[FFXIV] Level 41 BLM now

3 Flame thingies flying around me now!

3 Flame thingies flying around me now!

I got to play for a couple of hours last night and between finishing off my rank 4 hunting log and starting up the story quest line again and then watching about 9000 other quest starter indicators pop into the map I made level 40 in very short order.  Getting the 3rd level of Astral Fire/Primal Ice made a *huge* bump to my damage done.  At level 39 I was doing from 240-266 damage per cast of Fire 1 with 2 levels of Astral Fire on.  At level 40 with the new passive and 3 levels of Astral Fire I was doing from 380-404.  Yes… a 50% damage increase per cast simply from leveling up.  No gear changes or anything, just that 1 passive skill.

Level 40 BLM skill unlock

Level 40 BLM skill unlock

As part of the running around to other zones that quests sometimes make you do I ran across a new aspect of the game that I apparently could have unlocked at level 36 had I stumbled on the quest giver then.  Something about maps and treasure hunting, but other than the unlock being completed I’ve not tried to see what I can do there.  I finished out all the side quests that popped up in the Coerthas Central Highlands and made it to level 41, so now I’ve got the Stone Vigil dungeon unlocked and the story requires me to go through it to advance.  It was pretty late by then, so…. perhaps tonight or tomorrow during the day I’ll pop into the duty finder and try to advance the story some more.  I’ve also got a couple of other dungeons unlocked that the story didn’t force me into that I can hit up as well, so as long as I’m running dungeons, I may just have to try them out too.  Especially since one of them appears to have 3 different mobs that I need for my Immortal Flames hunt log…..

That is on BIG ogre!  He's a FATE mob, in case you couldn't tell.

That is on BIG ogre! He’s a FATE mob, in case you couldn’t tell.

Happy Gaming!

The blue glow means bad stuff is gonna happen when you go there, but go there you must!  Good thing I've got an AE mez.....

The blue glow means bad stuff is gonna happen when you go there, but go there you must! Good thing I’ve got an AE mez…..

Screenshot 2014-12-31 00.42.07

And after one clears out the bad, this is the aftermath.

Screenshot 2014-12-31 00.29.49

The quest giver(s) for the BLM level 40 quest. I think they’re pretty awesome looking beast-men.

Posted on December 31, 2014, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

