[TSW] Waiting for Issue 8

Agartha is filthy, a dragon is flying about, and I'm a study in nonchalance

Agartha is filthy, a dragon is flying about, and I’m a study in nonchalance

So now that I’ve completed the skill wheel and my SP’s sitting at 40, my AP’s at 175, what do I do in TSW?  The short answer is “Repeatedly grind out NM dungeons until I get all my gear to 10.4, then do the raid until I get it all to 10.5.”  My short response to that:  “Nuts!” I’m already in 10.1-10.2 gear, which is “good enough” so I don’t feel the need to grind anything to make it all “best of the best.”

Leech healer was having trouble vs Machine Tyrant, so asked me to Fist Heal instead.

Leech healer was having trouble vs Machine Tyrant, so asked me to Fist Heal instead.

As it is, I get on a night or 2 a week and join the “Noobmares” channel and try to run nightmares of the “18’s” variety, but I also don’t think it any big deal if I don’t get into one or if we only run a single dungeon either.  An IRL friend has been on a bit the past few weeks so we duo’d Issue 6 a few weeks ago and did Issue 7 last Friday.  It went faster this time.  Amazing how that happens when you a) know what you’re doing and b) combat is a lot faster with 2 people doing content designed for 1.

Progress in the current Whispering Tide phase.  Halfway there!

Progress in the current Whispering Tide phase. Halfway there!

So since I’m not a gear grinder who likes to endlessly repeat dungeons to get the best possible gear, especially when what I’ve got is already “good enough” this puts me into a holding pattern while I wait for the next phase of the Whispering Tide to get here (I also don’t like endlessly killing mobs for gear to break down for more materials. . . ), and then Issue 8 with the Samhain event (which as I pointed out last Halloween is not pronounced “sam-hane,” though I didn’t know

So you *can* dual-wield shotguns!  So long as you have a nice display bug, anyway. . .

Wow! You *can* dual-wield shotguns! So long as you have a nice display bug, anyway. . .

that until I looked it up myself — it’s actually more like “sah-win”) and the release of the new scenarios.  Those sound very interesting to me, especially the duo ones, and most especially for the fact that there will be some random elements in them so they won’t be exactly the same each time.  That should help to keep them fresh for a while yet.  And hey, if they award black bullion it will be a nice way to gear up without having to endlessly re-run 18/24’s.

And so. . . breath is bated for the Issue 8 release.  And happy gaming to all!

Posted on October 15, 2013, in MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Duel wielding shotguns would be awesome! 🙂 And gratz on using the correct “bated.” There’s nothing worse than baited breath. ;P

  2. I’ve gotta try out the noobmares channel. For now I’ve been slaughtering ice monsters to help advance the event. I’ll definitely be slacking off on that when Issue 8/Halloween hits.

    • The nicest thing about the noobmares channel imo is that you just say “DPS LFG 18’s” and don’t bother posting your stats. Everyone knows we’re all noobs, so nobody cares. Very refreshing after all the “HE group LF1M DPS, be 10.4.4 and have cleanup slotted” and whatnot you see in Agartha’s LFG channel. Plus you can see noobmares in any zone so you can be doing stuff on the side, not simply hanging out in Agartha.

Leave a Reply

