[ESO] Level 50/VR1 and another Screenie Dump

Ding 50!  er... VR1!

Ding 50! er… VR1!

So there I am, playing along in Coldharbour and ding 50!  Except there actually isn’t a level 50.  You go directly from level 49 to Veteran Rank 1.  Interestingly enough, there is level 50 gear which is different than VR1 rank gear, and an enchant good for 45-50 is not usable on a VR1 piece either.  You get a nice email explaining that now that you’re “a veteran” that to continue to get xp toward your level you need to go play in PvP or in the Veteran zones.  And yeah, killing monsters in Coldharbour was no longer applying xp toward my level, though the xp amounts were still adding in to my skill levels, at least.  Turning in quests would give Veteran XP too, though, so it wasn’t like finishing Coldharbour up (which is necessary to get the quest to go into the VR zones anyway) was “wasted time” either.

A Helpful Dremora that you run across several times

A Helpful Dremora that you run across several times

Even so… I need 456,000 Veteran XP to get to VR 2 from VR1, and in the veteran zones a mob kill is worth 42 VXP, while quests give anywhere from about 1000 to 3500 VXP on turn-in, depending on the quest.  Going from 49 to 50 needed about 146,000 “regular” xp and I could get over 1000 xp from a single 4-second fight, plus quest turn-ins were in the 3-4K range.  So… VR levels are going to come slowly, which makes sense since going through an entire 2nd faction is only supposed to give you 4 levels (taking you to VR5) and then doing the 3rd faction’s entirety will get you to VR 8 or 9, with pvp and dungeon runs taking you up to the full VR10.  And of course after the Trials come out, VR12, eventually. . . .

The screenie doesn't capture it well, but I really like the light-refraction of this magical shield during this fight

The screenie doesn’t capture it well, but I really like the light-refraction of this magical shield during this fight

Anyway, I finished up Coldharbour and I have to say I rather enjoyed how as you took checkpoints that the areas behind you became “safe” since your forces were holding the ground.  The NPC’s in your final battle while in Coldharbour actually weren’t completely useless either, which was a pleasant surprise.  And since I’d been kinda planning on swapping to use a 2H weapon as my swap instead of 1H + Shield, getting a level 50 2H sword as a quest reward in there was nice too, and I’ve got my 2H skill up to 20 from 6 in just a couple of hours.  You’d think that the Vet zones gave a lot of regular xp for your skill levels or something 😉

With the mega buff, you can simply blast through walls.  Nice effect!

With the mega buff, you can simply blast through walls. Nice effect!

After leaving Coldharbour you get the quest to get your soul back so you won’t be “the Vestige” anymore.  That involves getting a mega buff which made running through all the trash to get to Molag Bal quite fun, since they all died in 1 or 2 hits.  Basic light attacks were doing 1300-ish damage, and class abilities quite a bit more.

Fighting Molag Bal

Fighting Molag Bal

Molag Bal had about 360,000 HP, so even with the boost, he took a while to get down to the quest completion threshold (which was not a kill – you really think you can kill a Daedric Prince?!?!?!?!!?  )  The fight was actually fairly easy.  Don’t stand still and you don’t get hit much, just circle-strafe him.  He calls a bunch of adds at one point, but they die fast since you’re all buffed up.  So long as you’ve got some sort of self-heal and maybe a few healing potions it shouldn’t be bad for anyone.  I think I popped 3 potions in the fight, and used Green Dragon Blood as my self-heal (which heals a percentage of my missing health, so it’s not actually a huge heal) and by the end I’d figured out his patterns so I wasn’t getting hit by him at all anymore.  FWIW, ranged helps a lot.  Getting in close he likes to do a stun/knockdown combo on you.  It doesn’t hurt much, but it’s annoying.

Vestige no more!  And who was overdosing on the 'shrooms when they designed this zone?

Vestige no more! And who was overdosing on the ‘shrooms when they designed this zone?

