[FFXIV] I am an Archmage!

Level 50 class quest complete!

Level 50 class quest complete!

Between the daily low-level roulette bonus and the challenge log for using the roulette 3x and running 5 dungeons, I made it to level 47 on Saturday morning.  Ran another dungeon and then did some fate grinding in the Coerthas Higlands and made it to 48, then saw someone advertising a Dezmael’s Darkhold “1st room grind” asking for a White Mage.  Since I’ve heard that that is insanely fast xp, I shot the guy a tell and he invited me in.

Better looking boots, plus my nice new weapon

Better looking boots, plus my nice new weapon

You zone in to “DD” and buff up, then the tank takes off at a run and pulls every mob group that you run past and since dungeon mobs don’t leash, you eventually get something like 15 mobs on you.  Once you get to the last room before the 1st boss, the tank runs into a corner where there’s a “crystal veil” circle on the floor, which serves to reduce damage taken by 80% or so, so even though the tank’s not overgeared, he still can be easily kept up by a single healer.  Anyway, you get the 15 mobs into that corner and then AE them down.  At 3467 xp apiece, so about 55,000 xp per run.  Since you enter as a pre-formed group, there’s no penalty for leaving, so once you’ve got the xp, you all zone out, then the leader pops you right back in.

During the WHM class quest at 50

During the WHM class quest at 50

We had 2 White Mages and a Bard, so we could both pop regen on the tank and then go into Cleric Stance and simply spam Holy until the mobs died, with the Bard throwing in his AE’s as well.  The 1st few runs went ok as we learned what our capabilities were, and eventually we got to the point where it started feeling really fast.  So fast that the bard started timing us from zone-in to zone-out.  The 1st time he timed us the entire run including the pre-buffing and running time to gather the mobs was 2 minutes and 17 seconds.  The next run after that was 2 minutes flat.  And after that we averaged between 2:00 and 2:15 until we’d all hit 50.

Chilling in the FC house

Chilling in the FC house

Going from 49 to 50 for me took just a shade over a half-hour to gain the 528,000 xp needed.  It was insanely fast, and I was actually glad of it, as leve-quests and FATEs and a dungeon or 2 per day was starting to get a bit stale.  Especially since the dungeon always seemed to be Halatali. . . . .   It was Stone Vigil once, so that was kinda fun, but I can pretty much do Halatali in my sleep anymore.

The 2nd boss in the Keeper of the Lake dungeon in an FC group

The 2nd boss in the Keeper of the Lake dungeon in an FC group

Since that took so little time to actually level the WHM up, I was able to use my BLM to run the various duty roulettes for tokens and get some better looking boots, plus get my jewelry all up to iLevel 100.  And I bought an iLevel 110 WHM weapon off the Market Board, so that was a nice gear level bump.  I still need to upgrade my hat from iLevel 50, and my leg piece is i70, with belt i90, but everything else is i100 now, so I’m feeling like I should be able to be a decent healer in the high-end content now.  Haven’t done it yet, but I plan to start soon……  I always enjoyed healing in EQ2, but then kinda got away from it in the past few games I’ve played.  Looking forward to starting up again.

I'm considering glamouring my healer outfit to look like this, but I'm thinking it might be a bit too bare.  Especially since I like the ornate robes I currently have.

I’m considering glamouring my healer outfit to look like this, but I think it might be a bit too bare. Especially since I like the ornate robes I currently have.

Happy gaming out there!

Posted on February 22, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

