[FFXIV] A Bard Walks Into a Bar

I'm a bard!

I’m a bard!

So after unlocking the Black Mage job, my intention was to keep following the overall story mission and wok it on up to 50, while also adding in a bit of Arcanist here and there until I eventually get that to 30 and go scholar and/or summoner, but figured that that would be a while since I’d be focusing on BLM.  What’s that you say?  Alt-itis in a game where 1 character can do everything?  No….. that couldn’t affect me….. could it?

I mostly did Grand Company leve quests, so I got a lot of seals and bought some GC gear.

I mostly did Grand Company leve quests, so I got a lot of seals and bought some GC gear.

Well, only sorta, but still after a fashion.  I was reading the forums and saw that level 34 Archer’s “Quelling Strikes” de-taunt skill is considered a “must have” for a BLM, and since the leve quests were helping me level up so quickly, I thought “Sure, I’ll level Archer up to 34 for it.  Won’t take that long, right?”  But then I decided that if I’m going to be 30+ in Archer then I’d need to unlock the Bard and I looked it up and it needs level 15 Pugilist as its secondary, so…..   I remember why I generally don’t care for melee dps now.  Overall I can’t really say that it was bad, but the whole “you will rotate through these 3 skills for your max damage output and they do more damage if you’re behind a mob but when you’re solo you can’t get behind them, so…. sucks to be you!” got old in a hurry.

Waiting for a FATE timer on my chocobo

Waiting for a FATE timer on my chocobo

Still and all, I got Pugilist to 15 and swapped back to Archer.  I actually ran so many leve quests that I’ve used my allotment up completely and it had been at its cap of 100 not so long ago…..  Anyway, something I didn’t expect to happen then happened on the way also — I have come to really enjoy the archer class.  The ability to move while casting is what makes it for me, I think.  And while it doesn’t feel like it does as much damage as the BLM does, I could still pull aggro off the tank in dungeons occasionally if I didn’t watch it, so it appears that it’s still got some decent output.

I thought this portrait turned out pretty well

I thought this portrait turned out pretty well

So anyway, made it to 30, did the Archer class quest and then the Bard unlock and…. 4 levels to go to get Quelling Strikes.  Since I’m out of available leve quests, I think I’ll swap back to BLM and follow the story for a while until I’ve gotten a few stored up and can blast through the levels as the Bard again.  After all… I’m not doing dungeons much, and when I’m solo I don’t need to worry about a de-taunt.  Of course, my alt-itis may kick in and I’ll start working on Arcanist or Conjurer again or something.  Who knows?

Posted on November 30, 2014, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

