[ESO] Level 49 and a Screenshot Dump

My Friend's Nightblade

My Friend’s Nightblade

Last night a co-worker had begun playing in the Aldmeri Dominion, so since I have a level 4 alt there as well, I popped in and played a bit with him.  When I logged in, he was level 4 and running about Khenarthi’s Roost trying to get a 1H weapon drop or enough drops to be able to buy a level 4 weapon so he could dual-wield.  This couldn’t stand!  I popped back on to my pyromancer and crafted him (and my own character) a full set of level 4 gear, including 2 green swords for him and a green greatsword for me (which puts me above the damage softcap for the level, amazingly enough).  So there he is to the left, a dark elf dual-wielding nightblade, in all his leather-bound glory.  Though to be helpful to his skill leveling, I made him a set with 5 medium pieces, a heavy chest piece to maximize armor, and a light belt to minimize armor loss by using light.  But he’ll be leveling all 3 armor types simultaneously, at least.

My Imperial Dragonknight Tank

My Imperial Dragonknight Tank

We bipped about in Khenarthi’s Roost for a while.  I’ve done it before several times in the various beta weekends, so I just let him lead where his quests took him, grabbing them as he did.  It was a little interesting being grouped with the phasing.  We’d keep phasing in and out to each other, which was a little odd.  It was especially egregious in this one tomb where you have to place 4 crystals, which then stops a series of lightning attacks on you.  I placed 4 when he’d only placed 3 and so I phased forward and while I could still watch his group carat moving around, he was gone until he got his 4th crystal placed, and then he phased back into existence for me.  I understand why it happened, but it was still odd to see it.

While "freeing the mage" you have to gather his life force, stamina, and magicka.  this is what they look like swirling around you.

While “freeing the mage” you have to gather his life force, stamina, and magicka. this is what they look like swirling around you.

Since we were massively overpowering the content and I was jonesing to get back to Coldharbour on my main, I showed him around Mistral so he could find the bank, merchants, crafting stations, etc, then I swapped over.  I finished up the “free the mage” portion of the main zone quest and got a skill point and a nice blue sword for my efforts.  From there I headed back to the city and then out to the west to do the “free the king” part of it and oh THERE are all my level 44 and 45 mobs that are next in line to progress from the level 43 mobs that finished out The Rift zone.

For all that Coldharbour is full of gruesome stuff like this, it's surprisingly mob-light, with full cities of NPC's and such.  Molag Bal doesn't seem to have quite as crushing a grip over his domain as he wants you to think. . . .

For all that Coldharbour is full of gruesome stuff like this, it’s surprisingly mob-light, with full cities of NPC’s and such. Molag Bal doesn’t seem to have quite as crushing a grip over his domain as he wants you to think. . . .

I ended up clearing out the southwestern part of Coldharbour, which quests picked up in the area seemed to be prerequisites for freeing the king anyway.  Dinged 48 and 49 both in the course of the evening, so I’ll probably hit 50 and VR1 tonight to boot.  I’m looking forward to it!

***

I went through something of a screenie drought for a while.  Found myself really only taking shots when I’d pop an achievement, since well… if  you don’t want to give out quest spoilers to anyone reading you can’t really get into specifics, and while yes the zones are awfully pretty, landscape shots are simply that “pretty” but not necessarily interesting.

That changed in a big way over this past weekend, but none of the shots really highlight anything I’ve been talking about, so I’ve got a ton of screenies that I still want to share, so…. screenshot dump!  As a warning, some of the screenies are spoilers for certain quests, so if you care about spoilers, then avert!  This is, 30-ish pics, and it’s only about half of what I’ve got backlogged, so…. another dump will be coming, but this is plenty for today.

Happy Gaming!

Completing an anchor

Completing an anchor

Same anchor, 2nd achievement.  No idea what it's for either.

Same anchor, 2nd achievement. No idea what it’s for either.

Dwemer ruin south of Riften

Dwemer ruin south of Riften

The final part of an anchor going away

The final part of an anchor going away

World Boss achievement

World Boss achievement

Yes, I've found a lot of treasure chests

Yes, I’ve found a lot of treasure chests

Another World Boss

Another World Boss

This quest had environmental effects.  you'd die if you didn't sprint between fires.  The frost on the screen helped you to know "It's really cold here!"

This quest had environmental effects. you’d die if you didn’t sprint between fires. The frost on the screen helped you to know “It’s really cold here!”

 

A dying hagraven

A dying hagraven

Skyshard!  And an achievement too.

Skyshard! And an achievement too.

Mini-dungeon completion achievement

Mini-dungeon completion achievement

World Boss.  As you get higher in level they tend to come in groups and/or call adds so you can't solo them anymore.

World Boss. As you get higher in level they tend to come in groups and/or call adds so you can’t solo them anymore.

A nice looking barrow

A nice looking barrow

I liked that skyshard's placement with the mammoth skull

I liked that skyshard’s placement with the mammoth skull

Another world boss kill

Another world boss kill

Mini-dungeon

Mini-dungeon

I usually don't take shots of anchor finishes, but I thought this achievement name was funny

I usually don’t take shots of anchor finishes, but I thought this achievement name was funny

An anchor finishing up.  Maybe I lied in that last caption. . .

An anchor finishing up. Maybe I lied in that last caption. . .

Skyshards are like Pokemon -- gotta catch 'em all!

Skyshards are like Pokemon — gotta catch ’em all!

Yup.  Skuldafn.  I'm playing Skyrim again!

Yup. Skuldafn. I’m playing Skyrim again!

Skuldafn is laid out identically to what I recall in Skyrim

Skuldafn is laid out identically to what I recall in Skyrim

The portal back to Skuldafn from Sovngarde.  Psychedelic!

The portal back to Skuldafn from Sovngarde. Psychedelic!

The Ebonheart Pact leaders affirming their alliance with treasured artifacts

The Ebonheart Pact leaders affirming their alliance with treasured artifacts

Yup, another world boss kill

Yup, another world boss kill

Ding!  That's why I took it, not that the anchor was getting done.  That's my story and I'm sticking to it!

Ding! That’s why I took it, not that the anchor was getting done. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

Still another world boss

Still another world boss

I don't recall where I took this one, but I think it has to do with the Fighter's Guild quest line

I don’t recall where I took this one, but I think it has to do with the Fighter’s Guild quest line

Fighter's Guild complete!

Fighter’s Guild complete!

Nice floor lighting from the chandelier.

Nice floor lighting from the chandelier.

Goold old Shalidor

Goold old Shalidor

Eyevea is very pretty

Eyevea is very pretty

I like the in-game art.

I like the in-game art.

Mage's Guild complete!

Mage’s Guild complete!

Yes, I was "evil" and chose the option that got me 2 skill points

Yes, I was “evil” and chose the option that got me 2 skill points

Posted on April 29, 2014, in MMO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

