[ESO] Sorcerous Weapon Swapper

Still got plenty more to do in the zone, though.

Still got plenty more to do in the zone, though.

I hit 16 on my sorcerer last night, and of course at 15 the ability to swap weapons comes into play.  I still don’t have a whole lot of skills, though, so my 2nd weapon bar is largely identical to the 1st, just with the different weapon and a skill or 2 from the weapon itself.  The character could use some weapon-based ranged damage, and since I’m building toward a stamina-based build and don’t actually have a lot in the way of a magicka pool, that leaves the various staves right out, and leaves me with bow as my only option.  Assuming I simply want the range.

I actually had a second to take an action screenie!

I actually had a second to take an action screenie!

Another option I’m considering is the 2H weapon tree since it has that nice charge early on, and does AE damage on regular weapon attacks (with passive) as well as the Cleave AE skill.  I’m kinda thinking that 2H to charge in, hit the AE to clear trash, then swap to my dual-wield to finish off a mini-boss might be more effective than using a bow.  I’ll have to experiment, methinks. I happened to have a looted fire staff on me when I hit 15, and it was every bit as powerful as on any of my other characters.  But I prefer to play this character as a rogue more than a wizard, so a staff just doesn’t fit in with my concept of the character.

I quite enjoy the Storm Atronach model.  well done art dept!

I quite enjoy the Storm Atronach model. Well done, Art Dept!

One of my guild stores had a nice green level 16 bow with a disease enchant on it for nice and cheap so I bought that and ran out to look for some mobs to kill.  Spent a point in Poison Arrow and slotted it in, but never used it.  I was more interested in testing the “full draw” heavy attack opener.  It did a bit over 100 damage normally and I got a crit for 162 once as well, so that was kinda nice.  Means it’s about the same damage as my Crystal Fragments for now, but would be better from stealth as the spell.  Also means I could do a stealth full draw, follow on with Poison Arrow for the dot, and then close to melee range.  Could work. . . . Yes, that was me talking myself into it instead of the 2H 😉  For now, anyway.  The 2H does still sound like it would work well, after all.  I’ll have to try it too, but I’ll give the bow more time 1st.

Skyshards are kinda hard to miss at night

Skyshards are kinda hard to miss at night

I also did a lot of running around, didn’t necessarily finish quests if something shiny on the horizon distracted me, so I’ve still got plenty to do in Glenumbra before moving on to the next area.  I managed to take on a level 7 2-dot gold border bear in one of the “world boss” locations.  Between me and my atronach, we make a good team.  I even got it to the point I could morph it.  Both morphs looked nice — 1 makes it do more damage with an “as is” duration and health, which the other keeps the damage the same but gives a nearly 50% increase in duration and health, meaning it can tank those nasty elites for me for longer while I do the stabbity death thing in its back.  So I flipped a coin and ended up choosing the increased duration.  I can always respec later, after all.  But yeah…. lots of wandering, so I’ve still got plenty of holes in the map if I want to let my completionist tendencies get to me before moving on.  And… I do.  It’s how I’ve lways played MMO’s — I like to find everything I can before moving on.  ESO’s kind of a dream come true for me in this regard 😀

Explosions vs Undead.  No idea why they're happening, but I'm not complaining either

Explosions vs Undead. No idea why they’re happening, but I’m not complaining either

Something else I noticed in my travels last night — I’m an undead slayer.  I have no idea why but I would notice that undead would often die much earlier in my attack rotation than the amount of hit points they had would indicate that they should.  I started paying close attention to my combat scroll and noticed that vs undead I would often have a proc of “explosion” that would fire off for 127 points of damage.  I have absolutely no idea why either. I don’t have any passive abilities that say they should do this, not even in the Fighter’s Guild section which is, of course, devoted to undead and daedra slaying.  I haven’t noticed this proc vs daedra either, though — only vs undead.  On the other hand, I haven’t really been anywhere with a large daedra population recently to give me a good test sample either.  Looks like yet another thin that I must test. . . .

Dang.  Lightning form is simply insane as a defensive buff.  Look how far over the soft caps it takes me!  Red numbers show how many "actual" stats over the cap it takes to get to the number due to the diminishing returns, so it's not a flat arithmetic number.

Lightning form is simply insane as a defensive buff. Look how far over the soft caps it takes me! Red numbers show how many “actual” stats over the cap it takes to get to the number due to the diminishing returns, so it’s not a flat arithmetic number.

For grins, I decided to put my character into the esohead.com skill calculator to see how far along I am, and I was surprised to find that at level 16 I’d already spent 31 points — nearly 2 per level.  And I’ve still got 3 more skyshards to find in Glenumbra, so there’s another point right there just waiting for me to walk over and get it, which would take me to 2 points per level.  Not bad…. not bad at all.  And I just looked over it again and realized I didn’t put the point I have in the Soul Summon for the free rez every 2 hours, so I’m actually already at 32 points.  Go me!

These above-ground, bio-luminescent croal formations looked really nice.  Again -- good job art dept!

These above-ground, bio-luminescent coral formations looked really nice. Again — Well done, Art Dept!

Since my goal now is to get a character from each class up to 15 and the ability to weapon swap, I then logged in to my nightblade.  Took the wayshrine over to the city of Ebonheart and began working quests there.  Ran into a few I’ve not yet done on my DK, so… fresh content in Stonefalls!  Woo hoo!  Yes… only 3 factions, but 4 classes, so someone’s gotta repeat.  Such is life, right?

And again -- GREAT job, art dept!  I don't normally "do" landscape shots, but this one got me.

And again — GREAT job, Art Dept! I don’t normally “do” landscape shots, but this one got me.  The lava, the water, the anchor in the background….. yeah.

Anyway… for now, the nightblade is far more powerful as a single-target killer than an AE one, so I tend to try to hit each mob in a group with the Soul Swallow to tick the HoTs on myself and then burn them 1 by 1.  It usually only takes that Soul Swallow, 1 heavy attack, 1 light attack, and then I can finish them off with Impale.  Or if they’re melee and they close with me, then I can sub in a Fire Clench for the heavy attack.  It costs magicka, but not a whole lot, so it’s worth it to do since that knockback and stun also means that there’s less hitting me, after all.  Only played on this character for about 40 minutes, so while I made a good dent in the xp meter, I didn’t quite make it to 12 yet.  Tonight for sure. . . .

Happy gaming!

Posted on April 9, 2014, in MMO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

