We Shouldn’t Need Reminders To Be Nice #MMORPG

Thanks stranger

I’m getting a little tired of people using the excuse “it’s only a video game” when it comes to being civil to one another. This week (even though it’s only at the mid way point) I’ve seen more examples of people being just down right mean to one another then I care to admit, and I think we all need to step back and take a little time out.

They ARE just video games, I understand that – but just because it’s a video game doesn’t mean we all have the right to turn into horrid little monsters and forget the fact that we’re playing with OTHER PEOPLE. Other people with thoughts and emotions and their own sets of worries. We play video games for numerous reasons and just because you’re having a bad day doesn’t mean you should be a dick to someone else to make yourself feel better. I have been especially disappointed in the twitter / blogger community this week. I understand that “nice” posts don’t get the attention and comments that the drama filled ones drum up, but I’ve always valued the fact that even though we don’t all share the same opinion we are at least mature enough to discuss our differences in an adult manor without resorting to name calling and hurt feelings. I really don’t understand why people need to be reminded to “play nice” with others. There are some very basic unsaid rules when it comes to human interaction and it seems like the longer I play any given game, the less I see people just behaving decent to one another.

I implore my readers to take a second or two and step away from situations that seem to be getting out of hand. It isn’t hard to be good to your fellow gamers and even though you may not get 40+ comments on a post being nice, trust me, it does get noticed.

I think it’s great to see so much passion about video games, both in game and out, but when you start making personal attacks on someone to try to one up them I have to question the motives behind it. Hopefully we see the rest of the week as being better then the first three days.

Happy gaming, no matter where you find yourself.

 

About Stargrace

Just another female gamer with too much time on her hands.

Posted on February 9, 2011, in General, MMO. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You should submit that to Fat, Ugly, or Slutty, which collects such comments (usually from XBox Live) as a monument to gamer stupidity.

  2. Agreed. I hate when someone in our WoW guild says its only a game. Understood. Game is a game, but PEOPLE play the game and can make it crappy all the same.

    Also, I’ve seen the Twitter trend to put out negative, inflammatory, trollish blogs to drive traffic as well. Agreed, disappointing.

  3. Wow, I can’t believe someone would come back with that kind of response. I too was going to mention Fat, Ugly or Slutty. That site really opened my eyes to just how bad female gamers have it; it disgusts me the way guys behave.

Leave a Reply

