[Blaugust] All the cool kids are doing it

Some are defunct, but since Feedly only shows me new posts normally, I don't even realize how many are on there that I don't see anymore.

Some are defunct, but since Feedly only shows me new posts normally, I don’t even realize how many are on there that I don’t see anymore.

Taking the Gaming Questionnaire, that is. . . .

When did you start playing video games?

My 1st conscious memory of playing a video game was on the new Apple 2+ we got in class in the 1st grade.

What is the first game you remember playing?

Oregon Trail

PC or Console? 

PC

XBox, PlayStation, or Wii? 

I had a PS1 and it was fine until it broke.  I currently have a Wii, but it’s only ever used for my daughter to watch her cartoons on Netflix.  I’ve played on Xbox’s at friends’ homes, but never owned one.

What’s the best game you’ve ever played? 

I don’t know that this is really answerable since tastes change.  My gaming stable and habits change all the time.  If we want to go with sheer number of hours /played, I’d have to say EQ2, but I also haven’t played it in years other than a few attempts to log in, but then logging out an hour or so later in frustration due to not know how anything works anymore, so it’s obviously not the best *now* though it was during the 6 years I played it.

It’d be easy to say “Skyrim” but I’ve only got about 300 hours played on that, and while it’s still installed…. haven’t even thought of launching it in several months.  I’ve loved many games over the years, but eventually they all get stale and less-played.  so…. I think a better question would be “What’s the best game right now?” as opposed to “you’ve ever played.”

For me, the current “best game” is TESO, as its the one sucking up the vast majority of my gaming oxygen.  And in 6 months, who knows?

What’s the worst game you’ve ever played? 

I tend to get games based on word of mouth, so I don’t recall ever really playing one that I didn’t like at least a little.

Name a game that was popular/critically adored that you just didn’t like.

For this one I’d have to go with WoW.  I mean… I can’t say I dislike it, but it also never caught me either.

Name a game that was poorly received that you really like.

I don’t actually play all that many different games, and I also tend to not really look at review either, so … frankly I don’t know if any games that I like to play are considered to be “poorly received.”

What are your favorite game genres?

Turn-based strategy like Heroes of Might and Magic, 4X like Master of Orion 2, whatever genre Civilization 1-5 are called, Fantasy RPG, MMORPG’s span genres, and I’ve enjoyed SWG, EQ2, TSW, EVE, and TESO quite a lot, so… mix of fantasy and sci-fi in there.

Who is your favourite game protagonist?

Myself

Describe your perfect video game.

If TESO was the “multiplayer Skyrim” that everyone wanted it to be (though it couldn’t be, becuz how exactly would that work?), then that would pretty much tick off all the boxes.

What video game character do have you have a crush on?

Can’t say I’ve ever gotten that involved in a game’s story to care enough about any of the characters in order to develop a crush.

What game has the best music? 

The only soundtrack that was good enough that I actually *bought* it is the Guild Wars 1 soundtrack, even though I never really got into that game.  I really enjoyed the music, though.

Most memorable moment in a game:

In EQ2’s early days when you progressed from commoner to archetype to class to sub-class, I had a high elf character that I’d created with the intention of making it into a healer.  At level 3 when it was time to pick an archetype, though, I decided to go against type and went Fighter instead.  At level 10 I went with the Crusader class in order to still take advantage of the race’s high wisdom score (it actually mattered a little bit back then).  Then at about level 15 I thought “Wouldn’t it be fun to really go against type and become a Shadowknight instead of a Paladin?”  So I went through the (at the time) hellacious betrayal quest.  I got to level 19, and decided it’d be fun to surprise people, so I made the (again, at the time) very difficult and dangerous run back through Nektulos Forest and over on into the Antonica zone.  I joined a scarecrow grind group as the tank, and we ground and ground and ground until ding 20!  Initial group reaction was “Gratz!”

2nd reaction was:  “SK?  WTF?!?!?!”

Dunno why, but that’s stuck with me all these years as the funniest thing to ever happen to me in any game I’ve played.

Scariest moment in a game:

The Secret World in the parking garage.  If you’ve played it… you know exactly what I’m talking about.

Most heart-wrenching moment in a game:

Nothing comes to mind.

What are your favorite websites/blogs about games?

Since TESO is my “game of the moment” it’s pretty much Dulfy.net, TamrielSentinel.com, and TamrielFoundry.com.  I’m also on Anook since it’s trying to be the gamer’s Facebook, and I like that idea.  As to the blogs…… my Feedly “Games” section is running down the left of this post.

What’s the last game you finished? 

Skyrim

What future releases are you most excited about? 

EQN

Do you identify as a gamer?

Yes

Why do you play video games? 

They’ve always fascinated me.  Dunno why, just have always loved them.

Posted on August 21, 2014, in MMO and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

