[ESO] Templaring It Up

At level 30 my heavy armor skill was as high as I "needed" so I swapped to full light armor and went Altmer style this time.  Love all of it except the hip pieces, but that's just ESO armor for you.

At level 30 my heavy armor skill was as high as I “needed” so I swapped to full light armor and went Altmer style this time. Love all of it except the hip pieces, but that’s just ESO armor for you.

Yes, “templaring” is totally a word.  No really…….

My Templar is level 36 now and has finished up Grahtwood, and Greenshade, so has now moved into the zone of Malabal Tor.  Most quests are already green as I pick them up, so for grins I dipped a toe into Reaper’s March and the mobs there seem to start at 39, so I can already take them on easily enough, meaning that I could theoretically completely skip my current zone.   Not that I will, but I find it kinda funny that I “could” when it still seems like I’m seeing a constant stream of forum threads that say “I’ve explored everywhere and done every quest and everything’s orange to me so I’m stuck. . . . ”  Reminds me of SWTOR when I actually *would* skip zones while leveling and yet people’d still be making the same claims.  My Vanguard Trooper I skipped 2.5 zones while leveling in order to keep myself merely “at level” when I started on Hoth, and I still hit 50 after barely getting to Corellia.

At 36 tried out the Redguard light, but wasn't feeling it, so converted to full Imperial instead.

At 36 tried out the Redguard light, but wasn’t feeling it, so converted to full Imperial instead.

In the case of ESO, though, even hitting VR1 while in Coldharbour doesn’t make a difference though, as you’ll still be VR1 when you fight Molag Bal and move on to the veteran zones anyway.  I’m curious to see how they’ve tweaked the leveling curve on it since the devs posted that they were starting tweaks with today’s downtime.  If I had to guess, I’d say the removed the masssive jump in mob HP between level 49 and the VR1 mobs.  Going from 1400-ish to 2000-ish in a single level is rather huge.  OTOH, I’ve never really found it obnoxious since I felt like I could faceroll the mobs with 1400 HP, so jumping them to 2000 made the game feel more normal-ish, in that fights actually meant something other than “loot/xp pinatas!”

Really liked the look of this costume, though it too has ESO's funky hip pieces that flap all over when you run.

Really liked the look of this costume, though it too has ESO’s funky hip pieces that flap all over when you run.

Anyway…. this high-level discussion is currently not applicable to me since the templar’s still “only” 36.  At 34, I joined a group that was simply doing random dungeons.  The 31 Nightblade said she was the tank and wore heavy armor, but she seemed to really just use single-target attacks and a 2H weapon, which doesn’t include a taunt, so I was tanking a lot of bosses since I ended up as the healer.  It seemed like the Extended Ritual plus Rapid Regeneration was more or less all the healing that was needed, with Breath of Life as a good “oh snap!” button.  I had the healing Ultimate slotted as well, but never actually used it, so probably could have tossed the Nova Bomb one in there instead.  In my 4th slot I had Blazing Spear since it a) does targeted AE damage, which is useful against the trash swarms and b) the rest of the group can “pick it up” for some stamina so it’s useful for “support/healing” to boot.  The final slot was dedicated to Inner Light since critical heals are wonderful to have.  Current crit rate is 40%, so I get a lot of nice crits.  Worked out quite well, I thought.  We ended up running through the 1st 2 tiers of dungeons, and since I’d not done any of the 2nd tier I got a few skill points there, though they were so low that none of use really got any loot or xp other than the quest that also gave the skill point.  Was still much fun.

Level 26 for the nightblade.  Nord style!  Didn't really like the fur trim on the legs and "pirate boots" so I converted those 2 pieces to Imperial and like the result a lot better.

Level 26 for the nightblade. Nord style! Didn’t really like the fur trim on the legs and “pirate boots” so I converted those 2 pieces to Imperial and like the result a lot better.

Once I hit 36 on the templar, I’m not sure why but I had a sudden hankering to play my nightblade healer, so I logged it in and got it from 24 up to 27 and finished up the Stormhaven zone.  Since it’s playing as a caster rather than as a melee character, I respec’d it to use pretty much just the “wizard” skills that are affected by spell crit rather than weapon crit.  Even so, a nightblade “wizard” still has to rely on the Destruction Staff a lot for damage.  But since the “destrostaff” has some nice skills baked in, it works out just fine (plus if I need to heal myself I the restoration staff is just a keypress away. . . .).  Even so, I found myself missing a lot of the templar’s versatility/utility at times, yet also found myself to be having a blast playing it too.  Only real “downside” was that it’s a Daggerfall Covenant toon, so it’s working through stuff I’ve already seen 2x before, so a part of me is thinking “done this before” while the other part of me goes “means I can do it faster since I know right where to go!”  And hey, I can take out an elite troll mob before it can even close the gap to me with no CC, so the dps seems to be all right, so…. no complaints in the general sense.  Couldn’t do that on any other toon without some hard CC, after all.

Happy gaming, wherever you are!

Posted on July 7, 2014, in MMO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

