Variety of /played time

My gaming time has taken a nosedive lately, which is kinda sad for me since a couple of my IRL friends have recently re-subscribed to EQ2, so I’m hoping to be able to play that game a bit more with them in the near future.  Still and all, I finally managed to get a good chest armor piece for my SK from Vigilant: The Rescue (aka Vig3).  Sadly, it was due to being in a well-geared group that didn’t care about that piece as anything other than transmuter fodder, so they kindly let me snag it on a need roll to pass to the SK via the bank.

Still… considering how little I’ve actually played my SK as a tank since hitting 90, she’s actually rather decently geared.  I even went nuts a week or so ago and dropped a ton of plat on the level 88 adornments, so now when I’m in defense stance I have 63.5% mitigation, 63.8% avoidance, and over 18,000 HP.  I know that those numbers cane be pushed a lot higher too, though.  Even before the adornments, a friend had me tank the x2 in the Hole, and there was that level 86 x4 quest mob in there too, which I also tanked.  This friend is in a raid guild, so he and his guildies he brought along were very nicely geared up and thus when they buffed me up…. well, let’s just say I didn’t ever lose aggro, nor was I ever out of the green in my health.  In spite of the fact that we 1-grouped the x2, and we 9-manned the x4.  Mitigation was pushing 70% and avoidance was well over it.  I could actually have my Unholy Blessing reactive time out after 24 seconds and only have used 3 of its 5 procs up, so I wasn’t getting hit all that much, or that hard.  It was a fun time.

The x2 dropped a couple of healer pieces, that in spite of only being “Legendary” were still very nice.  The x4 dropped stuff we saw drop from trash mobs earlier.  It was a quest mob — the surprise was that it dropped anything, really.

I haven’t done much in EVE since the post about the big fleet prior to this one.  I actually went for a 2 week stretch where I didn’t log in at all, and this past week I’ve only logged in 3x, and then just to do my PI for the corp.  and I couldn’t even do that one of the times since Pandemic Legion has decided to start roaming the NC areas and so I had a couple of reds in-system with me.  They were reported as camping one of the gates, but I’m still not going to undock an unarmed industrial ship when 2 reds in T3 cruisers are in-system, even if it is just my PI alt with a with 1.5 million SP and no implants.  Why give out a free killmail?

I’ve actually started doing a bit more DDO.  I haven’t followed it all that closely, so I wasn’t “right on it” when the latest big patch was put out, but a corpmate in EVE (fellow blogger Toldain, actually) mentioned he’s got a guild on the Ghallanda server, and I actually hadn’t played on that server, so it was a good excuse to go work some favor for free Turbine Points.  Except they added the Half-Orc and Half-Elf races now, and even bundled they still were a lot more TP than I could get in any “reasonable” time frame, so I dropped a bit of cash in order to buy them.

The half-orc race itself isn’t any big deal on paper.  At the most shallow level it’s a dwarf with a bonus to STR instead of to CON.   It’s the enhancements for the race that really help it to shine.  The half-orc fury that grants a +2 STR when below 50% HP is fun, the aptitude with 2-handed weapons that adds a +2 to damage when using them….. it’s very nice on the Barbarian that I made.  I also made a cleric, since with no penalty to WIS a Half-Orc doesn’t have any trouble being one.  I haven’t spec’d him for 2H battle-cleric-ness though.  I can re-spec the enhancements easily enough if I need to, though.  I tried a bard, in spite of the CHA penalty, thinking it would make a nice “buffbot” but since I was already making a Half-Elf pure bard, I decided that a “horc” battle-buffer wasn’t going to be in the cards.

I also made a STR-based monk and am also going the Thief-Acrobat splash route to make it a 2H staff user to take advantage of the horc enhancement on that.  So far at level 4 (love that vet status) I’m doing a surprising amount of damage with the staff.  It helps that I was able to get a staff with the “stunning +4” attribute.  It’s only a 3% stun chance, but for now I’m using the wind stance for faster attacks, so with firing them off so often, I still get quite a few stuns in without even trying.  So overall… I VERY much like the race, in spite of its lack of “flair” on paper.

I’ve also been playing around with the Half-Elf race and their “dilettante” feat.  It’s kinda weirdly implemented.  For example, a non-caster that takes the dilettante feat of a caster class can use the wands that that class would use, but not their scrolls.  Or the fighter dilly feat says it grants all the martial weapon proficiencies, yet it doesn’t grant the ability to use a longbow — gotta take the ranger dilly feat for that (which only grants the ranged feats, as well as a lesser bow strength feat).

Still and all, I’ve wound up with 2 toons that I’m liking so far.  The 1st is a pure bard that’s going the Spellsinger route, due to a preponderance of casters in the guild.  I took the fighter dilly feat thinking I’d use a longbow from the back, and perhaps even try to work in the Arcane Archer enhancements, but… no go there.  Once the bug that doesn’t allow swapping of the dilettante feat is fixed I may swap it to ranger, but as it is, I do okay with a scimitar and light shield.  Yes, 5% arcane failure chance from the shield, but I’ve only seen 1 failure so far, and in the low levels that 4 AC from the +3 shield is huge.  I also have a 2H sword that I use as well and it doesn’t have spell failure.  If I swap to ranger dilly I won’t be able to use it anymore.  We’ll see how it goes.

The last toon is a sorcerer that took the favored soul dilettante feat.  This allows it the use of divine wands for self-healing.  Yes, a non-warforged sorcerer with self-heals that doesn’t need UMD.  how cool is that?  I’m taking UMD anyway, since in the higher levels I’ll want scrolls instead of wands, but in the lower levels, the wands are a godsend.

I’ve also been talked in to installing xfire.  Most of the people in the Ghallanda guild use it for their voice chat, so I’ve got it now as well.  I don’t intend to really track my gameplay stats or anything, but I have noted that in spite of how much this post is gushing over DDO and the new races and character builds possible with them, EQ2 is still the game with the most /played time since I installed the app.  Go figure.

What have y’all been playing?

Posted on November 5, 2010, in Dungeons and Dragons Online, EQ 2, EVE Online. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

