded like some POS’s had been reinforced the day before and we were planning to go actually kill them, so I didn’t think it’d take too long.

How wrong I was.  I went to bed at close to 5 am this morning — yeah, the op was about 6 hours long all told, and I’d logged in about 1.5 hours before that to do my PI and then jump clone to my pvp clone, which was a long way from home where I’d docked it after the last big op I was able to attend.  Fortunately a new jump bridge had been installed in the system that clone was in that connected quickly to another bridge system that took me within 5 jumps of home, so getting back was fairly quick.

The planned op was asking for logistics cruisers was pretty loudly.  I can fly a Basilisk so I decided that I would bring that along to help in that role.

I made it to the staging area about 15 minutes early, and so it was fun to watch local filling up and sub-caps ships warping and caps cyno’ing in.  I was in voice comms waiting for the fleet advert to go out, and once it did it filled we formed up a truly massive fleet.  According to the video posted below, it was the largest fleet in a long time.

We found out that we were forming up a bit early because we needed the time to be able to clear any defense fleet and to reinforce the I-Hub beforehand as well.  We titan-bridged out of the staging area, then had a bit of traveling to do.  But it was quiet, and there was no defense fleet waiting for us either.

 

The prior night’s op had dropped a “death star” tower in the target system to use as a staging area, so we formed up there.  A 4th POS had been scanned out, so we went and reinforced that.  It took a while, because even with a big fleet shooting, 45 million shield hit points takes a while.  Even so, we put it in reinforced in pretty short order. For funsies, system scanners were opened up and we found a few anomalies to kill a bit of time in and went and blew threw them in seconds.  I actually received 108,000 ISK in bounties for my share of it all.

 

The I-Hub became vulnerable, so we headed on over and we put it in to reinforced mode.  It had 75 million shield HP, but it seemed like it took less time to reinforce than the tower.  Go figure.

 

 

 

Once that was done, we took down the 1st tower.  This tower was doing moon mining on a dual Technetium/Promethium moon, so taking it out is a big hit to EV0KE’s income.

 

 

 

From there it was on to the 2nd POS, this one with 3 Capital Ship Assembly Arrays.  Intelligence had learned that a titan and 2 dreadnoughts were being built, so taking them out while under construction was a priority.  After this POS went down, it was on to the 3rd and last one for the night.  This one only had a single CSAA at it, but intel said that this one was also producing a titan.  This POS also had active guns and since it was so late and we’d been at it so long we didn’t take them out 1st, simply shot the POS.  As a result, I finally got to do logistics and repair people’s shields!  Finally got to do what I’d come along to do!  I just wish I’d thought to bring a sentry drone instead of my repper drones.  Then I could have been on the POS killmails.  Still… it’s known that I was there on logistics, so I’m not expected to actually show up on the mails.  And CSAA’s only have 50,000 hit points, so they popped *really* fast.  I honestly never managed to finish getting a target lock on any of them before they died.

All told, the FC’s estimated we did about 100 billion isk worth of damage in that system last night, and there’s still that tower and the I-Hub we reinforced that need to be destroyed, plus the loss of income from that moon.  I don’t know that I think we did quite that much — by my estimation it was more in the 50-60 billion range, but either way, that’s a lot of ISK.

Lag existed, but it honestly wasn’t bad.  We had some gate lag on the trip in when we were jumping 500 people through at a time.  Well, no.  The FC was good and had 1 fleet of 250 jump while the 2nd fleet was off at a planet, then had the 2nd fleet come in a minute later after everyone had made it through from the 1st fleet, and that helped a lot.  While we had 500 shooting at the 1st POS to reinforce it, I had a few seconds of targeting lag, and it was a toss-up as to whether my modules which I’d set to not auto-repeat would still do it anyway or not (though they almost always instantly accepted a manual command to turn off), and there was a few seconds of activation lag, but it was nothing at all like on my prior op where I was having several minutes of module lag in a smaller fleet.  I’d say that CCP’s lag improvements they’ve been working on (chronicled here, here, here, and here) have made a noticeable difference.  Still not perfect, but much better than it was.  WTG CCP and keep going more!

Anybody else up to anything in New Eden?

Update: Intel now says that we destroyed 3 titans in process as well as a supercarrier, plus destroyed storage holding the materials for 2 more titans to be built, so the damage estimate has been revised upward to the 200-300 billion ISK range.  Wowzers.  The Goonswarm has posted about this in the EVE Forums, and someone made a short video of one of the POS takedowns.  I can even see my ship in one of the clips in the video, but since y’all weren’t there I doubt you’d be able to tell one Basi from another.  Still, I was excited when I saw my ship!

Posted on October 11, 2010, in EVE Online. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

