[ESO] Templaring it Up Even More

The VR1 Equipment Upgrade -- Daedric Motif staff, and Primal Light Armor.  Other than the open-toed sandals I quite like the look.

The VR1 Equipment Upgrade — Daedric Motif staff, and Primal Light Armor. Other than the open-toed sandals I quite like the look.

And yes, “templaring” is still a word.

Due to IRL illness I had 2 days off work.  Since my wife monopolizes our bedroom during the day I couldn’t really sleep it off in there, so I played ESO instead.  I’ve determined that the Templar is the most overpowered PVE solo class out there.  One skill shuts down spell casters and makes them kill themselves, another skill more than softcaps your spell resist and armor while regenerating your magicka, all while you’ve got 2 HoTs stacked on yourself, an emergency heal waiting in the wings, and you’re simply mowing things down in AE with the “lame” skill of Biting Jabs.  And a 50% spell crit rate, at least until the set bonuses are changed in the next major update, at which point it will be 46% instead.  I know… the reason it’s considered a “subpar” class is that its single-target sustained damage in PVE dungeons is only about 70% of a DK or Sorcerer, and in PvP the (channeled skill) Biting Jabs can be blocked or interrupted (though there are strategies for PvP that don’t use BJ at all that I’ve read do very well, so who knows?  I still really don’t PvP, so I only know what I’ve read there).

Caster Sorc in her VR2 Golden Saint Costume

Caster Sorc in her VR2 Golden Saint Costume

OTOH, since they get some nice heals in their Restoring Light class line and passive heal bonuses which stack with the Restoration Staff bonuses, it does make them into excellent healers.  They do lack a reliable magicka regen skill other than the Resto-staff’s built in 10% back on heavy attack and/or  the Spell Symmetry skill from the Mage’s Guild line, but if healing you can drop a couple of stacking HoTs and then you can do whatever you need for the next 16-20 seconds before you need to refresh them.  Swap to Destruction and help with dps, refresh magicka with heavy attack channels, toss in a Blazing Shards to help the melee folks regenerate their stamina while also helping AE down the trash…… Yeah, I’ve been bit by the Templar bug pretty hard.  It seems to have it all.  Offense, Defense, Heals, and Support.  All in a single package.  Perhaps the “not so good” perceotion is simply jack-of-all-trades syndrome?

1st time I've seen this bug, so of course I had to take a screenie for posterity.

1st time I’ve seen this bug, so of course I had to take a screenie for posterity.

I finished up Malabal Tor and Reaper’s March.  In my last post about the Templar I mentioned RM mobs seeming to start at 39.  I was wrong, they start at 36.  And I was 42 when I got into the zone, so parts of the zone were gray when I got there and it was actually a little rough trying to get around to the areas that had mobs that weren’t grayed out for me after I got a level or 2 under my belt in the zone.  I was actually in the upper part of level 47 when I finished the zone too, so everything in the zone was gray except for a few level 42 crocodiles I found in the extreme NE corner of the map.  Oddly enough, every humanoid mob in the area was 41 and gray, but the crocs still gave xp.  And then in Coldharbour everything was level 44 to start.  Where are the level 43 mobs?

As much as the steep cliffs force the whole "you can't get there from here" thing and artificially increase the zone size...... dang, that elven forest is pretty.

As much as the steep cliffs force the whole “you can’t get there from here” thing and artificially increase the zone size…… that elven forest is pretty.

Not that it matters.  I’ve done CH enough now that I know the “optimal path” to go, so I blasted on through.  Got to 49 in the SW corner, then hit VR1 in the SE corner, so finished the Cliffs of Failure and the public dungeon simply for the quest completion VXP turn-ins, then headed on to assault the Chasm.  I planned to just do the main zone quest story line, but my completionist tendencies got the better of me, so I went and “did it all” anyway.  Then I finished off the zone, then completed the main story by taking down Mr. Bal yet again, and on to the Ebonheart Pact to begin my veteran journey.

Of course the Khajit architecture is quite impressive too.  This is just a good looking game, no matter the style.

Of course the Khajit architecture is quite impressive too. This is just a good looking game, no matter the style.

It’s been long enough since I’ve played EP that I only vaguely remember any of Stonefalls.  For me, the freedom to go anywhere in the zone without having to worry about graying it out is a big plus.  No longer worrying about “will this aid me or not?” for leveling up my skills — now I’m free to explore, hit up spots I don’t even remember at all in the SW portion of the map, drop what I’m doing to port across the map to help with a dolmen call or world boss… And oh yeah, I hit VR2 after doing maybe 2/3 of the zone, and it represented…. as far as I can tell absolutely no change to my character.

1st Person Skyshard Absorption

1st Person Skyshard Absorption

I’m one of those that doesn’t believe in upgrading your gear at every level, and since the VR1 to VR3 gear changes are minimal at best and the enchants are identical… I just don’t see the point to upgrading until I hit Vr4.  As it was, I skipped my typical level 46 upgrade so I jumped from level 40 gear to VR1 when the time came for that, as I was “playing on along” and was already level 48 before realizing I’d forgotten to upgrade at 46 and it didn’t seem worth it to upgrade for just a level or 2 before I’d be upgrading yet again.  You don’t get a skill point with a VR level either, and I didn’t notice my spells doing any more damage with VR2 vs Vr1, plus I know that the game treats anyone who’s any VR level as “50” becuz you can go grind the level 46 mobs in Coldharbour to level skills up even as a VR12 (well…..I’m told), so based on that, it seems the ZOS doesn’t really think the VR levels mean much either.

I even got to do a brief stint with Sigvar the Axe!

I even got to do a brief stint with Sigvar the Axe!

I dunno…. to me, this is now “the real game.”  I learned how to play, which skills I want on my bars all the time, which ones to swap in at times, etc, all during the 1-49 game, and now that I’ve hit VR and the power curve went flat… now I can explore.  Now I can play this as “a multiplayer Elder Scrolls game” rather than “an MMO set in the world of Elder Scrolls.”  I just don’t get the people who complain that the VR levels are “a wall” or “a grind fest.”  For me, the VR levels are finally the “level-less, go where you want” TES experience.  I truly hope that the “improved VR experience” that’s “coming soon (TM)” won’t change it too much.

Dunno why, but I *love* the ash column in this shot

Dunno why, but I *love* the ash column in this shot

Anyway, happy gaming, no matter which game(s) you play!

I thought this shot turned out so well that I just had to include it after the post too :-P

I thought this shot turned out so well that I just had to include it after the post too 😛

Posted on July 15, 2014, in MMO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

