[FFXIV] Post-50 Shenanigans

Getting ready to take on the 1st of the big bad Imperials' lieutenants

Getting ready to take on the 1st of the big bad Imperials’ lieutenants

After hitting 50 as a Black Mage I still had quite a lot of story missions to do, but they required use of the Duty Finder, so I held off on them until this weekend.  There ended up being several trials and dungeons, and most were 8-man groups, not your typical 4, but since they award bonus Tomes of Soldiery (a token you use to buy level 100 blue-quality gear), they’re heavily farmed, so even as a dps it usually was only 5-8 minutes to get in a group for them.  Luckily for me and watching the story’s cutscenes both healers in the dungeon were new to it as well and since the party couldn’t commence without them, everyone was content to wait for the 3 of us to watch.  It made the run take over an hour, and when I ran it again later for the weekly 80-tome bonus it was a “pure farm” group and we were done in 22 minutes instead.  That’s a LOT of cutscene.

Entering the final dungeon of the initial story.

Entering the final dungeon of the initial story.

After finishing the main story line up to 50, it still continues, but a lot more sidequests open up too.  They don’t award xp since at 50 you don’t gain it anymore, but they’re really more for unlocking hard mode dungeons than anything.  Except the “Inspector” series.  Those are actually mostly story cutscenes and running around — very little fighting — but oh wow, they are so hilarious.  Once you finish a section they even do a closing credtis sequence like it’s a tv show, and then a small “on our next episode” teaser for where the story will be going in the next section.

Ultima Weapon!

Ultima Weapon!

I’ve also begun my relic weapon quest, but I’ve already stalled out early — I need to get a crafted scepter and have it infused with materia.  I have materia in my bags, and the scepter was on the market board, so that was easy enough.  But… to actually apply the materia needs a level 50 goldsmith.  I’m level 14, and the times I asked in my guild chat if anyone was a 50 GSM and could do it for me, I was ignored, so I’m assuming the lack of response meant “no.”  I’m not sure how I’d go about trying to find a crafter that’s not in my guild either, but I’m sure I’ll figure something out.

Escaping the final dungeon's destruction

Escaping the final dungeon’s destruction

As it is, even though I was initially thinking that the Tomes of Soldiery were coming in at a rate that I’d get my 1st piece of gear I could buy with them in another few days, I actually managed to get 2 pieces this weekend and am about 40% of the way toward being able to afford another, so hopefully next weekend I’ll be able to get another piece or 2.  We shall see….

The "resting pose" of an NPC that's part of the "Inspector" quest series.   A bit awkward looking, I thought.

The “resting pose” of an NPC that’s part of the “Inspector” quest series. A bit awkward looking, I thought.

In other news, I also leveled up my Bard job to 34 in order to get the Quelling Strikes skill.  So far as a newly-50 BLM grabbing aggro hasn’t been an issue, but eventually I can see it becoming so, since upgrading even a single piece of gear seems to give about a 5% damage increase, so as I improve my gear it’s going to be interesting.

And here’s a bit of a screenie dump.  I’ve whittled it down quite far from the sheer number that I took, but it’s still rather a lot, so… I hope you enjoy!

She pulls out the bombs

She pulls out the bombs

She grins evilly

She grins evilly

The Inspector appears non-plussed

The Inspector appears non-plussed

She throws them

She throws them

And he ends up buried head-down like this a lot, actually

And he ends up buried head-down like this a lot, actually

The reporter Ellie who follows you around during the Inspector series

The reporter Ellie who follows you around during the Inspector series

The Inspector is always posing and flexing.  Very silly.

The Inspector is always posing and flexing. Very silly.

Chasing the Inspector

Chasing the Inspector

And he's caught!

And he’s caught!

A less awkward shot of this NPC

A less awkward shot of this NPC

The reporter again

The reporter again

I thought this was funny when it says unlocked, but then tilts down a little (with an audible creak) and the question mark appears

I thought this was funny when it says unlocked, but then tilts down a little (with an audible creak) and the question mark appears

More creaky tilted text

More creaky tilted text

The Mandragora royalty.  I stole their peppers.  They weren't pleased....

The Mandragora royalty. I stole their peppers. They weren’t pleased….

The Mandragora royalty without UI

The Mandragora royalty without UI

An NPC in the current phase of the Inspector series that I'm in

An NPC in the current phase of the Inspector series that I’m in

Flythrough cutscene before the 8-man trial to take out Gilgamesh and his pet chicken Enkidu

Flythrough cutscene before the 8-man trial to take out Gilgamesh and his pet chicken Enkidu

The group about to take on the big bad's lieutenant

The group about to take on the big bad’s lieutenant

The big bad's lieutenant

The big bad’s lieutenant

Stargates in Eorzea?

Stargates in Eorzea?

Stargate seen from a distance.  Okay fine, they call it the magitek portal

Stargate seen from a distance. Okay fine, they call it the magitek portal

I liked the searchlights on the wall

I liked the searchlights on the wall

Fighting a boss in the 8-man dungeon

Fighting a boss in the 8-man dungeon

Now we're just getting really sci-fi. . . .

Now we’re just getting really sci-fi. . . .

The assault ship gets blowed up

The assault ship gets blowed up

Is it just me, or is out tank looking a lot like the Joker?

Is it just me, or is out tank looking a lot like the Joker?

Blasting through a door with magitek armor

Blasting through a door with magitek armor

Ultima Weapon!

Ultima Weapon!

Ultima weapon blowing up

Ultima weapon blowing up

Ultima weapon getting blowed up shows up outside

Ultima weapon getting blowed up shows up outside

Oh great, now we have to fight him again inside a ring of fire. . . .

Oh great, now we have to fight him again inside a ring of fire. . . .

But he died again

But he died again

And he's blowing up yet again

And he’s blowing up yet again

Got my magitek armor mount!

Got my magitek armor mount!

I thought this was a rather original boss -- the Demon Wall

I thought this was a rather original boss — the Demon Wall

Final boss in the Ampador Palace.  I hope I spelled that right

Final boss in this dungeon

Cute little outfit, I thought.  Apparently it's the White Mage class outfit.  It appears to be so from my examining the character, anyway.

Cute little outfit, I thought. Apparently it’s the White Mage class outfit. It appears to be so from my examining the character, anyway.  Could be a glamour.  Guess I’ll find out when I get my WHM to 50, right?

Posted on January 12, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

