[TSW] More Samhain 2013

Bloodstained Bike Jacket, Bloody Grinning PumpkinHead.  And a halo, of course.

Bloodstained Biker Jacket, Bloody Grinning PumpkinHead. And a halo, of course.

So last night I was able to get on TSW and decided to spend the night killing SuperJacks and possibly do an 18’s run from the #noobmares channel, but my friend “J” got on and wanted to to the Samhain stuff for this year.  While he was loading in, I joined a SuperJack spawn, so once he loaded in he just did a Meet Up on me and got in on the action too.  There was a lot of SJ spawning going on, so I kept hopping instances through Meet Ups, and due to the vagaries of how TSW keeps groups together, when I’d change instances via Meet Up I’d spawn over at the nearest anima well, but since J was grouped with me, it’d then pop the message that he wasn’t in the same instance as “the group” and did he want to switch?  He’d say yes and it’d swap him in place, so he’d actually start hitting the new SuperJack right away while I was still running over from the Anima well.  Kinda funny little quirk of the game, I thought.

Anyway, since SuperJack’s AE’s only have about a 15 meter range, but a couple of the weapons have a 20 meter range, I was using a Rifle/Blood combo, and my friend went with Rifle/Elemental and we just stood at max range and plinked away with everyone else.  Most fights took about 7-9 minutes, with average dps from “everyone” totaling about 32K, or about 320 dps per person.  Depending on lag, I saw my own dps range from about 900-1200 and J in his blues was ranging from 550-900.  He’s going after GateKeeper again soon, and I think he’s going to be surprised at how easy it is for him this time.  Or so I hope. . . . he’s definitely got the gear and the build for it.

J's Halloween costume for the night -- Samedi outfit plus a facemask.

J’s Halloween costume for the night — Samedi outfit plus a facemask.

After killing SuperJack 3 times, I asked J if he’d gotten his update for the Samhain quest yet, he said he’d not picked it up yet, so we ran off to the Sheriff’s office so he could get it, but it wasn’t available…. he’d not yet gone to the treehouse.  So we ran to Madame Roget’s place and turned in his re-doing of last year’s quest, then we headed to the treehouse, got him started on the overall quest line, then back in to KM to grab the Jack quest.  Ran off the the pumpkin vendor where I got a Sinister and he got a Round, then back to where yet another SJ was being killed.  Got him his update, then grabbed The Hiker which sends you into Blue Mountain.  Off we went, and since there are 3 of the Samhain quests clustered up at the top of the zone, we got all them knocked out in quick succession.  Then ran to the Franklin Mansion and did the quest in the Moon Bog (and Billie’s Muse wasn’t up, darn it!), then because he’d never gotten the ak’ab rare that’s south of the mansion we ran down there looking for it.  Also not up, but at least he got the lore from the area.

I never realized how her facial expression changed when using Pistols.  I usually have a long gun or blade in hand, and her face stays neutral with them, but pistols. . .she's looks mad.

I never realized how her facial expression changed when using Pistols. I usually have a long gun or blade in hand, and her face stays neutral with them, but pistols. . .she looks mad.

Into Savage Coast and grabbed the one from the Bait and Tackle store that sends you right back into Blue Mountain, then back to SC yet again for the Groundskeeper.  An oddity for me in this one is that since nVidia updated their drivers recently, I also chose to let it set my TSW settings to what it determined were “optimum” so this time after we swigged the whiskey, I didn’t see the drunk screen effect.  I still had the debuff and thus glanced horribly vs the keeper, but with the 2 of us there he still went down quickly anyway.  Then J had to go afk for a bit and I noticed that while the gravel beach still looked stunning, the large rock textures were extremely fuzzy.  So I reverted to my old video settings.  I liked them better, and honestly didn’t notice much, if any, loss in my frame rate under normal play circumstances from being “non-optimal.”

J came back from afk, we bipped into Kingsmouth, grabbed the 2 quests you do completely in-zone, checked for the Dunwich Road Horror rare (and he was up!  Kingsmouth rares completed for me!) then grabbed The Hermit from Danny to send us back into Savage Coast.  Did that, and we were practically at the treehouse already, so back there (still no ak’ab king, but we killed the royal guard placeholder, at least) and while I couldn’t repeat the quest, J got his update, then back to KM and Danny for his final turn-in.  From opening the various Penny Dreadfuls, both the blues from the quests and the purples from the SuperJacks, I managed to score a lot of the new clothing items, so I was pretty happy with the night.  J got some clothing as well, which he was also pretty stoked about.  All in all a very fun night!

Posted on October 30, 2013, in MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

