[ESO] Scattered Thoughts after a Nice ESO Weekend

DK is supposedly the "tank" class, but these stats are all wizard.

DK is supposedly the “tank” class, but these stats are all wizard.

I managed to get in a lot of play time this weekend.  How much?  Enough that my formerly level 14 Dragonknight is now a level 27 Dragonknight and working on the Shadowfens zone.  I also ran 2 more mules through the tutorial zone to get them to level 4 with the 40-ish lockpicks you can get in there.  And my former alchemy/enchanting mule has simply become my Alchemist.  I hadn’t done any alchemy on my main and didn’t want to have to spend the points when I’ve already got her struggling to be able to fill her planned build while also spending points in 4 other crafts, after all.

Fun quest had turned you into these sprites and you had to avoid the ghosts to get to the next area of the dungeon

Fun quest had turned you into these sprites and you had to avoid the ghosts to get to the next area of the dungeon

The Alchemist character is merely level 8 from adventuring, but is already level 27 as an Alchemist.  Alchemy as a profession only “needs” 13 points to cap out, after all, which only needs level 9 or 10 — assuming that you then go and respec your points, anyway.  Considering that one can either teleport to a guild member in the city you need, or that mob density tends to be fairly low and the roads tend to be quite safe — that’s my plan.  And while my DK has gotten to level 11 enchanting, I think my new enchanting mule character will take over enchanting duties as well.  Enchanting needs 16-19 points to cap out and I’d rather use those points in my adventuring build right now.  It’s more than enough points being taken away by the 3 “hard” crafts, as Blacksmith, Clothing, and Woodworking have become known, without further adding in a 4th skill.  They each need about 16-19 themselves (eventually), and that’s just too much to deal with in the mid-levels, methinks.

Skyshards and Ordinator Statues

Skyshards and Ordinator Statues

Something that surprised me is that once I got into the 20’s on the DK, the leveling speed actually seemed to increase.  I was simply playing along, seeing the sights (and the sites too), finding out how everybody is a victim of the past in this game, it seems and Ding!  Ding!  Ding!  I have my XP showing on screen all the time due to an add-on, but I was still surprised at how quickly it was climbing and how quickly the levels were rolling in.  I’m not complaining — I don’t mind gaining in power and getting more of my build loadout filled in, it’s just that given how slowly the 1st levels went and traditionally higher levels take longer, it was a surprise.

1 dead world boss and me with no health missing.  Flame Staff CC is very overpowered.  Not that I won't take advantage of it while I can ;-)

1 dead world boss and me with no health missing. Flame Staff CC is very overpowered. Not that I won’t take advantage of it while I can 😉

I’ve seen some other bloggers mention that as you get higher in level that the mobs stop coming singly and start coming in 3-packs more often, and it’s requiring them to re-tool their builds or their gear a bit in order to handle the challenge.  Fortunately for me, I’ve been building toward an AE build from the get-go, so a 3-pack of mobs isn’t any different to me than a single mob, really.  Although I’ll admit I usually swap to my 2nd weapon for solo kills since that weapon bar is filled with single-target and self-heals/defense.  Intended for use vs boss-type mobs that can’t be controlled.  Controllable bosses just need the fire-staff and Flame Clench skill and you’re done.  Yes, I do foresee a nerf to that soon. . . . .

Medium armor?  Check.  Bow?  Check.  Khajit race?  Check.  Nightblade?  Nope!

Medium armor? Check. Bow? Check. Khajit race? Check. Nightblade? Nope!

I manged 4 dungeons this weekend — Spindleclutch on my Daggerfall Covenant Khajit Sorcerer with House Stalwart, and then the DK did all 3 of the mid-20’s dungeons with a guild group from Gaiscioch.  Something I found interesting was the differing tanking styles.  Belghast was our tank for Spindleclutch and he’d do the chain yank that DK’s have on a healer mob so we could focus it down, and as he’s noted, generally the mobs do come in a few at a time, not all at once.  Since my sorcerer really doesn’t have any AE capabilities yet (though the next couple of levels will see 2 AE skills being added in . . . ) this was very useful.  I found that charging in as melee with my dual-wield tended to get a few mobs on me, which could get a bit scary at times, since the tank doesn’t necessarily grab all the mobs in the way that this game is played, so I tended to stay back and plink away with my bow and spells taking out the high priority mobs 1st.  It also enabled me to more easily avoid the pbae’s that the boss mobs like to cast as well.

A few of the things I did this weekend. . . .

A few of the things I did this weekend. . . .

Conversely, the mid-20’s group the DK was in was more AE focused.  The tank was a DK that swapped between a Fire Staff and a Sword-n-Board.  What we’d do is he’d charge the whole group and I’d be about 5 feet behind him.  We’d both use our Elemental Blockade skill to lay down a sea of fire that all the mobs would be in.  They’d charge him since he was closer and had hit them 1st and he’d pop a Burning Talons, which I’d then hit the Impale synergy on.  Meanwhile behind us the healer was tossing heals to keep the tank up, the sorcerer would drop a Lightning Flood to add more AE damage, and then I’d drop my own Burning Talons and the mobs would now all be dead.  I can’t wait until I get the Impulse skill in Destruction Staff, as it will amp up my AE abilities even more.  Skill 34 now, only 4 more to go. . . .   But yeah, it also worked very, very well.  nice to see that multiple approaches can work.

This is plenty long now, and I got a lot of screenshots this weekend, so I’ll quit typing and just put in all the pretty pictures.  Sorry about all the numbers, but that’s the only way I know in WordPress to be able to chain captioned pictures without intervening text.  Happy gaming!

1

I got the Wabbajack!  Too bad I couldn't keep it :(

I got the Wabbajack! Too bad I couldn’t keep it 😦

2

I love the color palette in Coldharbour

I love the color palette in Coldharbour

3

OTOH, Coldharbour is rather gruesome

OTOH, Coldharbour is rather gruesome

4

I don't recall where this was, but I thought it was gorgeous

I don’t recall where this was, but I thought it was gorgeous

5

Unexpectedly Desert!

Unexpectedly Desert!

6

The aftermath of repelling a Daedric Anchor

The aftermath of repelling a Daedric Anchor

7

This was in Spindleclutch.  Unexpectedly pretty for a spider-infested dungeon, I thought

This was in Spindleclutch. Unexpectedly pretty for a spider-infested dungeon, I thought

8

The city of Mournhold is quite imposing from this angle

The city of Mournhold is quite imposing from this angle

9

The big bad of Darkshade Caverns

The big bad of Darkshade Caverns

10

Screenshot 2014-04-13 13.31.07

The big bad of Wayrest Sewers. This effect is the warning she’s about to turn into a swarm of bats.

11

The Earth Forge

The Earth Forge

12

This is where you end up after completing the Deshaan zone.  I liked the architecture a ton.

This is where you end up after completing the Deshaan zone. I liked the architecture a ton.

Posted on April 14, 2014, in MMO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Level 14-27 in a weekend is EPIC. My ‘main’ is still 14; stupid real life getting in the way all the time.

    I have an enchanter mule who is having a heck of a time making progress because I can’t find any of the level 1 round runestones (is that aspect? The 3rd one when you’re making a glyph). Any tips on finding those?

  2. Oh man you are so much further ahead than me! I can’t wait to check out some of the later dungeons!

  1. Pingback: [ESO] Enchanting Leveling Strategies | Nomadic Gamers

Leave a Reply

