[ESO] Working on the Caster alt

At level 20 I went back to the Breton armor look, but the light stuff didn't go well with the breastplate, so I converted to Imperial.  The right-most psrt is that at 26 I went back to the Bosmer look.

At level 20 I went back to the Breton armor look, but the light stuff didn’t go well with the breastplate, so I converted to Imperial. The right-most part is that at 26 I went back to the Bosmer look.  I like the scaled armor they do.

Since my last post, my main got enough traits researched for me to craft the Seducer 3-piece and Magnus 5-piece set bonuses while using a 5/1/1 light/medium/heavy armor configuration.  I like to run this configuration in order to level all 3 armor skills up simultaneously, plus using the chest piece as heavy gives a slight armor bonus over going all light, plus I think it looks better than a robe too.  I put the medium piece on the head and then hide helmet so it doesn’t have to “work” with the outfit at all while also providing a slight armor boost.  Not that I really get hit much on the caster since caster = range and I can usually kill most things before they get into melee.  Since my main weapon is the restoration staff to take advantage of the 10% damage bonus to my spells and I like to keep Rapid Regeneration ticking all the time as a result as well and, well. . . . armor isn’t really too big a consideration due to the additional “heal mitigation” to boot.

Lightning effects are quite well done, IMO.

Lightning effects are quite well done, IMO.

Most solo kills only take 2 spells and 1 heavy attack, so combat is nice and quick, so leveling was very quick, and I went from 16 to 27 this weekend, and I didn’t even play on Friday night or most of Saturday due to an IRL fundraiser I was attending that day too.  It was actually something of a struggle to complete green quests in my journal before they turned gray.  Not that gray quests don’t give xp — they give full xp, actually — but I still like to at least try to pretend I’m working “at level” if that makes any kind of sense.  Curse my completionist tendencies, right?  But anyway… combat is fast, and I know better what I’m doing now, and this is my 2nd (kinda 3rd since the NB healer is also DC, but hasn’t finished Stormhaven yet) time through Stormahven, and it’s going fast.

Almost done with Wayrest Sewers.

Almost done with Wayrest Sewers.

An oddity, to my thinking, is that while I’m soloing as a dps nuker, I got into a group that did the 3 early/mid 20’s dungeons and I was the healer.  I mean… I’m already using the healing stick anyway, why not actually use the healing skills on it too, right?  Between Rapid Regeneration and Illustrious Healing, that was really enough to handle most of the healing, and the people I was grouped with were good players and it they took a spike of damage they’d pop a potion since there’s no real “snap heal” in the restoration staff line.  I had Combat Prayer slotted as well, but it’s not really a big heal, and is more of a defensive armor buff.  It still helped, but I wasn’t casting it that often either.  As it was, we only had 1 death in the 3 dungeons — no wipes at all, so it went very well.

Making an enemy of Vaermina as I free High King Emeric from her grasp

Making an enemy of Vaermina as I free High King Emeric from her grasp

So the caster sorcerer is now level 27 and has completed the Stormhaven zone and is moving on in to Rivenspire.  The quests there are already green from the get-go, so it will be interesting to see as I work on her if I’m able to get those played through and if the quest levels will actually go yellow on me again.  Time will tell.  In the meantime, I’m having a blast as a ranged caster on this run-through.

Happy gaming!

Posted on June 2, 2014, in MMO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. How do you get the glowing eyes??

Leave a Reply

