[FFXIV] A Busy Weekend

The Greysky Armada's FC house

The Greysky Armada’s FC house

I got a surprising amount of stuff accomplished this past weekend.  Perhaps “accomplished” isn’t the right word, as it implies a goal more specific than my general “get more soldiery tokens to buy more level 100 blue gear from the vendor.”  But yeah, I got a lot done.  I leveled White Mage to 34 to give Stoneskin to my Scholar as a cross-class skill, then I leveled my Scholar to 34 in order to give the “Blood for Blood” skill to my Black Mage as its final cross-class skill as well.  It’s a new month, so I got the “flying” eyeball demon mount as a veteran reward too.

Healing a dungeon to level up for cross-class skills

Healing a dungeon to level up for cross-class skills

Can I just say that in the low level dungeons that Scholar is easy-mode?  The fairy heals on its own, even in “obey” mode and for the most part it keeps everyone going all by its lonesome, with me just needing to occasionally pop a Physick (or in the above-30 dungeons, an “Adlo” shield).  I’ve got my healing macros tweaked on both Scholar and White Mage to better work with how I like to play and heal.  For the Scholar I actually took the pet cast out of the macros, and just left them as targeting macros so that I can keep focused on the tank but still toss out damage spells without having to target the mob specifically.  For the White Mage, it’s the same thing — I put targeting info in my attack spells, though I didn’t touch the heal spells at all.  I even did that with the Black Mage’s buff spells too, but they’re set to hit the mob’s target (which will almost always be the tank) so I don’t have to lose focus on the mob to hit a party member.

Don't get eaten by this goobue's stomach mouth!  Or if you do, make sure your group knows to attack the mouth to let you back out....

Don’t get eaten by this goobue’s stomach mouth! Or if you do, make sure your group knows to attack the mouth to let you back out….

I ran the “Main Scenario” duty since it give 20 for the dungeon, 80 for using the duty finder, and potentially 100 bonus if a person is running it for the 1st time.  And yes, I got lucky and a noobie was in the group, so at the completion of the run I got 200 tokens.  Nice!  I’d been at 66 gear level and all my prior upgrades had been increasing the average by 4, so I thought this would take me to 70 and unlock the hard modes…. and it took me to 69.  Darn it!  Fortunately, I had enough gil saved to buy a level 70 robe off the Market Board, and that was enough to bump me up and over the requirement.

The raid environments are gorgeous!

The raid environments are gorgeous!

And then I started hitting up the high level dungeons and the hard mode dungeons too.  Except the had modes are actually completely different than the originals, so I don’t know why they’re called “Prior Dungeon Name (Hard Mode)” — they’re simply dungeons scaled for the gear level that they want.  Sure the environments might look the same, but they didn’t even re-use the maps, much less the bosses from the lower level dungeons, so…. take that for what you will.  Each of them gave a noobie bonus for completion, so before long I was sitting on pile of tokens again, and I eventually completed them all and unlocked the “High Level” Duty Roulette as well, which also gave a nice big bonus to soldiery tokens.

That is a BIG door

That is a BIG door

Once that was done, I finished up the Crystal Tower (raid zone) unlock quest.  That one sent me all over the place to complete 4 FATEs.  They were… soloable with difficulty.  Fortunately, on all but one (the lowest level one, so the easiest, thankfully) there were other people around, so they jumped in to help, so it didn’t take long.  And then I joined the duty finder for the Labyrinth of the Ancient (Crystal Tower 1st zone).  One get 100 tokens from that, plus 12-20 tokens per boss kill, and since I was 1st time, a noobie bonus too.  Yeah, I got a LOT of tokens this weekend.  Bought the necklace, then accidentally bought the healer ring (saved for later when I level up a healer to 50), then the caster ring, and finally the belt.  and still have over 400 tokens in the bank too, though I now need 495 for the next 3 gear pieces instead of 375.

Good thing these folks were there to open the door for me.....

Good thing these folks were there to open the door for me…..

