Neverwinter – CW goes Ding 60!

Ding 60 and already in T1 purples -- cheap on the Auction House!

Ding 60 and already in T1 purples — cheap on the Auction House!

As expected, I made it to level 60 on my CW this past weekend. Screenshot to the left 😛  I actually haven’t changed any gear on it since then, but the stats aren’t “current” as I’ve changed the gear on my Ioun Stone companion, finished ranking it to 25 after taking that shot, and also put some cheap enchants in my gear to increase my Recovery and Armor Penetration stats as bit higher.  I’ve run a couple of Tier 1 dungeons now with my guild, but I’m already in Tier 1 gear, so…. the gear drops I got sold nicely, at least 😀  And after adding in the cheap enchants, my gear score is over 9300, so I can queue for any dungeon, even the “highest” one — Castle Never.  I think I need a bit more dungeon experience in the T1’s before

Lava, lava, everywhere lava. . .

Lava, lava, everywhere lava. . .

trying even the T2’s though.  Plus apparently my current Renegade spec is “being gutted” with the next big patch.  PWE/Cryptic is providing free respecs at the time, so I’ll see about doing a respec to a Thaumaturge build but then need to learn to play like that in a dungeon to boot, so… no rush for it.

Picking up from my last post…. Mt. Hotenow continued to be something of a pain, but I eventually found that using the Ioun Stone companion boosted my damage output enough that I was able to do better. I also focused more on my dodging (especially since most of the “big bads” weren’t controllable anyway)

Early in the Hotenow zone

Early in the Hotenow zone

that I actually didn’t need or miss the healing from my cleric companion.  I even managed the final solo dungeon of the zone just fine without asking anyone to duo with me.  I used a couple of potions in there at times, but I picked up more than I used on the run, so. . . there ya go.

The volcano caldera section of the zone was the roughest becuz it’s something of a multi-level maze and apparently PWE decided that it was too open originally, so they dropped a couple of big boulders you can’t get around or over in 2 of the main thoroughfares, so figuring out the alternate routes and finding the *1* narrow-and-easy-to-miss ramp up out of the place was a bit interesting, especially since the “glowing trail” still tries to follow its original path through the boulders.  Though once I had it found and “marked” in my mental map it wasn’t so bad.  Apparently on the test server 1 of the giant boulders has been removed, so that will be nice for later alts when leveling them up, I expect.

The Drow City of "X-something"

The Drow City of “X-something”

After finishing up that zone, the Underdark beckoned with the Whispering Caverns.  I expected it to be a lot gloomier, but the initial “Wilds” area and the Drow city of Xaleasa (or something like that.  X-something, anyway) were really quite lovely.  Lots of glowing mushrooms and some nice pools of water and luminescent mosses and such.  They were also populated with the “easy” drow, spider, and drider mobs like in Rothe Valley, so it was again a bit relaxing after Mt. Hotenow.  The Duergar mines were, well, mines and so not much to look at there, with the mobs being the same difficulty as the earlier Drow, but then you went on up into the Mind Flayer Sept area.

Mind Flayer Sept Gateway 01

Entry into the Mind Flayer Sept

Holy psychedelic cubism and slime pools, Batman!  Plus the Mind Flayers can’t be quite…. interesting. . .to fight.  They’re still controllable, so that helps, but they teleport around, have high damage stun attacks of their own, as well as magic attacks from range.  And their little Intellect Predator trash swarms have a charge attack that does a lot of damage, so having 4 hit you at once then have it topped off with a big mind blast from an Illithid, while 2 other Illithids are backstabbing you

The Scariest Part of the Underdark

The Scariest Part of the Underdark

after teleporting in and you’re dead so fast you didn’t realize combat had started.  You almost had to have the cleric companion out as a decoy for the trash swarms.  Or since there was a cleric running around doing the same quests that I was, we simply “open grouped” (tagging a mob gets you credit toward the quest, so no need to form an actual group, but still working together) the harder quests.  For all that the “overland” quests were rough, though, I was still able to solo complete the instances using the Ioun Stone companion without any trouble at all.  Go figure.

There’s nothing much to say about the dungeon runs that I did.  They’re just like the lower level dungeons, except at T1 the mobs at level 62, so obviously they have more HP and hit a bit harder.  Actually, there is something about that…. sorta.  As you may have been able to tell from my own experience and from reading other blogs about NW — the leveling speed is very fast.  So fast, that on one of the dungeon runs a freshly 60 guildie cleric was along as “the 2nd DC” and he didn’t have Astral Shield on his bar.  At 1st this wasn’t an issue, since the single AShield from the other cleric was enough, but during a boss fight we started having some trouble, so we asked him why he wasn’t using it, and he said he didn’t have it slotted.  We asked him to do so please, so he did.  and every time he cast it it was. . . .yellow.  Still it gave enough damage reduction even without it being cast in heal-mode (blue) that we were able to beat that boss and move on pretty handily after that.

At the end boss of the dungeon we again ran into some trouble, so we asked him to start casting it blue instead of yellow.  He had no idea what we meant, so we said “Please use it in Divinity mode.”  He wasn’t sure what that was, but eventually found it on his tab key, toggled in, and promptly used up all his divine power on the attacking at-will laser beam, so when he went to cast AShield he didn’t have enough power, so… yellow it went.  It took a couple of times explaining it to him that he needs to toggle into Divinity mode, cast AShield, then toggle back out of Divinity mode, then use his regular attacks to build up more divine power again.  Once he got used to the idea he eventually got it, and everyone stayed alive on the next try, so…. I dunno.  On the one hand you would think that since you get Divinity at level 10 that you’d know how to use it by level 60, but on the other hand it felt nice to be able to help a guildie learn how to up his game too.

"Blue Mode"

“Blue Mode”

Speaking of Astral Shield, I have started working on my Cleric again.  I find that when solo my “30 to 49” build of Daunting Light, Forgemaster’s Flame, and Sun Burst works very well, and frankly I don’t need Astral Shield.  It’s nice to be able to do some damage while healing myself using FF.  When using Ashield, my dps output drops quite considerably.  That said… I’m also more or less invulnerable while standing in my blue circle too, so while it’s slower to kill things, it’s also safer.  Except the old build was just as safe vs everything except maybe instance bosses and did more damage, so…. while solo I’m still not using AShield.  I just don’t see the need.

The other toons are being neglected for now, but with the crafting and daily invoking I’m doing on them, the TR is 38, GF is 30, GWF is 27, and the 2nd CW is 16.  Everything’s coming along.  If (as is hoped) a new class or 2 is brought out with the “Official Launch” in a week, the 2nd CW will be deleted in favor of the new class, but until then….. there ya go.

Happy gaming wherever you are!

Posted on June 13, 2013, in MMO and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

