[FFXIV] A White Mage Walks into a Bar

The last magic job

The last magic job

Goal achieved!  I’ve got all 4 magic jobs unlocked now.  Go me!  I ran Grand Company Leve-quests until I ran out, and that got me to level 25.  Then I realized I’d not done any of my hunting log, so I ran around and did that and that bumped me to 26.  then I queued for “Low Level” Duty Roulette.  As a healer, it usually popped instantly and 1 time was the Ifrit trial, but all the rest were dungeons.  The 1st dungeon gave me a 58,000 XP bonus plus all the XP from the dungeon itself and thus dinged me to 27.  I kept doing that until I made it to level 30, then back to Gridania to talk to the guild folks.

Another portrait that I thought turned out quite well

Another portrait that I thought turned out quite well

I was surprised by how easy it was to heal the low-level dungeons.  Due to the random nature, I did anything from the level 16 to the level 26 dungeon, and the only time I ever felt even slightly hard-pressed (ie was spamming heals) was during the single time that the tank did a trash overpull and got 6 mobs instead of the typical 3.  None of the boss fights were difficult to heal at all.  I’m sure this will change as the levels eventually get higher, but for now, leveling a healer via dungeons is ez-mode.  Wish I’d started earlier. . . .

The only shot I took with my unicorn, and it was more to show the pretty colors of the hot springs than the horsie

The only shot I took with my unicorn, and it was more to show the pretty colors of the hot springs than the horsie

Anyway… I found both the level 30 conjurer and the White Mage unlocking quests to be very easy due to my gear being “above normal” due to getting it to be pretty decent while working the Arcanist up.  The quest to unlock the unicorn was a lot easier than I expected it to be either.  Seriously, it was “sneak or fight down to it, change to Conjurer if you aren’t already, target it, cast cure, teleport back.”  I thought it’d be something a little more involved, but… whatever.  Nice looking horse and tbh, I prefer it to my chocobo.  Too bad that I usually have my chocobo out as a companion and you’re locked to using it while you do.  Such is life…..

Fighting a dragon in a dungeon

Fighting a dragon in a dungeon

Anyway, once that goal was achieved it was time to move on with life, so I swapped back to Black Mage and started running the story again.  This took me from level 31 BLM to level 37 over the course of the weekend, so I feel like it went quite well.  The story took a kinda surprising turn after I defeated the Titan primal trial, I thought, though I suppose that since we’ve been seeing the Imperials in various cutscenes that I should have realized that they were present-day, not flashbacks simply to give lore to the story.

Level 35 skill unlock for BLM

Level 35 skill unlock for BLM

So yeah… progress continues apace.  The world is very pretty, and while it was a slow start, FFXIV has now got its hooks in me pretty good, so I think I’m going to be sticking with it longer than I had originally thought.  We’ll see if or how that changes once I hit 50 and “the endgame gear grind” hits, but until then… I’m enjoying it quite a lot.

I took a bunch of screenies this weekend and I want to share a few of them, so… screenie dump to follow.  There might be a bit of story spoilers, so.. you’ve been warned!  And Happy Gaming!

Healing a dungeon as a Conjurer

Healing a dungeon as a Conjurer

I think this was the White Mage unlock quest, though it might have just been the level 30 Conjurer quest

I think this was the White Mage unlock quest, though it might have just been the level 30 Conjurer quest

I randomly ran across a guildie out in the world and she showed off this outfit for me, calling it "scary."

I randomly ran across a guildie out in the world and she showed off this outfit for me, calling it “scary.”

These women tasked me with scaring off some oglers.  After doing so, I decided to join them for a soak too, since the 1-month vet reward is a bikini so I had appropriate attire.

These women tasked me with scaring off some oglers. After doing so, I decided to join them for a soak too, since the 1-month vet reward is a bikini so I had appropriate attire.

The "trial leve" monsters I had to fight in order to unlock the leves in Coerthas Highlands

The “trial leve” monsters I had to fight in order to unlock the leves in Coerthas Highlands

I thought the name of this mob was funny

I thought the name of this mob was funny

A furry crocodile.  Interesting idea....

A furry crocodile. Interesting idea….

Pretty landscape

Pretty landscape

Costa del Sol is just so bright and cheerful

Costa del Sol is just so bright and cheerful

The Company of Heroes

The Company of Heroes

They called this NPC a "bronze-skinned beauty."   Ok... so where's the bronze?

They called this NPC a “bronze-skinned beauty.” Ok… so where’s the bronze?

The entrance to the Titan's trial.

The entrance to the Titan’s trial.

Fighting the Titan

Fighting the Titan

Titanfall!

Titanfall!

This NPC looked like a Barbie doll, I thought

This NPC looked like a Barbie doll, I thought

I see why they call it Camp Overlook...

I see why they call it Camp Overlook…

Another pretty landscape

Another pretty landscape

"You'd be better served by armor!" -- that line was a great statement about MMO armor tropes, I thought.

“You’d be better served by armor!” — that line was a great statement about MMO armor tropes, I thought.

Can't get away from Cid in any FF series game, can you?

Can’t get away from Cid in any FF series game, can you?

Posted on December 29, 2014, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

