[FFXIV] A Summoner and a Scholar Walk into a Bar

Christmas in Limsa Lominsa

Christmas in Limsa Lominsa

This past weekend I realized I’ve not played much in the way of games in a while and I missed them, so after a brief stint in TSW to see their Christmas event, I logged into FFXIV to see theirs as well.  I was back up to having 92 available leve-quests and since you get 6 per day (IIRC) that means it’s been a bit over 2 weeks since my last login.  Ouch!

Sailing into the sunset after completing the level 30 Arcanist quest.

Sailing into the sunset after completing the level 30 Arcanist quest.

Anyway, I decided to work on my Arcanist class with the goal of getting to 30 in order to be able to unlock Scholar and Summoner and…. I made it!  took me 84 leve-quests to do it, but that also bought me 2 promotions in the Immortal Flames Grand Company as well as some green level 30 gear from the Quartermaster to boot.  My next promotion in my Grand Company requires me to talk to the Flame Commander, but he says I need to be level 44 before he’ll talk to me, so one of these days I need to get over my alt-itis and start following the story again instead of grinding up lower-level classes.

The place to go to unlock Scholar is very pretty.

The place to go to unlock Scholar is very pretty.

I went with the Scholar job unlock 1st, since I was more inclined toward it.  It was surprisingly easy.  I had an NPC companion in it (as in most class quests) and just had to do 3 fights vs 3 mobs in each one, but with the NPC tanking 1, my pet tanking another, and then me focusing on the final one…. easy peasy.  I did have to roun out to places Id never been before, so it was kinda nice to uncover more of the map so I now hove more places to go explore and not necessarily just grind out leve quests to level.

This means I am smart!  S-M-R-T, smart!

This means I am smart! S-M-R-T, smart!

And Scholar unlocked.  Since it’s a healing job, it cross-classes with Conjurer.  I was a bit surprised that the Conjuror’s Cleric Stance was available as a cross-class skill, but since as a Scholar you only have healing pets (one puts out more heals, the other puts out more buffs) I guess it makes sense to be able to swap to dps stance for while solo.  Except since you’re still leveling as an Arcanist, it seems that you can level as a Summoner and it levels your Scholar up simultaneously.  I’m not 100% sure on that, but that’s how it looks so far.

The Scholar's new healing fairy that replaces the caster dps pet

The Scholar’s new healing fairy that replaces the caster dps pet

Anyway, from there I had to run over to Gridania and swap back to Arcanist in order to talk to the Summoner person (just unequipped the job crystal was all it took).  From there I had to run out to another place I’d never been before out in the desert.  And the quest for this one was surprisingly difficult.  you have to fight the mob that will become your new pet, but he calls adds that you need to kill off in a hurry, then he calls some flame spikes that you also need to kill in a hurry, else they will 1-shot you.  At 1st I thought that the mob was doing it, so I was looking at trying to dodge out of the un-telegraphed hit, but never quite was able to.  Finally I just went after the spikes hoping to kill them before they buffed him to 1-shot me… and he never turned away from my tank pet, but I saw the spike itself casting the 1-shot hit just as my last shot got off and killed it instead.  Whew!

Considering I've been summoning things since level 2, this unlock didn't feel as impressive.

Considering I’ve been summoning things since level 2, this job name didn’t feel as impressive.

And so Summoner is unlocked too.  The fire pet is a melee dps and it puts out quite a lot of it, it felt like.  I didn’t miss my tank pet at all with my fire iftri next to me, since the mobs were dying so fast.  Sadly, the Summoner doesn’t cross-class to Conjuror so I lost my Aero dot, but I found that I didn’t really miss it due to the increased pet dps.

Yes, I'm still tall....  And I actually kinda like the Christmas outfit for the ladies, though it is a rather ridiculous hat.

Yes, I’m still tall…. And I actually kinda like the Christmas outfit for the ladies, though it is a rather ridiculous hat.

I also checked out the Christmas event.  It’s really just a bunch of running around in the residential zones while wearing the Christmas outfits, but it was nice enough to do a time or 2.  The xp wasn’t that much per quest, but since there wasn’t really anything to them other than a little running around and there were actually quite a few of them, it still added up to a decent chunk.  I also got my 1st veteran reward in the mail.  It was some tokens to use at a specific vendor off in yet another area where I’d never been that I could redeem for a black bikini outfit.  Can’t say I ever plan to wear it or to make my armor look like it (I’m told that there’s a wardrobe system where you graft an appearance onto an existing item or something like that), but hey.. appearance options are always a good thing, right?

Anyway….. Happy Gaming, whatever you may play!

Posted on December 22, 2014, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good to see you’re having fun. The expansion news (new classes etc) does have me thinking I’ll be re-subbing when I actually have time for it to be worthwhile. Maybe in the late spring next year…

Leave a Reply

