More TOR

No posting on TOR in a while since I’ve been at home on vacation the past 10 days or so and why post when I can play?

Things progress apace.  My alt-itis is already in full stride, so while my Trooper is up at level 26 now, I’ve also got a level 16 Jedi Sage and a level 15 Jedi Guardian working their way through Coruscant as well.

I’m enjoying the game overall.  My only real gripes are:

  • The UI is atrocious.  The inability to move elements of it around other than the chat windows is extremely fail.  Add in  that moving the chat window is a bad idea becuz then it will overlap the other non-movable windows, and well… there you go.  I also need more space in my hotbars.  My Trooper’s 26 and both bottom bars are completely full, with all my buffs and such over on the right, and the left reserved for the companion bar.  I do have some spaces open on the right, but new skills that I’ll use need to be in the bottom bars.  Of course, I can’t recall the last time I used a few skills, so I could free up a bit of space by removing them, I suppose.
  • I’ve mentioned this briefly before, and seen others complaining about it now also and they’re calling it “feedback.”  I called it “feels like I’m playing in molasses.”  (If you follow the link, scroll down to section 3) Clicking an instant causes the mobs to respond instantly, but you still have to wait for your animation to run, then the thing’s travel time before the mobs are actually affected by what you’re doing.  Clicking a 2nd skill to queue it up while a cast-time spell is going will result in the cast-time skill NOT firing off at the end of its bar, restarting the bar, firing off about 2.3 of the way through, and then it’s a toss-up if your queued skill will actually fire off or not.  Which kinda then goes back to the UI stuff — there’s no visual indicator on the UI if you’ve got a skill successfully queued or not, so quite often you’ll click a skill to queue it and then . . . nothing until you click it again.  Sometimes you get an error saying you clicked to early (another annoyance — if I can queue it I should be able to always queue it.  I’ve got the queue length set to the maximum 1.0 seconds, but with a 1.5 second GCD, it’s still easy to click too fast), but often you just get nothing while you just stand there.
  • Crafting is actually pretty pointless.  Cybertech makes Earpieces which I don’t find easily any other way, but its bread and butter is mods.  Guess what you get on the commendations vendor (and commendations drop like candy)?  Yeah. .. no reason to make mods.  Biochem makes Implants, but anything else (stims and medpacks) really aren’t necessary.  I made myself a nice Willpower+Power stim to use on my Sage and I noticed absolutely no difference whether I was using it or not.  Made an armormech thinking it’d be nice to be able to outfit my companions instead of dinking around with drops or on the “Galactic Trade Network” but you can’t make full sets.  Not in the early levels, anyway.  Just belts and boots to start, then add in some gloves later.  It’s just silly.

That said, I’m having a blast checking out the various playstyles.  Deleted a few of the characters I’d made and showed in the prior post, and then turned around and made more.  Currently I’ve got 6 characters on Sanctum of the Exalted, and they’re all on the Republic side.  I’ll get around to the Sith stories eventually, but for now I’m simply Republic.

Something I am doing as a sort of “proof of concept” is that I made 2 female Consulars 1 to be Sage and 1 to be a Shadow and at level 11 I bought the moddable “Social Clothing” for them and I’m simply upgrading the mods (from the commendation vendor) on them as I level up to see if it’s a viable thing to do.  I’ve only leveled the Sage so far, but … it’s working quite well.  She’s not quite upgraded everything to the max that you can on Coruscant, but I’m only 1 or 2 mods away from that now and, well. . . . . . grouping up for Heroic Missions (3+ commendations per mission, after all) and having 20-30% higher HP than the tank… and then ending up tanking it myself anyway since my dps output is high enough to pull it away.  Yeah, seems to be working quite well.  Admittedly, these tanks have been level 13 so don’t have their tanking stances yet, so that will probably help them out once they get there.

But enough of my yammering.  It’s time for the pretty pictures:

My Commando as he got his ship

Coruscant looks amazing from the roof

But not so nice in the lower levels

Taris is a ruined city world

Nar Shadaa is Vegas in Space!

The new Sage while leveling on Tython

The Sage after Level 11 with "Social Clothing"

Level 11 Heavy Armor looks good on a lizard

Happy Gaming!

Posted on December 27, 2011, in Star Wars: The Old Republic. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Where did you find that Consular social clothing? That looks very intricate.

  2. It’s on the social vendor in the Senate Plaza on Coruscant for Republic side. Not sure about Sith side, but I’d imagine Dromund Kaas would have it too.

Leave a Reply

