[FFXIV] Endgame stuff

Rather fugly, so I turned on my hat graphics in order to embrace the suck

Rather fugly, so I turned on my hat graphics in order to embrace the suck

Finished off my “Soldiery set” for the Black Mage and also got my relic weapon and put the 450 Soldiery tomes into it to make it an iLevel 90 piece.  I’m told that upgrading it beyond this point is “painful” at best, and that it’s far easir to get iLevel 100 or 110 gear in other ways, so I’ll be looking into that going forward.  I also got enough Poetics tokens to be able to get a 2nd ring, and Poetics gear is iLevel 120, so my average gear level is now an even 100.  I’ve run enough “Hard” dungeons and got some nice drops from them too, so I’m already well under way to having a set of iLevel 100 gear waiting for my White Mage and Scholar jobs when I get them to 50 as well.

The relic weapon is mine!

The relic weapon is mine!

I also leveled Lancer up from 6 to 15 “becuz I could” and even tanked a couple of guildhests with my Gladiator so I can see how tanking works.  Got a lot of player commendations from that, so I guess I did all right.  Honestly, it seems like popping Flash a couple of times is about all there is to it in the low levels.  1 hest does make you drag a big turtle away from some other mobs and to a location where it’s more easily hurt, but other than that… Shield Lob, Flash 2x, spam the Fast/Savage Blade combo and you’re golden.  I’m sure as I get up higher, knowing what and when to interrupt, and also popping defensive cooldowns will come into play more, but in the “training levels” it’s easy peasy.

***

Larry Correia and me

Larry Correia and me

In Real Life news, the “Salt Lake City Comic Con Fan Experience” was this past weekend.  I’m not really a picture taker, so I just took some “overlook” shots, and got a selfie with an author (Larry Correia) whose books I really enjoy.  Didn’t go to any panels, pretty much just wandered through and looked at everything but didn’t really engage this time.  It’s the 3rd Comic Con we’ve had in SLC in 9 months (last April, last September, and now January again) so I think I may actually have had a bit of Con-Fatigue.  Such is life, right?

***

#FanX2015

#FanX2015

Happy gaming out there!

Posted on February 2, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Congrats on relic and other progress! Sounds like you’ve been having fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

