[TSW] Issue 10 First Impressions

And I feel fine.......

And I feel fine…….

Mobs have larger AEGIS shields in the new area so they take slightly longer to burn off before getting into the “real” hitpoint pool, but otherwise generally seem no harder.

You get your own AEGIS shield, but it doesn’t behave like the mobs’ shields — they appear to do both regular and AEGIS damage simultaneously, and if you have the right shield up then the AEGIS portion goes to your shield instead of your HP pool, but the amount done as AEGIS damage is so small you don’t even notice or care if you have the correct shield up.

Lore is often kinda jump-puzzle-y.

Lore is often kinda jump-puzzle-y.

I don’t see any way to quickly shift the AEGIS shield type without opening the inventory and swapping.  I suppose I could put it in my pinned consumables bag and just right-click from there as needed.  I’ll have to give that a try.

The new CE Kimono outfit looks nice

The new CE Kimono outfit looks nice

Mob density is a lot higher.  It’s hard to move from one point to another without a lot of fighting, although I have found a few shortcuts over roofs or down in sewers here and there.  Mobs seem to see you through the floor you’re walking on though, so this isn’t foolproof.

Love the feel of the trainyards in front of the Orochi Tower.  Never have liked the fungal-type mobs though, so…. not my favorite place to actually go.

The Orochi Disruptor curio from the CE does a decent chunk of AEGIS damage to any mob, so it’s decent, but not a big deal either.

Barely anywhere along the main story as of yet.  So many side missions……. 😉

This is one creepy kid.

This is one creepy kid.

All in all, a nice challenge, while still being engaging.  looking forward to getting through the story and finding all the side missions!

Posted on December 8, 2014, in MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. > Mobs have larger AEGIS shields in the new area so they take slightly longer to burn off before getting into the “real” hitpoint pool, but otherwise generally seem no harder. You get your own AEGIS shield, but it doesn’t behave like the mobs’ shields — they appear to do both regular and AEGIS damage simultaneously, and if you have the right shield up then the AEGIS portion goes to your shield instead of your HP pool, but the amount done as AEGIS damage is so small you don’t even notice or care if you have the correct shield up. I don’t see any way to quickly shift the AEGIS shield type without opening the inventory and swapping. I suppose I could put it in my pinned consumables bag and just right-click from there as needed. I’ll have to give that a try. Love the feel of the trainyards in front of the Orochi Tower. Never have liked the fungal-type mobs though, so…. not my favorite place to actually go. The Orochi Disruptor curio from the CE does a decent chunk of AEGIS damage to any mob, so it’s decent, but not a big deal either. Barely anywhere along the main story as of yet. So many side missions. <

    I guess i am somewhere halfway through. And for the first time wonder about my characters attitude. In some way it makes sense, in another, hmm, how does he actually see himself? Apparently different than i thought…

    • What the hell… my way of marking quotes here somehow killed my own comments. Seems like they are seen as tags by the worldpress system. Alas, here again, in different format:

      “Mobs have larger AEGIS shields in the new area so they take slightly longer to burn off before getting into the “real” hitpoint pool, but otherwise generally seem no harder.”

      Which indeed makes them significally harder for me. My setup can work with big shields (necessary for bosses) but indeed works smoothest when shields are killed quickly, which it does with the old Kaidan mobs. The stronger shields are manageable, but each enemy at the moment feels like a small boss to me, so a rework of my setup might be necessary.

      “You get your own AEGIS shield, but it doesn’t behave like the mobs’ shields — they appear to do both regular and AEGIS damage simultaneously, and if you have the right shield up then the AEGIS portion goes to your shield instead of your HP pool, but the amount done as AEGIS damage is so small you don’t even notice or care if you have the correct shield up.”

      Don’t underestimate the shields. Their low capacity makes you think that they do very little, but all healing you receive also regenerates a part of your shields “for free”. Thus if your setup has some healing, be it active or passive, the shields do help. For me the shields made things noticeably easier again after first finding the new enemies to be hell.

      “I don’t see any way to quickly shift the AEGIS shield type without opening the inventory and swapping. I suppose I could put it in my pinned consumables bag and just right-click from there as needed. I’ll have to give that a try.”

      There is a way on the interface to switch them, but it’s so inconvenient that it’s not really worth using: click on the shield icon next to your health bar and you get a dropdown list of the three shields you have. Click on the one you want to use to equip it. So, two clicks and a dropdown list makes it really uncomfortable.

      The technical reason behind that was stated by Nusquam on the forums: they ran out of useable equipment slots in the engine, so they had to rely on this solution. Anyway, your idea of putting them in a pinned down bag is probably the best solution at the moment, as the modding scene is a lagging behind. (The author of AegisHUD is considering to put a function in to quickly switch them, but his priority at the moment is to build a replacement for the broken topbar overload. It provided functions for several addons, the last patch broke it and the author quite TSW quite a while ago and does not maintain it any more, thus the addon scene considers this one highest priority. )

      “Love the feel of the trainyards in front of the Orochi Tower. Never have liked the fungal-type mobs though, so…. not my favorite place to actually go.”

