Dipping a Toe Back Into TSW

Tron Suit and Orochi Flamethower

Tron Suit and Orochi Flamethower

So a weekend ago TSW kicked off their “Gilded Rage” event with a double AP weekend.  I hadn’t played much in a while and was fairly close to my goal of filling out the skill wheel, so I played a lot that weekend.  Mostly ran through Transylvania doing all my “typical” quests, but also a lot of the ones that I recalled being hard and/or annoying on my 1st time through.  They weren’t so hard or annoying this time.  Probably due to me being in all purple gear instead of green and having a higher damage build now.  That helps 😉

Go me!

Go me!

But anyway, you can see the results of that weekend to the left there, and in case that outfit doesn’t “prove it” then perhaps this will:

I also participated in the “kill the golems” event.  With the event channel and the fact that there’s always a golem up *somewhere* it was easy to simply go from “Blingzilla” to “Blingzilla” with hardly a breather in between.  I tweaked a build so as to be able to heal myself when tanks would fail to impair the “Anima Leech” skill, equipped 2 Heal Rating talismans so that the heals would actually be effective and went to town.  And got bored fast.  Bored enough that I eventually turned on ACT just to see how badly I was helping the cause of dps and…. wait, I’m 2nd on the parser with a paltry 955 dps?  Yes, it would be higher without needing to take time out to heal myself, but even so…. it’s an okay-ish dps build, but it was made worse by un-equipping 2 attack talismans.  Of 100 people on the parse, only about 15 had dps higher than 500, and I checked the durations — the whole list was there for 80% or more of the fight.

Blingzilla the Loot Pinata

Blingzilla the Loot Pinata

Sadly, this means that I now know why so many people have trouble soloing in this game.  Can’t even pull 500 dps on a loot pinata?  Ouch.

Worse… doing the math.  100 people there before the zone is full times 900 dps (rounding) would be 1 million damage every 11 seconds, divided into the 17.5 million hp the golem has and…. less than 3 minutes, but the golems usually take 12-15 to kill.  /sadpanda

Burning down Pangaea

Burning down Pangaea

So anyway, that 1st weekend I got some flares, a bit of bullion, 3 pieces of the gold golem, the silver golem pet, and the gold bowtie.  This past weekend I killed enough golems to finish off the gold pet and a couple more sets of flares, and I think I’m pretty well done bashing the pinatas.  Though I kinda would like the glowing eyes, so I might need to bash a few more until I get lucky enough for that drop.

Tyrfang Sword from Polaris

Tyrfang Sword from Polaris

I ran a “beginner” PUG for Nightmare Polaris.  We had a very experienced tank who largely used a heal-tank build, so the healer who didn’t even have 7 HR talismans was still able to keep him up just fine.  One dps was utterly silent the whole run, the 2nd dps talked a bit here and there, mostly to crow about the 8-9K critical hits he was sometimes getting, and of course any time there was a death the healer talked and asked for advice on how to do better.  The tank was really good about being helpful.  I gave a few pointers here and there to the dps guy when he asked becuz, well….. I was doing double what he was.  One time he mentioned getting a good crit right after a boss fight, so I posted the parse for it into group chat and congratulated him on his 8K biggest hit that it showed.  I left it to him to look at the actual dps numbers and he did and then commented himself that he was surprised at how low his overall dps was.

Go into the light. . . .

Go into the light. . . .

I gave him some ideas of passives he can look for in the future and how to fit out his gear.  Not that I can really talk about gear since I’m still mostly in 10.1 and 10.2 dungeon drops with fairly random glyph stats.  I know what I need to do, I just don’t like endlessly repeating the same few dungeons for gear.  Never have.   Ah well.  Perhaps someday I’ll break down and do the Nightmare Dance and get myself up to “10.4.4” across the board.  We shall see.  As it was, I got the 10.2 sword Tyrfang from the Ur-Draug at the end, so it was a decent upgrade from my Relic of Razor House.  Plus I love that Orochi weapon design aesthetic.

Beauty and the Beast?

Beauty and the Beast?

In other news, I managed to finish off Issue #5 and Issue #6.  Issue 5 was kinda cool, especially the end where the alternate Kingsmouth maze had you running around, exiting through the junkyard, etc.  Wickedly awesome!  I also enjoyed Issue #6… up until the train section.  Holy annoying!  I really liked the “uncreated item paradox” they created too, where Said the Mummy gives you that scarab thingy, then you go back in time and Said the Still Living pickpockets it off you.

Happy gaming, wherever you may be!

Posted on September 17, 2013, in MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