The Syrcus Tower (2nd raid zone) is unlocked now, but I didn’t go in to that one yet.  I instead decided to work more on the hilarious Hildabrand quest series.  I made it through the story to where I now need to do another trial, so that’s also a duty finder thing.  I watched a video of that fight, so I’ll have some idea of what I’m doing when I eventually get into it.  And it appears that once I’ve finished that I’ll be caught up on the Hildabrand series.  Or not, since there’s supposed to be a new quest line for it in the 2.5 patch which is going in today.  Just means I’ll have more to do this weekend!

My new floating eyeball mount and my character sitting on it in a decidedly un-ladylike manner, especially when in a long dress. . . .

My new floating eyeball mount and my character sitting on it in a decidedly un-ladylike manner, especially when in a long dress.  Of course… how else do you sit on a flying eyeball?

So anyway…. lots of dungeons, a raid, lots of quest completions (for doing the hard modes) and a lot of gear upgrades.  A very productive weekend!  Happy gaming out there!

Healing a dungeon as a level 32 White Mage

Healing a dungeon as a level 32 White Mage

Gorgeous dress -- I assume it's a wedding dress that's been dyed

Gorgeous dress — I assume it’s a wedding dress that’s been dyed

Random shot in a dungeon

Random shot in a dungeon

Preparing to fight the siren at the end of a dungeon.  Our tank had disconnected, so I was doing the Manderville dance to pass the time

Preparing to fight the siren at the end of a dungeon. Our tank had disconnected, so I was doing the Manderville dance to pass the time

Another dungeon boss

Another dungeon boss

Our healer in this dungeon had obviousy glamoured her clothing

Our healer in this dungeon had obviousy glamoured her clothing

Final boss of the Brayflox hard mode dungeon

Final boss of the Brayflox hard mode dungeon

In Halatali (Hard)

In Halatali (Hard)

In Halatali (Hard)

In Halatali (Hard)

Loved the floor pattern for this boss fight

Loved the floor pattern for this boss fight

Cutscene when turning in the Toto-Rak (Hard) quest.  Kinda creepy

Cutscene when turning in the Toto-Rak (Hard) quest. Kinda creepy

In Stone Vigil (Hard)

In Stone Vigil (Hard)

In Stone Vigil (Hard)

In Stone Vigil (Hard)

In Hullbreaker Island

In Hullbreaker Island

Also in Hullbreaker

Also in Hullbreaker

In the Lost City of Ampador

In the Lost City of Ampador

In the Lost City of Ampador

In the Lost City of Ampador

In the Lost City of Ampador

In the Lost City of Ampador

In the Lost City of Ampador

In the Lost City of Ampador

In the Lost City of Ampador

In the Lost City of Ampador

In the Lost City of Ampador

In the Lost City of Ampador

In the Lost City of Ampador

In the Lost City of Ampador

Looking at Gridania's Adventurer's Guild / Airship port from out in the world

Looking at Gridania’s Adventurer’s Guild / Airship port from out in the world

Limsa Lominsa's residential district

Limsa Lominsa’s residential district

A selfie

A selfie

About to unlock the crystal tower

About to unlock the crystal tower

Breaking the 1st forcefield

Breaking the 1st forcefield

And the rubble afterward

And the rubble afterward

Breaking the 2nd forcefield

Breaking the 2nd forcefield

More rubble

More rubble

Breaking the 3rd forcefield

Breaking the 3rd forcefield

Still more rubble

Still more rubble

And finally, I get to break the 4th forcefield

And finally, I get to break the 4th forcefield

And the aftermath

And the aftermath

All 4 down -- Crystal Tower unlocked!

All 4 down — Crystal Tower unlocked!

Closeup of the Crystal Tower entrace

Closeup of the Crystal Tower entrace

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

In the Labyrinth of the Ancients

Victory in the Labyrinth of the Ancients!

The cutscene after completing the Labyrinth

The cutscene after completing the Labyrinth

I liked the moon in this shot.  Added something to it, I thought.

I liked the moon in this shot. Added something to it, I thought.

One of the NPC's that opens the Syrcus Tower door

One of the NPC’s that opens the Syrcus Tower door

Long shot of the open door

Long shot of the open door

The NPC's outside after opening the door

The NPC’s outside after opening the door

Close up of the entrance to Syrcus Tower

Close up of the entrance to Syrcus Tower

Love the shiny!

Love the shiny!

More shiny!

More shiny!

