[Blaugust] [WoW] 10 Years 10 Questions

It's kinda hard to see, but there's a Sandhill crane in the middle of this

It’s kinda hard to see, but there’s a Sandhill crane in the middle of this

I’m back from my trip to the Yellowstone area, and even though I had a 5 Mbps DSL connection there (prior years were 512K, so I didn’t expect it to be that good)…. well, I did game some, but it was mostly Civ5 so I could be up and about at a moment’s notice to play outside and whatnot.  The daystar doesn’t burn. . . . .  much.

Anyway, the laptop I was borrowing from work was able to run ESO at a pretty constant 20 FPS, but that was just choppy enough that I really only logged in for my hireling emails on my 2 crafters and to do the daily horse upgrades.  I did muck about with the dyes a bit and I’ll have a post later in the week with some shots of how my look has changed on some of my characters.

***

Since “everyone” is doing it — there’s this survey for anyone who’s played WoW over at this site and while I answered it at their actual survey site, not here, I still thought I’d post what I answered (more or less, since I don’t have it to copy/paste so this is from memory 😛 ).

1. Why did you start playing Warcraft?
Buncha IRL friends were playing so I bought it to play with them.
2. What was the first ever character you rolled?
Undead Priest.
3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?
Friends were playing Horde, so I did too, but since I’m an inveterate altoholic, it wasn’t long before I had toons in both factions.
4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?
Getting spawn-camped by a mob in a cul-de-sac graveyard in a zone that I’d wandered into that was too high a level for me.  The thing was in the graveyard, so I couldn’t even use my hearthstone to get out — it’d aggro and kill me before the cast time was completed, and since the graveyard was a cul-de-sac in the zone wall with just the single exit and WoW doesn’t (didn’t?) have a sprint function I couldn’t run away or sneak around it either.
5. What is your favorite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?
Nothing about WoW really grabbed me, so I only played it for about 2 weeks in vanilla and then for another week in BC so I could try out the Dranei and Blood Elves.  As a result, I can’t really say anything about it was “a favorite thing.”
6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?
Didn’t play it long enough to really know where anything was.
7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?
Real-time play was less than 3 weeks, and I had a bunch of alts.  Got 2 characters to level 14 or 15 and the rest might have made it to 7 or 8.  Can’t imagine the /played was very long on any of them.
8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?
Quests have text?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?
No.  Can’t say anything was “wrong” with the game, it just didn’t trip my trigger to want to play it either.
10. What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming?
None whatever.  Again… didn’t play it much.
***
And there you have it — my limited WoW experience.  Happy gaming!

Posted on August 11, 2014, in General, MMO, World of Warcraft and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

