[NBI] The 7 Sins

Okay, since everyone’s doing it, I guess I’ll jump on the bandwagon . . . .

Lust – Do you enjoy games more if they have scantily clad and “interestingly proportioned” avatars? Do you like playing as one of these avatars? Why or why not?

My 1st MMO was SWG.  My 1st character was a male Zabrak Pistoleer/Doctor.  After the “free month” I focused on combat more than anything and wasn’t really feeling the game and didn’t care to pay for a sub so I was all set to quit the game when a bunch of co-workers all decided to play and make a “friends and family” Player Association.  Classes were planned out and I decided that while I didn’t really care for the combat portion of the game, I did enjoy being a doctor, so I figured that I’d go doc/dancer to be a “pure healer.”  I knew that one needed to level up in cantinas as an entertainer, though , and I figured that more males play than females and thus would be more likely to watch a female dancer for their heals and so in the interest of (hopefully) being able to level up faster, I deleted my pistol/doc and created a female human character instead.  I didn’t know about the group mechanic that meant if anyone in your group got watched then you got xp.  Such is life, no?

IRL got “interesting” a few months later and I ended up deleting my character and quitting the game.  But then the PA sucked me back in.  By this point enough people had joined that were entertainers that I didn’t feel the need to have a female toon again, so I made a Mon Cal male and made him an Armorsmith, since the PA had need of one of those.  But I couldn’t be a master AS and Master Merchant and still have enough skill points left over to be a competent harvester of animal products (sure I could go to Yavin 4 and survive… barely, but… meh), so I bought a 2nd copy of the game in order to make an alt intending to make it a Master Ranger (maximum animal harvesting) and for the combat class a Teras Kasi Master, since they could burn through animal lairs on any world in a hurry.  I’d noticed by this point that the game’s class spread had the general dichotomy of “combat classes are male, entertainers are female.”  To go against type on that, I decided to make a “pretty female” but then have her be this bad-ass TKM instead of an entertainer.  That was really it — going against other players’ expectations that a female toon wouldn’t be in a combat role.  The armor hid any secondary sex characteristics, so you couldn’t really tell a gender while kitted out for combat anyway.

When I moved on from SWG to EQ2 my 1st characters were male also, until I decided to make a “pretty female” against type again.  Females tended to be mages or healers, so I made a fighter.  To further compound it, I made it a high elf and betrayed to Freeport and became a Shadowknight.  Both my SWG female and my EQ2 SK were main toons and so I got very used to playing the female avatar, and in every game since then I’ve had more female than males toons.  Usually about a 2:1 split, maybe 60:40 at times, but now I do it just more from inertia than anything.  That said, I do prefer the shape of the female form more, so the cliche of “I’d rather look at a female butt than a male butt when I’m playing games” does factor in a bit.  But even now in FFXIV, I picked the female (for the pretty) ogre (for the massive size) with the intention to play against type as a mage.  Who does ogre mages?  Me, that’s who!

Gluttony – Do you have a game backlog of unfinished games but still buy new games regardless? Why or why not?

Nope.  If I buy a game, I will play it to completion/level-cap at least once.  Or in the case of Eve… play it for 3 years before becoming bored of playing in null-sec and then dropping out.

Greed – Do you enjoy hand outs in a game? Have you ever opted to NOT do an action / in game activity because the rewards were lacking? Why or why not?

I define a “hand out” as another player giving me something for the sake of giving me something.  I generally don’t enjoy that — I like to earn what I get.  On the other hand, if I feel like an activity is a lot of work for little reward, I will forego it.  Currently that’s the relic weapon upgrades in FFXIV.  I’d have to do a TON of grinding to upgrade my weapon from i90 to i110.  And I already have an i110 weapon, so, that’d be a ton or work to get to where I already am.  Not happening…….

Sloth – Do you ever leech or AFK in a party? Do you discourage others from attempting things that you feel are difficult? Have you ever seen someone that needed help, but decided not to help them? Why or why not?

I never AFK unless I’m solo and in a safe area where wandering mobs won’t kill me.  If I’m in a group, I’m at the keyboard, and I’m astounded when others aren’t, becuz of course everyone’s just like me, aren’t they? 😉  My favorite character in EQ2 was my coercer — becuz it could sometimes pull off these crazy things. But often couldn’t.  So I had a completely awful “kill vs death” ratio on that one becuz I was always pushing the envelope of what I could do on it.  I’m always happy to be in a group that’s pushing itself on harder content, and whenever I see someone who looks like they’re losing a fight, I’ll stop and help them if I can.  Some games lock you out of being able to do so, after all.  Or sometimes it’s just too late.  But I’ll still try.

Wrath – Ever get angry at other players and yell (or TYPE IN CAPS) at them? Have you ever been so angry to stalk a person around in game and / or in the forums? Why or why not?

No.  It’s just a game and nothing to get bent out of shape over.  This doesn’t mean I won’t sometimes get annoyed if someone screws up repeatedly in the same manner in spite of being told how to be better.  But no, I’ve never initiated a vote-kick, and I don’t recall ever rage-quitting a group after repeated wipes or anything either.  It’s a game, I do it for fun.  Overcoming challenges is part of the fun.

Envy – Ever felt jealous of players who seem to be able to complete content you can’t? Do you ever suspect they are hacking or otherwise cheating? Why or why not?

Not really.  I’ve been a solo player, and I’ve been a 2x a week raider clearing the (at the time) hardest content that EQ2 had on offer.  I’ve had full raid kit at times so theoretically other people should envy me 😉  Overall, I’d say I’m happiest doing regular group content though.  I don’t worry about whether my gear is “best in slot” nor have I ever looked up loot tables so that I know which bosses I need to farm for that 1 piece of gear that I simply “must” have.  As far as I’m concerned if the mobs die and my group doesn’t, then we had the gear/skill needed.  No need to be envious of that.

Pride – Are you one of those people that demands grouping with other “elite” players? Do you kick players out of your team who you feel are under-performing? Why or why not?

Hell no.  In TSW I only group via the “noobmares” channel where stats are not wanted, just the people.  I have on occasion run parsers in games to gauge my own performance, but I don’t “post the score” after each fight or anything in those few games where I bother to parse things out.  I do expect people to mostly know what they’re doing, but if there’s a screw-up or something… hey it happens, and I’m the one who screws up at times too, so… no biggie.  That said, I will admit to a bit of schadenfreude when I do run into some elitist who posts the parse into group chat after each fight and then after I’m doing “better” than they are they stop since they were just posting it to brag, but they can’t since I was actually better…… 😉

But no, if I’m looking for a group I’ll never ask for certain stats or a minimum gearscore or anything like that, and I never offer to join any group where someone posts a minimum requirement in their lfg message either.  Sure I like to play “efficiently” but I don’t feel the need to min/max every last bit and make everyone around me do it either.

Posted on May 27, 2015, in MMO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

