[FFXIV] A Burst of Leveling

I got my chocobo changed to "Snow White" for its color now.

I’ve got my chocobo changed to “Snow White” for its color now.

My current goal in FFXIV (beyond “getting better gear for my BLM job” anyway) is to get the 3 magic classes all to level 50.  I’ve been working them up slowly, pretty much just running a few battle-leve quests as Summoner, since the tank pet makes that class ez-mode soloing, and then swapping to White Mage and getting the daily xp bonus for running a low-level roulette.  I’ve been doing it this way in order to be “slow” to give myself time to get more Soldiery tomes in order to be able to have a full set of the tome gear for healer so that I can simply “jump in” as a healer in high-level dungeons and trials and whatnot if needed.  I like to be a flexible player, after all.

Bought me a new i100 staff for my BLM.  Only took 1300 tomes and a raid-dropped item.....

Bought myself a new i100 staff for my BLM. Only took 1300 tomes and a raid-dropped item…..

So anyway…. I got WHM and ACN both to 42 on Saturday morning and was feeling pretty good about myself, and then I decided to simply go nuts with the Summoner and see what kind of trouble I could get into.  I’d been running the Grand Company battle-leves in Coerthas Highlands and kept seeing the zone-wide spam for “FATE Group!  Join in Party Finder!” so I did, since I wanted to see if it really was the fastest way to level and….. final result is that running 6 leves at a time in the low 40’s will consistently net you about 120K xp every 20-25 minutes (this increases to about 150K after level 45 and moving to Mor Dhona), while running the FATE grind was a bit bursty and could involve quite a bit of downtime while waiting for the next one to pop, and seemed to net about 100K per 30 minutes.  On the other hand, it didn’t feel as repetitive as running the same 6 quests over and over either, plus after a while all the healers in the group rotated out, so I swapped to Scholar and we could simply keep going and it worked out pretty well.

Neat looking FATE boss coerl

Neat looking FATE boss coerl

I ended up focusing on the Arcanist-based jobs and got to 50 on Sunday morning.  I ran the job quests to get the final skills and also my class outfits, but for the Summoner I could share the BLM gear, so I equipped that as well as an i70 Summoner Book bought off that Market board and jumped from gear level 46 to gear level 98 in one fell swoop.  For the Scholar I had a little bit of Tome gear pre-purchased, and I’ve also picked up a few i100 dungeon drops for a healer here and there too, so I equipped all that, as well as an i70 Scholar Book from the Market Board, so that class is sitting at a gear level of 75, which is still respectable.

A Tonberry Scholar

A Tonberry Scholar

Then my 5-yr old daughter decided she was bored of playing Minecraft on the laptop and wanted to play “my game” instead.  I teleported to Mist so she’d be in a safe zone and she had a lot of fun simply exploring and jumping around.  Eventually ended up making a new Mi’qote for her so she could “be a cat with red hair and red ears” and I’ve been working on leveling it up enough to access the housing zones, but for now she’s having fun running around Gridania on it.  She did manage to run outside and start auto-attacking a Treant Sapling and get her self killed since she’s got no idea about mob cons or how to push the buttons to do actual combat. . . . .  But anyway, I’m getting her hooked young 😉

The Gridanian Ampitheater all decked out for Valentine's Day

The Gridanian Ampitheater all decked out for Valentine’s Day

Several bloggers have joined or re-rolled to the Greysky Armada on Cactuar lately and are working up their 1st classes, so I tanked or healed a couple of Satasha and Tam-Tara Deepcroft runs to help progress them through their story missions.  I also got to play my BLM in some high-level dungeons on a few guild runs, and Satruday night we put together an 8-man group and did the Ultros/Typhon trial to get a couple of guildie through their Hildabrand story to boot.  1st time we were doing fine, but then our tank for Ultros *cough*Bel*cough* didn’t do a good position on him, so us dps folks couldn’t all get the bubble-buff we needed to stop Typhon from sneezing us all off the platform.  Once we knew it would be a fail we just all jumped off to end it and reset.  No point in waiting, ya know?  But then the 2nd run went flawlessly.  It was quite fun!  Definitely a good weekend in FFXIV.

Ding 50!  I almost missed the screenie. . .

Ding 50! I almost missed the screenie. . .

Got my Garuda-Egi back at 45

Got my Garuda-Egi back at 45

The full Summoner class set.  Other than the silly orange unicorn horn hat, I really like the look

The full Summoner class set. Other than the silly orange unicorn horn hat (not shown becuz it’s so ridiculous), I really like the look

The Scholar class set.  The glasses under a mortarboard really sells it.  Or not ;-)

The Scholar class set. The glasses under a mortarboard really sells it. Or not 😉  I’m not really fond of the leg piece, but the rest is pretty good.

My actual level 50 healer appearance

My actual level 50 healer appearance

Guildie was tanking the Tam-Tara Deepcroft for us and this was what his character looked like

Guildie was tanking the Tam-Tara Deepcroft for us and this was what her character looked like

Posted on February 16, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh! Oh! I didn’t know you were on Cactuar, too! What’s your character’s name there (trying to sort everyone out)? I just rolled as Aywren Sojourner this weekend. I’m in now, as well, but would love to friend list you (if haven’t already)! 🙂

    • I’m Gotter Dammerung

      I said hi when Bel got you added in and you said hi back 😉 I don’t recall for sure, but didn’t you join the TS channel for a bit? I’m Pkudude99 in there, just like here and on Anook.

      • No, I’ve never been in the TS channel – I’m very voice chat shy. I know a lot of folks from Twitter have been coming it, so it may have been one of the others.

        I don’t doubt you said hello, but I am still learning who is on Cactuar! Sorry! I now have a name to look for, though. Thank you! 😀

      • I’m not “shy” per se, but I’m not terribly fond of voice chat either. The only reason I was in there that day was due to having done a 4-man Lost City of Ampador in a guild group and the other 3 were in voice and invited me in too. Dungeons tend to be a little easier in voice, IMO, so I joined in, and then just stayed in for the day. Made it easier to run the Dragon’s Neck trial with the 8-man group later too.

Leave a Reply

