[ESO] New Templar

Tried out the Redguard look, but the fugly green of the light armor in the low levels clashed horribly with the breastplate, so -- disguised!

Tried out the Redguard look, but the fugly green of the light armor in the low levels clashed horribly with the breastplate, so — disguised!

While I am enjoying playing my caster sorcerer in the Veteran ranked content, I’m still wanting to work on a Templar and also do more with one of my Nightblades (healer or tank, haven’t decided yet).  The non-mule templar I have was level 18 but spec’d as an AE-only glass cannon for mob grinding.  Which is very boring to me.  And even with the grinding I did on it (more or less right after launch, so a while ago) I was still barely level 18 when I got in to Grahtwood zone.  This past weekend I decided that rather than re-spec’ing the existing Templar that I’d simply delete and make one from scratch.  As my template I used the single-target dps bar of the “Mage-plar” and once I hit level 15 and got weapon swapping, I added in the skills I could glean from a video I saw of a VR5 templar soloing VR11 mobs in Craglorn, so the 2nd bar has a 2H weapon on it with Cleave morphed to Brawler for the damage shield.  Still working on the various other skills since they tend to be the higher-level ones.  I’ll get them… eventually.

The keeps in Cyrodil are suitably imposing

The keeps in Cyrodil are suitably imposing

As it is, I got from level 1 to level 26 over the weekend, and have “done it all” in both Auridon and Grahtwood (except for 2 bugged quests in Auridon and 2 world bosses in Grahtwood).  And I was level 18 before getting to Grahtwood without any grinding.  Take that, AE-Grind build!  I’ve got a more well-rounded build this time, I think.  I have good ranged damage, also have some good heals and defenses so I can take some hits, plus I have decent AE when needed as well, so I could still do the AE grind thing if I really wanted to (not that I do).  I was just shy of 26 when I finished up Grathwood and headed in to Greenshade.  Fortunately, the second you zone in to that zone you’re in the zone’s main city, so I was able to do the breadcrumb quest, then do the Mage’s Guild, Fighter’s Guild and then I chained the level 20 and level 25 main story quests as well… and that took me to 26.  But it was then 1 am and I didn’t feel like crafting my new gear right then, so I went to bed instead.

Completing the Banished Cells -- 1st time here on any toon.  Yay for new content!

Completing the Banished Cells — 1st time here on any toon. Yay for new content!

Something I’ve noticed when playing as a caster-Templar is that it’s a little harder to put together a build that levels “everything” at the same time as it is for the other classes.  My general leveling strategy with a caster is to use 1 skill from each class line (to level them up simultaneously), a weapon skill (since it gives a big boost to how fast your weapon levels up over simply using the weapon), another skill to work on, Mage Light/Inner Light, and an ultimate.  Except I only have 6 slots and that takes 7.  The ultimate is a class skill though, so it serves double-duty and gets you back to 6, and leaves you with a nice viable build… for the 3 non-Templar classes, anyway.  With the Templar…. I’m muddling through, but the builds aren’t always “optimal.”  I’m often putting my healing class line Ultimate in just to let that class line level since I don’t have space in the rest of the bar for a skill from that line unless I want to make life quite difficult for myself.  Grahtwood has a surprising number of 3-packs in it as well, so without a decent build it can be a bit interesting, at times.  OTOH, I soloed a world boss last night that had 7600 HP and finished with full health, full stamina, and about half magicka…. with my only CC being the short pushback that Biting Jabs has on its final hit.  So I guess it does work well enough, it just doesn’t “feel right” at times, if that makes any sense.

Redguard light still was oddly colored at level 20, but converting the legs, gloves, and boots to Imperial gave this not-awful look

Redguard light still was oddly colored at level 20, but converting the legs, gloves, and boots to Imperial gave this not-awful look

In news of other toons, my DK “main” has been re-specc’d to a full crafter now since I really haven’t been taking her out to play with lately.  She still had enough points left over to put together a nice adventuring build too, but her crafting has gotten a nice boost.  It costs a lot less of the temper material to upgrade anything anymore, I’ve got nice things being mailed to me each day by a hireling for each of the 3 crafts, and I’m even sometimes seeing purple and yellow tempers drop simply from refining raw materials.  All in all a very welcome boost to my crafting.  In case you wonder — blacksmith 45, clothing 49, and woodwork 44.  I’m “this close” to having 6 traits researched for every item, and for the smaller woodworking skill, everything’s got 7 traits and I’m working on the 8th for 3 of the 6 items.  A little under 10 days left for them, then time for the other 3, then I can re-spec out of the research points for woodworking.  Not that I plan to any time soon.  It’s 12,300 gold to respec that character right now.

I've been trying to catch this moment of the teleportation spell effect for some time now, but it goes quick.  Finally got it!

I’ve been trying to catch this moment of the teleportation spell effect for some time now, but it goes quick. Finally got it!

Anyway, I hope all is well out in gamer-land, and happy gaming!

Posted on June 30, 2014, in MMO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