The top of the tower

The top of the tower

The ruler of a dead empire atop the tower

The ruler of a dead empire atop the tower

For all that FFXIV typically has pretty functional looking armor.... not so much here

For all that FFXIV typically has pretty functional looking armor…. not so much here

I'm gonna get to fight this guy for the next Hildabrand trial

I’m gonna get to fight this guy for the next Hildabrand trial

Another selfie to show off my level 70 robe's details

Another selfie to show off my level 70 robe’s details

Posted on January 19, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Lots of progress! Two quick questions spring to my mind. Firstly how important is macroing to the gaming experience in FFXIV? I’d come across it in Rift but didn’t realise it was in this game too. Secondly how much of a step change in difficulty (e.g. boss mechanics) was there between the last of the dungeons and the raids?

    • Macros in Rift are a preferences list, so they’re very useful in streamlining your hotbars. Generally your skills with long cooldowns do the most damage, so you put them at the top of the list, then your skills with no cooldowns go at the bottom so that they can fire as filler after everything “cool” has fired off.

      Macros in FFXIV are a series of commands that execute in order. If a command can’t be executed it does go to the next line, but since even the GCD is a failure condition, it’s hard to chain skills into a macro. Since only buff skills have a cooldown and are generally situational, there’s not really a point to putting multiple skills into a macro. Macro’s also do not allow skills to queue, unlike regular button presses that allow a 1/2 second queue. As a result, the only real reason to use a macro is to enable alternate targeting (oddly not a function of the ui — can only be macro’d). The only possible exception to this is the pet jobs — Summoner and Scholar. Adding pet skills into a macro can make sense, since the pet has independent cooldowns to you, so having their skills macro’d to yours allows you to have a bit more control of the pet. Except I was finding that having my healer pet set to cast a heal each time I cast an attack wan’t necessary due to how the AI works anyway, so… I took that out of my healer’s macros and really am just using macros for the ability to “cast on target’s target.”

      in the FFXIV group culture (on my server, anyway) tanks mark the target order and they don’t necessarily focus on the mobs in that order though, so as a damage-dealing class you don’t really want to target the tank and cast-through on his target, so there’s not much point to using a targeting macro as a dps class. Healers, on the other hand, generally want to be focused on the tank and in brief moments of “not much healing to be done” toss out a dot or one of their small attacks (or in the case of a White Mage, their massive AE attack that they get at level 44 (IIRC)). I found myself getting annoyed at having to target a mob, toss a damage spell (every little bit helps, right?) and then hit F2 to target my tank each time. So I instead made targeting macros for my damage spells. An example:

      /micon “Aero” <– selects the Macro Icon to use
      /ac "Aero"
      /ac "Aero"
      /ac "Aero"

      In a typical situation, I'd have the tank as my direct target and the boss as my focus target. My heals aren't macro'd so they can be queued up for spamming if needed. But let's say it's a low damage phase, so the tank's topped up and I want to help the damage a bit to reduce the fight time. I hit my Aero macro and if the tank has a mob targeted, it then casts Aero on that mob. If the tank is target swapping, though, then that line can't cast and it moves on to the 2nd and tries to cast Aero on my focus target. If I forgot to set a focus target or am focused on another party member, then it moves to the 3rd line and tries to cast on my direct target. Since that's the tank.... in this situation, it actually wouldn't do anything. And thus another downside of macros is revealed too 😉 But in 99.9% of the situation when I'd use this, it'd toss Aero on a mob, so that's not a big deal.

      There's also an targeting key for mouseover. In combat if you have any aggro generated from a mob (hello healer! you get aggro from everything!) you can also mouse-over the aggro list and if you have the thing it will mouseover cast. Generally is used for heal macros for when you want to heal someone not the tank without losing your target on him. Although the UI improvements of the current patch are putting the tank's marks into that list now, so the key may actually become useful for attacks now since you know which mob in the list is the one you want. But it's only been a day, so who knows how that will shake out?

      • Apparently the angle brackets surrounding the targeting information in my prior comments are interpreted by the commenting system as html code and went invisible, so….

        tt is “target of target”
        t is “target”
        f is “focus target”
        mo is “mouseover target”

Leave a Reply

