[FFXIV] BLM advancement

It's actually kinda hard to get a shot of actually casting a spell in combat as opposed to all hunched over charging it up.

It’s actually kinda hard to get a shot of actually casting a spell in combat as opposed to all hunched over charging it up.

My wife and daughter we both out for the night already when I got home last night, so I hopped in to FFXIV again.  Got my BLM from 37 to 39.  Mostly been running around the Coerthas Highlands, but kept getting to the point where the story quest would want me to be a level higher, so then hadda run out and do FATE or leve-quests.  And found I’d not finished my rank 2 hunting log, so I finished it and the rank 3 and am most of the way through rank 4 now.  As a result, I’m about 2/3 of the way into 39 now and haven’t picked up the level 39 story quest yet. On my next play session perhaps.

See?  All hunched over, as usual.

See? All hunched over, as usual.

The playstyle of the BLM  changed a bit at 34 with getting Fire 3 and now has hugely changed at 38 with getting  Blizzard 3, since each of these spells act as the early “Tranpsose” skill for their element.  No longer is a fight “Fire 1 spam until out of mana, then Transpose to ice, Blizzard spam until full mana, then 1 or 2 more shots while waiting for Transpose to refresh, swap back to fire, weave in Thunder 2 as needed.”  It’s now “Fire 3, Fire 1 spam until out, Blizzard 3, Blizzard 1, Thunder 2, Fire 3, Fire 1 spam, etc.”  It’s a much nicer flow now and feels a lot more mage-y to me.

I remembered to take an actual portrait of the unicorn

I remembered to take an actual portrait of the unicorn

I still have Transpose on the bar, though, since I often level sync lower and thus still need it in those fights.  Such is life.  At 40 when I can stack up to 3 fire or ice buffs I expect I’ll see a significant dps bump too, so I’m looking forward to that.  Then at 44 when I get the passive trait that lets me occasionally proc Fire 3 for free, that will be nice also, but that’s probably still a ways off.  Plus I need to level Archer and Arcanist both to 34 to finish off my cross-class skill roster.  I don’t feel like I’m missing the skills right now, though, so I may hold off on those until after I hit 50 on the BLM.  Or I might get alt-itis and swap to something else again.  Who knows?

Ok, so earlier in the story I had to assemble the Book of Mormo, and now here were have a Mormo Missionary.  I'm thinking someone's playing on the Mormons here....

Ok, so earlier in the story I had to assemble the Book of Mormo, and now here were have a Mormo Missionary. I’m thinking someone’s playing on the Mormons here….

Posted on December 30, 2014, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

