[ESO] Captain Bones Dies Again

Swimming down the river

Swimming down the river

So there I was, exploring the banks of a river at the edge of the Shadowfens swamp when I saw a ghost.  Captain Bones had 20K hitpoints, and he was carrying a sword so I thought “if he’s controllable, I can just do the Fire Clench + Heavy Attack combo on him.”  So I hit him with a heavy attack, he ran over, and I Fire Clenched him back.  Nice!  Easy free kill!  Except that when he hit about 50% health he called a mage and a tank in as adds, and they had 17K and 20K health themselves.  Did I mention that they hit hard?

Messing around with my lute while waiting for people to come help with a dolmen

Messing around with my lute while waiting for people to come help with a dolmen

After I rezzed and ran off a little way, I put out the call in zone chat that Cap’n Bones was up and more people were needed.  No one responded in zone or tells, but before long a VR6 Nightblade showed up.  A couple more calls for help in zone yielded no results, so we decided to give it a try as a duo.  I swapped into a more heal-oriented build, and the NB pulled the mage over to us with his bow.  We got it down about halfway and then Cap’n Bones and the tank add aggroed, with predictable results.

Yellow domes and blue flames, with skeletons and clannfears running around -- and those are just the players. . .

Yellow domes and blue flames, with skeletons and clannfears running around — and those are just the players. . .

We both popped back up, and pulled the mage again, but took him around a little rock outcropping that we’d been fighting next to so that line-of-sight would be broken.  This worked, so we killed him and the other 2 didn’t add.  Nice!  So we pulled Cap’n Bones over and when his health was about halfway down, he re-summoned the mage and the tank also came running over.  And down we went again.  We rezzed again, pulled the mage past the outcropping, then pulled the tank over there too, then Cap’n Bones was on his own, so we went after him in place… and at about half health the adds got summoned back yet again.

Cap'n Bones Destroyed!

Cap’n Bones Destroyed!

Pulled Cap’n Bones around the outcropping.  Killed him without trouble since I kept 2 rolling hots up at all times, plus the NB had Funnel Health going too.  Pulled the mage around the outcropping.  Killed him too, though he actually swapped aggro around a few times.  After the mage was done, since we’d determined that it was only Cap’n Bones that called the adds back in, we killed the tank in place.  Achievement obtained!  And now I know how to deal with his adds and kill him again in the future. . . . .

***

Level 20 Daedric Leather, green quality.  Who thought it was a good idea to majke the leather blue and the cloth underpinnings green?  Gotta find me a costume to cover this up. . . .

Level 20 Daedric Leather, green quality. Who thought it was a good idea to majke the leather blue and the cloth underpinnings green? Gotta find me a costume to cover this up. . . .

My NB “tank” character is level 22 now (up from 21) and due to the way that actual armor rating doesn’t mean much of anything and blocking is “where it’s at” for a tank, I swapped him into Medium armor for the crit rate and for the stamina boosts from the passives, as those help blocking more than heavy armor’s small passive block cost reduction.  I don’t plan to focus on him any time soon, though, since there are the crafted set changes coming up, and I’m trying to get my enchanter up in level and that’s best done with disassembling the higher level glyphs I’m getting as drops with the templar, but it was fun to muck about with the character a bit.  Enough to get another level on him, anyway.  But until the set changes are completed, I doubt I’ll be giving this toon any more thought.

***

Even a swamp can be pretty sometimes.  Who knew?

Even a swamp can be pretty sometimes. Who knew?

I’m about halfway done with Shadowfens now — maybe a bit more — and I’m about 85% of the way to VR4.  Each VR level needs an additional 456K xp on top of the prior level (so VR2 needed 456K, VR3 needed 912K, now VR4 needs 1368K, etc) but each new zone also bumps the amount of VXP awarded by quests by the % needed to make it such that the higher numbers don’t actually mean anything.  Makes it such that each VR zone gets you up 1 VR level in order to take on the next zone.  When this all changes to the new “champion system” who know what it will mean then?  Gonna be interesting times ahead.

***

Ain't that the truth?  If it's not on page 1 of Google, it might as well not exist.

Ain’t that the truth? If it’s not on page 1 of Google, it might as well not exist.

I briefly logged into TSW the other night too and began the quest series to send me to Tokyo.  Haven’t actually finished that yet due to IRL stuff making me have to turn the game right back off but…. hey!  I’m making progress at actually playing something other than TESO again 😉  It was nice the hear KG’s acerbic wit too.  She gets the best lines!

 

Posted on July 30, 2014, in MMO and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

