[ESO] Surprise Beta Weekend

Bridge over Lava River as one enters a small town

Bridge over Lava River as one enters a small town

Since Zenimax Online posted in their recent AMA on Reddit that one simply needed to patch the existing beta client and then will be able to use it for the live launch next week, I’ve been periodically launching it to allow it to update.  Last Saturday evening it ran through a 4GB download and patched itself in.  For grins when it was done (I was playing Civ5 on my other monitor, so I could see when it finished) I hit “play” and instead of saying “No!  We’re not open yet!” it said “We’re testing our overflow servers for the launch.  Won’t be up long, but jump on in!”  So I did.

Out in all the lava.  It hurts pretty bad to fall in, but it's not insta-death, at least.

Out in all the lava. It hurts pretty bad to fall in, but it’s not insta-death, at least.

I jumped on my Nord Melee Tank Sorceress and started running around the Stonefalls zone.  Most of the mobs are only level 4-5 due to the rebalance to allow the tutorial skippers to be able to play in the area at level 3, so it was plenty easy.  The quests I did also rewarded what felt like a disproportionately large amount of XP for their lack of difficulty.  I’m assuming that this is also a part of the rebalance in order to shoot the level 3 characters up to about level 8-9 in a hurry so that they won’t be overwhelmed when moving on the to next area.  I also assume that the XP amounts for your levels are tweaked so that even those who do the tutorial and newbie zones will only be 1-2 levels higher than those who skip, so it won’t really be that big a deal to do those areas.  We’ll see once it goes live, I guess.

Level 8 stats with the sorcerer's tank buff running

Level 8 stats with the sorcerer’s tank buff running

As it was, when I went to log in, in gave me the choice of a 20-ish minute queue, or an immediate login to the overflow server, with the caveat that while on overflow there are a few chat/guild limitations and no pvp, so no going to Cyrodil.  It also said that any progress made while on overflow “counts” so when one logs into the “real” server in the future it will be seamless.  I hope this works well with their massive influx of players during the early access and week(s) post-launch.  Again…. we’ll see.

Level 8 base stats with white-quality player-made armor, after finding "The Lady Stone" and getting its armor buff

Level 8 base stats with white-quality player-made armor, after finding “The Lady Stone” and getting its armor buff

In the build going on then, the phasing bugs seemed to be gone, at least in the 1 quest I saw that had it before.  I was only only for about maybe 2 hours before the test ended, but I got to see how some of the add-ons that I installed worked (or didn’t, since the API for the add-ons got locked down this past week also, thus rendering many of them obsolete and/or unusable), and I made it from level 7.5 to just shy of level 9.  I got a few nice screenshots of the lava fields in the Stonefalls too, as you can see scattered through this post.

Seems that the Lady Stone's armor buff doesn't matter much.  Same stats here as in the initial self-buffed pic.  Oh well.

Seems that the Lady Stone’s armor buff doesn’t matter much. Same stats here as in the initial self-buffed pic. Oh well.

And that’s it  Just a fluffy little “wasn’t supposed to be a beta weekend, yet ended up being one anyway (sorta)” post while I wait for launch.

Posted on March 25, 2014, in MMO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