      Fungii in the Shadowy Forest are more annoying for me than the ones in Kaidan. But this might be connected to the fact that i never finetuned my setup for Shadowy Forest. I assembled something which does the job there better than my regular setup (as my regular setup suffers badly from the nightmare buffs of the mobs there), but it far from doing a good job.

      “The Orochi Disruptor curio from the CE does a decent chunk of AEGIS damage to any mob, so it’s decent, but not a big deal either.”

      Interesting. I have to admit, i put the thing on my pinned down “toolbar” inventory bag and never used it yet. Maybe i should.

      “Barely anywhere along the main story as of yet. So many side missions.”

      I guess i am somewhere halfway through. And for the first time wonder about my characters attitude. In some way it makes sense, in another, hmm, how does he actually see himself? Apparently different than i thought…

      • I’ve got my AEGIS tied to the hinder that my initial Razor Wire hit put out, so I take their shields down about 40-50% with my 1st shot. A round of 5 builders and then a finisher and the shield is either gone or barely left anymore, so for me the AEGIS on the mobs is still more or less irrelevant. The “swarm mobs” still have a smaller shield and it’s stripped just by the Razor wire shot.

        I haven’t played much yet, so I’ve not noticed that the shield does anything for me. I got jumped by some of the Onyo (sp?) mobs in the narrow streets on the way to the playground and got owned hard by them while using the correct shield. When I died, it was still at about 50%, so it seemed to me that the AEGIS damage the mobs do is really just too low to worry about.

        I’m actually planning on hitting up the forums today if I get a few minutes at work to see what strategies, if any, people are suggesting there, since so far for me I’m not seeing any real use for the shields.

        Thx for the info on the mods. Hopefully the eventual update for the HUD mod will not be too long in coming.

        I never really optimized for the fungal mobs in SF either, just kinda powered through them, so perhaps it’s my memory of that always being hard-fought that’s coloring my perception of the train yards area. The few fights I had there didn’t seem any worse than any other mob, now that you mention it. Honestly, i think that the “Buckler Drones” were the most annoying mob so far since I don’t have an impair on my build currently and can’t knock them out of Hunker Down. Guess for them I should go back to my sword build with Art of War like I did back in Egypt vs those zombies that did the Hunker Down thing too.

        The disruptor said that it damages any AEGIS on a mob for…250 I think? I don’t recall now, actually. It’s a good chunk, no question, but since AEGIS still isn’t really affecting me much even with their larger shields, I didn’t see any need to use it yet. Perhaps vs boss mobs at some point in the future.

      • Aye, the buckler drones are seriously annoying and i found that an interrupt there is useful. (And, take a look on the interrupts on the inner wheel. They usually have a lower cooldown than those on the outer wheel. )

        Though, you don’t need to interrupt the phase where they deploy the shield. (Is that the “hunker down”? ) Just move around them, so you attack them from the back. This forces them to turn around to face you and breaks the deployed shield. What i interrupt is the other thing, where they create the knockback sphere around themselves. Interrupting it helps, the alternative to this is to keep some distance and kill them with a ranged weapon, i guess.

      • Well, I’m running Rifle/Shotgun, so.. range isn’t an issue 😉

        I didn’t think about circling behind them. I just waited out the hunker down, then did my typical circle-strafe while ranged, so I didn’t even have to dodge. I had no idea that they had a KB sphere. Gotta love how different weapons do different playstyles, no?

  2. You’re correct that AEGIS shields don’t really do much. They help, but not by a huge amount. My guess is that they’re only ever going to be important to tanks doing AEGIS-enabled group content, sort of like how most people soloing don’t bother with more than one or two pieces of gear with HP.

    I enjoyed issue ten, ungodly mob density in the Orochi Projects aside. The docks are definitely one of the better areas in the game — incredibly detailed and with a great post-apocalyptic feel. I was dreading the return of the Fungal Filth too, but these ones actually work very differently from the ones in the Shadowy Forest and are not as annoying. Just make sure to GTFO out of the AoEs the tripods throw. Those hurt.

    As for the story, well, I won’t spoil anything, but I found it solid but not terribly memorable. Mostly just seemed to be confirming things we’d already long suspected.

    • I managed to get on for about 10 minutes this morning on my work laptop on a crappy hotel wifi. Graphics settings quite low, but not quite minimum either. Nonoe of my UI mods. Diddn’t realize how much I’d miss them…… Just dinked around outside Susanoo’s Diner and yeah, smaller aegis shields on the mobs and about 25% lower hp too, so they’re much easier.

      Tonight I plan to move back into the issue 10 areas. Hopefully I don’t die horribly due to this laptop I’m on…..

Leave a Reply

