[ESO] Faffing About

Yes, I’m borrowing Belghast’s term for playing games.  He can sue me for plagiarism if he wants 😉

My new Breton Sorcerer at level 6

My new Breton Sorcerer at level 6

This past weekend I got my melee sorcerer to level 48. Monday night I logged in, but since IRL issues were making me often have to AFK, I didn’t play that character, but instead looked at my character list and realized…. I don’t want an Imperial Dragonknight tank, I want an Imperial *Nightblade* tank that leverages the Siphoning Attacks skill later on, so the level 6 DK got deleted and re-made.  And then I looked at my level 11 Nightblade “warlock” and thought it was a bit too similar to my level 20 nightblade healer – they’re both casters, after all, and the healer’s using a destruction staff as secondary and for soloing anymore, so is essentially a “warlock build” when on its second bar anyway.  I still wanted a caster-type, though, so it was deleted and re-made as a sorcerer.  This one will be a pure nuker, though, using the Warmage build as a guide, since as Mogsy has noted — heavy armor looks REALLY awesome, and the guide writer in that Warmage thread indicates that it’s still easy to cap out the magicka stats even in heavy armor, so….. going for the looks as well as the functionality!

So anyway, the 2 characters were created and I’ve been “faffing about” on them since and actually kind of avoiding my melee sorc since knowing myself once I hit VR1 I’ll probably shelve him for an alt anyway, so I’m not actually in a big rush to get the final 2 levels on him.  If I do that I’ll feel “done” with him, and I like him enough that I don’t want to feel that way about him yet, if that makes any kind of sense.

My only screenie (so far) of my new Nightblade Tank

My only screenie (so far) of my new Nightblade Tank

The faffing about on these 2 characters has got the nightblade to level 6 and the sorcerer to level 8.  They’ve both been run out to their respective re-spec cities and respec’d skills past the “useless” 1st skills in certain lines but which you have to take in order to get the lines to begin advancing, plus they’ve both found their Mage mundus stones for the magicka boost.  And of course they’re both “twinked out” in crafted level 6 gear.  The tank is using 1H + shield, so has 9 slots and so I ran my crafter around to 3 different crafting spots in the world so he’s got Ashen Grip for the very slight damage proc on melee, Seducer for the 3% magicka cost reduction, and Torug’s Pact for the +100 armor (which has taken him WAY past the armor softcap — that’s good for a tank, right?).

Gaining the Mage mundus stone effect

Gaining the Mage mundus stone effect

The sorcerer I simply did the Seducer set for the cast-cost reduction.  I’ll eventually get her Warlock set jewelry once she’s high enough, plus as a Breton she’ll eventually have the racial cost-reduction as well.  As it is, she’s already at magicka regen cap, and with the mundus stone buff and a full set of white magicka enchants she’s only 6 points off the magicka softcap either, so it looks like even from the get-go, this “warmage” is able to cap out magicka in heavy armor without hardly trying.  Since she’ll be a “pure nuker” but carrying a restoration staff mostly, she can also regen magicka from heavy attacks if needed as well.  She’s even found enough lore books to be Mage guild level 2 and already running Mage Light for the hefty crit bonus it provides.

All in all, I’m quite happy with both of these characters so far, even at such low levels.  The NB is a “new class” (if I ignore my healer, anyway) and is in the Aldmeri Dominion where’s I’ve not yet quested, so he’ll more likely be the next alt I play through, though I’ve also got a level 18 Aldmeri Templar (completed Auridon and is a little bit in to Grahtwood so far) that might be the way I go instead.  Time will tell how it plays out after I get my Khajit to Vr1.

Happy gaming!

I’m including a slight screenie dump, but just to show that on the melee sorcerer, since the Bound Armor conceals what he’s wearing underneath, I’ve been making different looks for him as he’s leveled up that I only really see on the logon screen.  At level 46 I went Breton and *hated* it, so I used my ability to convert anything to the Imperial look (yay for edition abilities, right?) to change it.  And while I’m not to sure about the Mercury wings on the helm, the rest I really like for that suit.  Any suggestions in the comments for which motif I should use for Vr1?

Khajit Leather, Level 26

Khajit Leather, Level 26

Dunmer Leather, Level 30

Dunmer Leather, Level 30

Orc Leather, Level 36

Orc Leather, Level 36.  The face clipping is supposedly being fixed in today’s Craglorn update

Bosmer Leather, Level 40

Bosmer Leather, Level 40

Breton Leather, Level 46

Breton Leather, Level 46

Imperial Leather, Level 46

Imperial Leather, Level 46

Posted on May 22, 2014, in MMO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. scarybooster

    Very cool keep up the faffing! I’m working in my Nightblade too. I think he’s 6.i need to stop the Faff and get back to series gaming to get my main to 50.

  2. My Nightblade is also sword & shield and heavy armor wearer (level 20, my highest level dude). I had no idea he could be a tank.

    • I’m going with the featured “Shadow Knight” build from the official page, though with perhaps a few tweaks here and there from various NB Tank threads in the Nightblade Theorycrafting section of the Tamriel Foundry forums as well.

      It looks like it will be a lot of fun once I get the build down. As it is in the early levels he’s a pretty standard “low level NB” who just happens to be in heavy armor with a 1H + shield instead of in leather and using dual wield or a bow. But…. eventually…….

      • I started my guy in leather since it seemed to fit the “nightblade” class but eventually I switched to heavy since, as so many have said, it kind of looks cooler.

        I hadn’t seen that Shadow Knight page. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

