[FFXIV] Working the Bard up a bit

One kites a lot when solo as an archer.  Probably don't really need to, but I like to....

One kites a lot when solo as an archer. Probably don’t really need to, but I like to….

While working on the 2.55 story line in Coerthas, I’d occasionally run across a FATE group running around.  And I’d join in, but instead of doing as I had been in the past couple of week and using one of my tanking jobs, I used Bard instead so I could stand back and be a little more casual.  And it was fun enough that this past weekend I started working on it in earnest.  I started at level 34, which I’d gotten for the Quelling Strikes skill to use as a cross-class for my Black Mage, and began queueing for dungeons and running FATEs in Coerthas.  And before I knew it I’d blown past 40.  It slowed down a bit then, but about that time I started to get the challenge log completions for things like 10 fates, 5 dungeons, 3 dungeons with the duty finder, completing 5 different leves, 20 total leves, and so forth and boom… suddenly I was level 43.  Not bad for a weekend that also included a family dinner 25 miles away, 11 episodes of Daredevil on Netflix, 7 episodes of Resident Advisors on Hulu (and I’d never heard of Jamie Chung before, but … I hope to see more of her in future shows, and it looks like I need to watch Sin City 2.  Wowzers…. ), as well as time spent with my daughter doing puzzles and board games and such.  All told, I think I got those 7 levels in about 10 hours of play, is all.  Leveling really can be quite quick.

Back into raiding a little bit

Back into raiding a little bit

I also did a little bit as a Black Mage due to wanting the 140 tomes from doing a Main Scenario run, plus a guild group got 8 together to join a Labyrinth of Ancients run.  I also healed a few dungeons for guildies who had gotten to them in the story and didn’t want to pug, and even got to run 1 of them as a bard since a healer-main volunteered for that one.  Since these were newer players still working up their 1st classes/jobs, our tanks were… less than optimal, ( I tanked a boss in Haukke Manor on my bard — tank got aggro then lost it to me after about 3 seconds, then actually started to bounce it back and forth by the end of the fight, but it’d swap to her for 1 attack, then back to me for 3, then back to her for 1, then to me, etc, in spite of me stopping attacks for 10-15 seconds at a time) but the runs were still completely successful and we never had anyone die.  I’m glad that the lower level dungeons are so forgiving, ya know?

Happy gaming out there!

A nice smooth Brayflox run in a pug

A nice smooth Brayflox run in a pug

Self-portrait as a bard with my mishmash of found and GC armor

Self-portrait as a bard with my mishmash of found and GC armor

I don't remember why I took this one, but it is nice looking, so it's going up!

I don’t remember why I took this one, but it is nice looking, so it’s going up!  Probably that level 50 hunt bird…

Level 35 skill

Level 35 skill

Level 40 skill

Level 40 skill

Love the blizzard weather effect

Love the blizzard weather effect

LoA scenery

LoA scenery

LoA scenery

LoA scenery

LoA scenery

LoA scenery

 

Posted on April 13, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Braylfox looks gorgeous! I’m looking forward to checking out all the dungeons for the first time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

