[FFXIV] Syrcus Tower — Repeatedly

I saw this a lot this weekend

I saw this a lot this weekend

It was a 3-day holiday weekend in the States and unlike in my last post, I was feeling some motivation to play.  Seems I kicked out of “expansion mode” as Massively OP called it.  I found myself running and re-running the Syrcus Tower raid, as each run gives 100-150 Tomes of Soldiery, plus a chance to drop i100 gear to boot.  Add in that it drops the Sands/Oils of Time that enable you to upgrade your i100 tome gear to i110 and that it tended to pop the Duty Finder queue in 2-5 minutes even as a dps, and it seemed the most efficient way to gain tomes.

Lost my Scylla's appearance, but got better stats

Lost my Scylla’s appearance, but got better stats

So now my BLM is in a full set of i110 armor, with an i110 weapon, and jewelry mixed between i110 and i120 and the only real way to improve her gear even more would be to start focusing on the Poetics tomes instead of Soldiery and to start running the World of Darkness raid in order to get the item needed to convert the i120 gear to i130.  But since it’s less than a month to the expansion and I’m still working on other jobs to 50 also…. I’m happy where the BLM is now.

Running the Chrysalis trial with Greysky Armada

Running the Chrysalis trial with Greysky Armada

On Saturday evening I also ran a couple of trials with the FC (as a healer, even) to get people advancing through the story line a bit.  We did the Chrysalis and then the Hildebrand 2nd trial where you fight “Greg” and Enkidu.  I got lucky on the roll an won the green chicken minion after the Big Bridge trial, so I was quite happy with that outcome!  Of course now my daughter wants one too, along with all the various colored horses that come from the expert trials, so…. more to do with her character it seems.  Someday I might even do it.  Or she’ll be old enough to do it on her own.  One or the other…..

My own pet Enkidu

My own pet Enkidu

What I did with all the Tomes of Soldiery that I got this weekend from chain-running Syrcus Tower then was to pre-buy some gear for the 2 tanks jobs that I’m still working on.  Since they share gear, it’s kinda nice to only have to buy a single set of gear for both of them.  I’ve got them both up to level 45 now, so they’re both wearing 4 of their relic armor pieces for now.  I’ve got the i110 weapon and shield for the Paladin bought, as well as the chest armor piece, so the most expensive things are out of the way now.  For the Warrior’s axe, I’ve got an i90 drop that will be sufficient, methinks, so I’m not worried about spending the 1300 tomes for that just yet.  I’ll fill out the rest of the armor and jewelry 1st.  I think I’m preferring the Paladin a bit, so that’s why it gets the slightly higher amount of focus for now.  We’ll see if that continues into the new level range or after the Dark Knight class is out.

Happy Gaming out there!

My daughter wanted a swimsuit so I ran her to Mor Dhona to get it, and then she had to sit in a pool, so...here's the result

My daughter wanted a swimsuit so I ran her to Mor Dhona to get it, and then she had to sit in a pool, so…here’s the result

Bel caught in the black hole of crafting

Bel caught in the black hole of crafting

Scylla's hat looks really silly

Scylla’s hat looks really silly

My daughter figured out how to get out on this boat in Costa Del Sol and wow is it gorgeous!

My daughter figured out how to get out on this boat in Costa Del Sol and wow is it gorgeous!

Level 45 Paladin

Level 45 Paladin

Level 45 Warrior

Level 45 Warrior

 

Posted on May 26, 2015, in Final Fantasy XIV, MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

