[FFXIV] Tank jobs moving up and I’m a forgetful cuss

Level 40 Paladin!

Level 40 Paladin!

In this past weekend’s sessions of FFXIV, I got my tank jobs to 42 Paladin and 41 Warrior.  I exhausted the “easy to do” challenges (ie the ones for the things I’m doing anyway) rather quickly and since once you get past 40 they seem to give very large chunks of xp, the levels felt like they were coming fast and furious.  9 levels between the 2 jobs in a weekend seems pretty good, IMO.  I even was the tank for a FATE group in Coerthas for a while.  Against the mob swarm-style FATEs you don’t care, of course, but vs the boss-style ones, a tank is a good thing to have.  Especially vs Steropes the Cyclops in “The Eyes Have It” since he hits so very hard.  On the other hand, Gargamel in “Bellyful” his for so little that I could just toss a Stoneskin every 30 seconds or so and stay up at full health even without a healer.  Go figure, right?

Scylla's Robe and my "unweathered" Levaetin (no idea how that's actually spelled)

Scylla’s Robe and my “unweathered” Levaetin (no idea how that’s actually spelled)

Various FC members needed help with dungeons or wanted to do high-level or expert roulettes, so I joined several of those groups.  I tended to heal or tank the low-level groups, and used my Black Mage on the high level ones.  I even joined a run through Syrcus Tower and got several sands and oils that I could use to “unweather” some of my gear and get it to ilvl 110 from the base 100.  I also picked up the Scylla’s Gown of Casting.  TBH, I think the Tome chest piece has better stats plus it can be unweathered to become ilvl 110, but the stats are pretty comparable and I like how it looks better than the tome piece.  So unless I decide to use a glamour on it, I’m using the Scylla’s robe now, just ‘cuz!

iLvl 89!  Almost high enough to do "anything" on this job now.

iLvl 89! Almost high enough to do “anything” on this job now.

During an expert roulette I saw an ilvl 100 piece of bard gear drop.  I lost the greed roll to Belghast (who was tanking, of course!) but that jogged my memory that I’d picked up a lot of level 50 bard gear on high-level and expert runs back when I was focused solely on my Black Mage and was storing it on one of my retainers.  So off to the summoning bell I went and….. my Bard’s gear level jumped from 64 to 85 in 1 fell swoop!  And then I’d picked up enough soldiery tomes to but some items for the slots that I didn’t have a dropped item for and that took me up to ilvl 89 for the bard now.  Wish I’d remembered that before I hit 50 on it 😉  So this is where I am calling myself a forgetful cuss….

How often do you see a raid waiting on dps to show up?

How often do you see a raid waiting on dps to show up?

As it was, after upgrading the gear I did a Main Scenario roulette for the tomes.  We had a noobie in the group, so it was a 240 tome run.  But the MT disconnected pretty early on, and our noobie who’d never been there before was the 2nd tank.  We pushed on since you really don’t need 2 tanks for the main scenario runs, but since our noobie didn’t know where to go or what to pull when, etc, it was less than smooth.  Eventually a 2nd tank who was well geared popped in just before the final fight, so that last fight ended up being the typical farm mode.

She logs out in some interesting places.  Once she was on top of a bookshelf in a settlement in La Noscea

My daughter logs out in some interesting places. Once she was on top of a bookshelf in a settlement in La Noscea

I even played my daughter’s character for her a little bit since she’s started asking for me to make some money on it so she can teleport around again.  And she’s been seeing the various hues of the horse mounts from the Expert Primal trials and really wants “a blue horse” and “a pink horse.”  She also wants a dragon pet (the Midgardsormr minion) and “a robot” (the Magitek Armor mount) so….. looks like daddy’s got some work to do there too.  Heck, I don’t even have any of the Ex-Primal mounts myself.  Still haven’t jumped into doing those yet — been having too much fun feeding my alt-itis beast!

Happy gaming out there!

Finally got the big haul on the mini-cactpot!

Finally got the big haul on the mini-cactpot!

Tanking Steropes

Tanking Steropes

Level 40 Paladin gear

Level 40 Paladin gear

Level 42 Paladin gear

Level 42 Paladin gear

Level 40 Warrior!

Level 40 Warrior!

I completed the post-Moogle series this weekend too.

I completed the post-Moogle series this weekend too.

Syrcus Tower is so damn pretty!

Syrcus Tower is so damn pretty!

Midgardsormr!

Midgardsormr!

A closeup of Scylla's Robe

A closeup of Scylla’s Robe

A closeup of Bogantyr's Longcoat of Ranging

A closeup of Bogantyr’s Longcoat of Ranging

 

Posted on April 27, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I don’t know how you manage to level professions like that. I can barely make it through some of the quests without snoring. But more on that later in a blog post today, haha. Grats on 41 and 42!! 😀

    Also, props for being an awesome Dad and catering to your daughter’s requests for pony colors and money so she can flit around from place to place. 🙂

  2. Awesome post! And thanks for being an awesome dad.

Leave a Reply

