[Blaugust] [ESO] Alchemy is very easy to level

NB Tank under the effects of the Absorb Magic skill

NB Tank under the effects of the Absorb Magic skill

My incurable alt-itis is hitting me pretty hard in ESO and I’m wanting to start on a new DK to play as a non-caster.  Well, Dual-Wield / Fire Staff, and in light armor, so still magicka based, but using completely different skills than on my original DK — having the Dual-wield being my primary weapon, rather than the staff, which I’ll use when I need AE or some range.  Problem is:  I have 2 sorcerers in the VR levels, a templar in VR levels, and the other templar is my enchanter and I am *not* deleting that character for anything, since Enchanting as a craft is a ton of work (though the upcoming patch doubling the xp gains when working on it will help a lot), then I’ve got my NB Healer and NB Tank, and of course my main crafter is VR1 DK…. leaving me only 1 character I’d consider deleting — the alchemist.  Level 8 sorcerer, level 50 alchemist.  But I don’t need 3 sorcerers —  8 slots, 4 classes, that’s 2 of each, right?

I'd forgotten how silly the Dunmer cultural garb is, but hey, gotta have a reason for the Pact emissaries to call the greeter wearing it the court jester, right?

I’d forgotten how silly the Dunmer cultural garb is, but hey, gotta have a reason for the Pact emissaries to call the greeter wearing it the court jester, right?

So…… I swapped my crafter to using her pack horse to increase inventory space to 150, then dropped all the crafting materials the alchemist was holding into the bank for her to use.  Had her grab them all to clear out the bank again, took the wayshrine to Mournhold and hey!  They moved the wayshrines to be in more convenient locations!  Awesome!  But anyway, re-spec’d her skills (only 50 gold per point now instead of 100, so it felt a ton cheaper) to completely remove all combat skills and focus her solely on crafting.  Since I’ve researched everything in Woodworking now, I even got to save myself the 3 points in the research skill in that line, so nice little bonus.

I then ran over to the alchemy station and leveled Alchemy from 6 to 50 in about 45 minutes.  Yes, alchemy really is that fast to level up (as noted in the post title).  I used an add-on to guide me through finding all the various combos, then turned it off and simply crafted using the “crap” materials that I had multiple stacks of.  Crap materials are defined as the ones that give no real benefit that anyone cares about on a potion, so out of the 17 materials, that’s about 12 of them.  There are 3 “awesome” ones, and a couple of “good” ones, but the rest are “crap.”  But that’s neither here nor there, just means that I had a lot of “useless” mats to use to grind with.

Keodan the Alchemist is no more.  Oddly enough, I took this as a "before" picture when dying his armor to not look this silly, but I never took an "after" picture.  Oops!

Keodan the Alchemist is no more. Oddly enough, I took this as a “before” picture when dyeing his armor to not look this silly, but I never took an “after” picture. Oops!

And now my DK is a 50 Woodworker, 50 Blacksmith, 50 Clothier, and 50 Alchemist.  Go me!

After that was done, I deleted the old level 8 sorcerer and made a new DK to level up.  I re-used the name from the sorcerer since it’s a name I like, and hey, I knew it was free. . . . .   The new character is a male Dunmer (I’m going dual-wield on a fire-using class, and Dunmer get bonus xp for DW and bonus damage with Fire.  The race is simply made to be a DK. . . .).  I decided to make him old, craggy, tattooed and bald to give a more “experienced and perhaps a bit jaded” roleplay vibe to the character.  I think he looks quite awesome.  Sadly, I didn’t take any screenies of him last night as I wanted to wait until I hit level 6 and actually made some gear for him, but… soon.  Probably tonight, actually.

Posted on August 20, 2014, in MMO and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I never thought I would find anyone that had an alt problem worse than I do, but you sir win.

    Also, DK class AOE or multi target spells + Dual Wield is AWESOME.

    • Well, my 1st character to hit VR1 is a DK, and I went out of my way to look for the 3-pack mob groups to kill with it (something I’ve not done on any toon since), so I know about what you speak with DK’s being awesome at AOE.

      Back in the beta weekends, I was doing a DW DK and I loved it, but wanted to do the “full pyromancer” build once the game launched, so…. now it’s time for me to go back to my roots of what I fell in love with in the beta.

  2. I wish Enchanting levelled as quickly as the other crafting types especially provisioning and alchemy.

    As for the alts I’m almost about to reroll one of my characters, it’s so frustrating only having 8 slots, may have to use the 8 on the NA megaservers soon.

    • Enchanting is getting some reworking with U4. Hopefully it speeds things up some. I am holding off on my enchanter until after U4 anyway.

      • My enchanter is level 33, which can make up to VR9 enchants, so I’m “fine” so far as being able to craft for myself, at least, since I’m only VR4 for my top character. FWIW, you can craft to max level with only level 40 in enchanting, so there’s no need to get it to 50 either.

        Even so, it’s still annoying to see how glacially slow its advancement is compared to any and all other crafts, expecially when you take into account that I’ve leveled 4 characters into the VR levels and they’ve always dropped every run they found into the bank for the ‘chanter to use for decon.

        The patch notes I read indicated that they’re doubling the crafting xp you gain for deconstructing, so that will help. I just wish any quality other than white would drop so you had a chance for higher gain for decon and a chance for a nicer aspect rune also.

Leave a Reply