So yeah, I beat him, got my soul back, then got told that cleaning him out of that portion of Coldharbour and hurting him badly is actually somehow to his advantage, and…. on to the Veteran Zones!  For me it’s the Daggerfall Covenant zones, and I’m currently running through Stros M’kai at VR1 fighting VR1 mobs, gathering VR1 materials, etc.  And VR1 is a significant jump up in difficulty from the level 49 mobs I was fighting in Coldharbour.  They have about a 60% HP increase, so they take quite a bit longer to kill, and they’re hitting harder too.  I used to be able to do a 3-pack of mobs with a rotation of Elemental Blockade, Burning Talons, and then 2 shots of Elemental Ring and finish up with health at about 80% or higher.  Now it takes about 5-6 shots of Elemental Ring, and I’m more like 30-40% health when done with a 3-pack.  So far I haven’t seen this much-complained-about-on-the-forums thing where in VR content “everything’s a 3-pack so it’s too hard to play if you aren’t built for maximum AE.”  I’m extremely familiar with Stros M’Kai from running it many times in the betas (and also on my 2 DC characters post-launch) and the mobs all appear to be as they always have been, just they’re VR1 level now.  Perhaps when I get to Glenumbra?  Or is it just whiny people?  We shall see.

I’m digging the use of the 2H weapon, though I can see why the 1H + shield may be preferred overall.  Invasion does the charge and knockdown in a single instant-cast skill, where 2H separates the charge and the knockback into 2 separate skills, and the KB has a 1-second cast time to boot.  On the other hand…… with the skills being separate (and the 2H is a knock*back* where the SnB is a knock*down*) I can charge in, apply my dot while the mob is gathering itself, get the KB off, use lava whip to set it off balance  and since the KB actually puts it far enough out I can charge it again while it’s getting up, then since it’s off balance from the whip, a heavy attack knocks it back down… and it’s usually dead or just needs 1 more hit while on the ground to finish it off.  And I took maybe 1 light attack of damage in return, so… it works nicely.

Anyway, that’s my progress update, and here’s a lot more screenshots from the dump file.  As before, some shots are spoilers, so don’t look if you don’t want to spoil the story for yourself.  Happy gaming!

Due to the guards, I thought this door was cool enough to take a picture of, even though... it's a door.

Due to the guards, I thought this door was cool enough to take a picture of, even though… it’s a door.

A Sage getting her official title in The Rift zone

A Sage getting her official title in The Rift zone

Yup, I still take shots when I get an achievement.

Yup, I still take shots when I get an achievement.

The name is the same, but it's just nothing like the Skyrim dungeon.

The name is the same, but it’s nothing like the Skyrim dungeon.

This achievement popped while I s looking at my map, so hey.. there's my harvest map and skyshard add-ons at work for you ;-)

This achievement popped while I s looking at my map, so hey.. there’s my harvest map and skyshard add-ons at work for you 😉

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

I've seen this armor around and really liked it.  finally asked someone what it was:  Sorcerer class's Bound Armor skill.

I’ve seen this armor around and really liked it. I finally asked someone what it was: Sorcerer class’s Bound Armor skill.

Ding 45!

Ding 45!

Abner Tharn joked that Mannimarco's prjection is so big he must be compensating for something

Abner Tharn joked that Mannimarco’s projection is so big he must be compensating for something

Mannimarco showing off what he plans to do to Molag Bal

Mannimarco showing off what he plans to do to Molag Bal

Lighting a fire at a shrine to enable me to break a ward later

Lighting a fire at a shrine to enable me to break a ward later

Incongruously gorgeous tree in an underground crypt full of undead

Incongruously gorgeous tree in an underground crypt full of undead

Incongruously gorgeous little clearing in the crypt

Incongruously gorgeous little clearing in the crypt

Mannimarco in that clearing before a fight vs his minions

Mannimarco in that clearing before a fight vs his minions

That ward I needed to break

That ward I needed to break

Me breaking the ward.

Me breaking the ward.

Nice effect to show it breaking!

Nice effect to show it breaking!

Mannimarco after his defeat at my hands.  Notice this flat surface?  It gets cratered shortly.  Wish I'd thought to take a shot of the "after."

Mannimarco after his defeat at my hands. Notice this flat surface? It gets cratered shortly. Wish I’d thought to take a shot of the “after.”

Molag Bal reaching through to claim Mannimarco after his defeat.  He punched down through the anchor, and this is what cratered the ground.  I thought it was really cool to show how powerful he really is like that.

Molag Bal reaching through to claim Mannimarco after his defeat. He punched down through the anchor, and this is what cratered the ground. I thought it was really cool to show how powerful he really is like that.

Bye bye Mannimarco!

Bye bye Mannimarco!

Posted on May 1, 2014, in MMO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great pics! It is such a gorgeous game. Wow, gratz on the VR1! I only made it to 17 with two characters before we took our ‘break’, heh. I still want to share a ton oh screens and write up some thoughts on the game. I had so much fun, I hope they smooth things out soon.

Leave a Reply

