[ESO] Weekend Update and More Screenies

A grinding group in the Cliffs of Failure.  Names all looked real, but they were strung in a line like it was a bot multi-box setup.  They didn't interfere with my questing at all, fortunately.

A grinding group in the Cliffs of Failure. Names all looked real, but they were strung in a line like it was a bot multi-box setup. They didn’t interfere with my questing at all, fortunately.

My melee sorcerer is level 48 after the weekend’s play sessions.  Something interesting to me with this playstyle is that it’s slower to take out groups of mobs than the DK pyromancer is, but on the other hand it’s so very survivable due to the heal-on-strike I get from the Critical Surge skill that most elite/boss mobs don’t give me any pause at all, while the DK sees a boss or elite (assuming it’s not cc’able, anyway) and I kinda go “ugh, a boss mob.  This is gonna be rough. . .”

I remembered to take a shot of it this time:  Flat Ground where Mannimarco stands

I remembered to take a shot of it this time: Flat Ground where Mannimarco stands

As an example:  Bangkorai’s public dungeon is a bit different than the others I’ve seen in that it starts with smaller groups of mobs and lulls you into thinking it’s more like a solo dungeon, though eventually the mob groups do go up to the 6-7 trash mobs you’d expect in a public.  Anyway, I fell into an open trio during one part of the quest in there and we were tearing things up, but then we finished the quest that the 3rd person needed, so he peeled off, while I and a DK went back to try finishing up the “main quest” of the dungeon.  It’d been quite easy so far, so when the next mob in the chain was a mini-boss with over 10K HP that actually hit pretty hard, it was a bit of a surprise.  Up until then the DK’d been running in 1st and I’d come up behind and do the stabbity death thing and we’d just mow the things down.  But this time the DK went down almost immediately due to a large attack the mob had.  Even so, I was able to work on him and stay alive while the DK rezzed and then I held aggro while he added dps and we beat it.

Less flat ground, and Mannimarco ain't standing no more.  Too bad there isn't more deformable terrain outside this scripted encounter.

Less flat ground, and Mannimarco ain’t standing no more. Too bad there isn’t more deformable terrain outside this scripted encounter.

From there we had to go into another room and click on something.  I thought we were done with fighting since we’d already killed the boss, so while the DK was rummaging in his pack for several minutes, I went into the next room and clicked the thing. . . .and another boss with over 10K hitpoints came out.  And I soloed it, without much in the way of difficulty at all.  Where I think had I been on my DK, even with Green Dragon Blood that it would have been either a very near thing or I wouldn’t have been able to do it.

Bangkorai's Final Boss - Selima Tharn.  Yes, she's relater to Abner.

Bangkorai’s Final Boss – Selima Tharn. Yes, she’s related to Abner.

Something else kinda fun — for the final “zone quest” in Bangkorai, as you fight the final boss she periodically teleports away and summons in 32 adds.  Yes, 32.  2 4×4 blocks of them in phalanxes.  Fortunately, they are “weak” and only have 1/2 the hp of a normal mob so they go down pretty quickly, and even more fortunately, they do what Belghast calls the “kung fu movie style” where only a couple (4 in this case) come at a time so you never get completely overwhelmed.  Except the 2nd time adds were called it apparently bugged out, so all 32 came at once.  Lot of circle strafing around rocks and pillars so they couldn’t all come at once, plus I tend to use Absorption Field as my ultimate, so I could catch large numbers of them in it, and the melee mobs would get stuck at the edges of it while the archers were LOS’d behind the big rocks, so while it was a bit panic-inducing to see the whole mob coming at me, it actually wasn’t bad.

One quest in Coldharbour turns you briefly into this monkey

One quest in Coldharbour turns you briefly into this monkey

So anyway, Bangkorai’s done and I’m nearly 2/3 done with Coldharbour now.  I hit 48 shortly before logging out last night, and the final 1/3 of Coldharbour will easily take me to 50/VR1, methinks.  I’ll most likely get there in the next day or so, and then it will be time to work my Aldmeri Dominion alt.  😉  Yes, as always, I don’t suffer from alt-itis, I enjoy every minute.

And now the screenshot archive dump.  ‘Ware spoilers and all of that:

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

There's a boss mob in Alik'r Desert that a preliminary mob spawns and then is supposed to summon the boss, but it's kinda buggy and people often kill the prelim mob anyway.  This is us waiting for it to spawn.

There’s a boss mob in Alik’r Desert that a preliminary mob spawns and then is supposed to summon the boss, but it’s kinda buggy and people often kill the prelim mob anyway. This is us waiting for it to spawn.

And while I was in my chair, others decided to come pretend to build the chair under me.

And while I was in my chair, others decided to come pretend to build the chair under me.

A nice oasis in the desert

A gorgeous oasis

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

I do like the smoke pillars when anchors are destroyed

I like the smoke pillars when anchors are destroyed

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

I still love how everything looks in Coldharbour

I still love how everything looks in Coldharbour

Anchor being destroyed in the distance

Anchor being destroyed in the distance

One of the southern cities in Alik'r Desert

One of the southern cities in Alik’r Desert

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Running through a desert ruin

Running through a desert ruin

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Semi-friendly harpies in 1 village.  The quest line for that hub is to drive out the thugs who've made the harpies turn against the village.  Was a fun line to do.

Semi-friendly harpies in 1 village. The quest line for that hub is to drive out the thugs who’ve made the harpies turn against the village. Was a fun line to do.

Getting one of the Ashwei (sp?) wards as part of the overall zone quest

Getting one of the Ashwei (sp?) wards as part of the overall zone quest

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Nice desert shot, including a rift

Nice desert shot, including a rift

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

Achievement spam

The nereids look fascinating, methnks

The nereids look fascinating, methinks

Finishing up Alik'r by restoring the ward

Finishing up Alik’r by restoring the ward

and proof of alik'r being "done" ;)

And proof of alik’r being “done” 😉

Posted on May 19, 2014, in MMO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

